The Shearing of the Pup

I think I have mentioned that Katie, the dog, gets her haircut when we can no longer stand looking at her. She has been at that stage for over a month now. The Ab-Cat and I  agreed that this was the skankiest she has been in a  l-o-n-g time. And she stunk. So, all in all, she was a pitiful pup.

I wish I would have thought to have taken a before shot . I had already started on her back and neck when an idea  came to me. This was my great idea; start in areas that don’t freak her out.

I believe I also may have mentioned that it is a chore to clip her. That would be the understatement of the year. When those clippers get near her head and paws she turns in to a 100 pound beast. And then she fights me tooth ( really, she only has about 1 tooth) and nail, until she wears herself out, and then I can finish the job. I have started on the paws, note the under-my-arm choke hold below.

I had decided to do it outside on the patio. And it was warmer out there than I thought. But that actually worked in my favor. Cause all the heat and panting and choking wore her out quicker. It still took forever. I think I even got sunburned.

This is my favorite. She is getting a little wild looking at this point.

Her tongue was huge!

And the final insult to her horrid day?  She got her nails cut. She was worn out by this time. It was the easiest time I have ever done it.

I was totally covered in stinky dog fur and her spit.

After the shearing, Ab took her in for a bath and a blow dry. She was bushed for the rest of the day.

NOW she can sit next to us on the couch. We have all decided that we like her SO much better shorn.

Special thanks to The Ab-Cat for her most excellent pictures!

1 Comment

  1. Vickie said,

    July 25, 2008 at 6:30 PM

    Seriously: your animal stories are the funniest stories ever !!! You get me laughing so hard!!! I will show these pictures to Andy -(he will crack up too) it may give him some good pointers! I don’t usually go over to other peoples houses ‘looking for their pets’, but I do when I come to your house! I LOVE your familY!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

