Way Back When-sday-First Days of School

Since our kids won’t allow photographs on the first day of school anymore, I have to go pawing through my pictures while singing “Memories” to myself.

Here are the precious little pumpkins, all dressed in their finery, and thrilled  to have some place to go! Remember that? Kindergarten, when children could not wait  to get to school!

First up we have Darling Ab-Cat in 1994. I coerced the Dr. to induce my labor with Mousey so I could be home 2 days later to take Abby to her first day of kindergarten. I was not missing that once in a life time experience  because of some 10 day overdue child ! Sheesh,  people who have cesareans PICK the day they want to give birth! But they expected me to wait for the entire 14 days before they forced  that wee mouse out? There is no justice in the world.

IMG_0002 (9)

Who is not AT ALL impressed with their cute self? Ah, that one, she was a poser.

IMG_0001 (10)

The Boy was not quite sure what was going on. But he wanted to be in the picture. He was not happy when he discovered his best friend in the world was gone every single morning. Her backpack was The Little Mermaid, as were a great many of her belongings at that time. It would have been even cuter had it been turned around.

IMG (13)

Here she is in first grade, 1995. We never made that turned the wrong way backpack mistake again. Hello Pocahontas!

IMG_0003 (6)

1995, now it’s HIS turn! While he did not like his best friend being gone all day, he sure was excited to go do whatever it was she was doing! I am quite positive he had Batman and Robin on his backpack.

IMG_0004 (7)

1998, There’s our Baby Girl! She was SO ready! She had been hauled all over that school by now, she could not WAIT to get over there and do some learning! She had herself a Pikachu backpack, and Girlfriend already knew her way around the building! She had the same teacher that the other two had. She hung that pack up on the peg and said “see ya”.

IMG_0005 (6)

It’s only fitting to have another one of The Boy with his other sister. Cause that’s what he is, the sweet middle of a sister sandwich.

Thanks for going Way Back with me, I know I enjoyed myself!

6 Comments

  1. deb said,

    September 9, 2009 at 7:13 AM

    I love Ab’s dress! Classic. Sweet middle of a sister sandwich…lol! I enjoyed going way back with you!

  2. September 9, 2009 at 8:07 AM

    Aw, so very sweet!

  3. thedomesticfringe said,

    September 9, 2009 at 8:28 AM

    Adorable pictures! It’s fun to walk down memory lane sometimes.

    -FringeGirl

  4. warren said,

    September 9, 2009 at 8:43 AM

    My first-day-of-school pics always displayed my new metal lunchbox in them. I had Empire Strikes Back, Batman, Superman, MASH…great times!

  5. Steph said,

    September 9, 2009 at 10:33 PM

    They’re so adorable! My mom was the same way every year :)

  6. caprilis said,

    September 10, 2009 at 5:30 AM

    Those are some precious memories :-).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

