I Showed Her The World

Before Mrs. Schmenkman arrived in The Mitten, I asked her if she would like me to introduce her to the Value World. Because she is one to relish the thrill of  the hunt and capture of a bargain. She said she would like to make its acquaintance. I introduced them. They are now in serious like.

We went to one that I had never been to before. Another friend had told me it was “really messy”, worse than the one I usually frequent. The one I usually frequent can be quite messy, and therefore I never cared to meet its messier cousin. I am here to tell you that it is no messier than the frequently attended one. They are both frequently a little bit messy.  We also went to the one I frequent the most.I am liking the word frequent. If you look at it too long, it looks strange. Like it should be spelled freak-went. That looks stranger. Free-kwent. WHATever.

I found some books. The Ab-Cat is looking forward to introducing Goomba to The Toy Story movies. They were huge over here at The NutHatch and still much quoted major motion pictures. There’s a snake in my boot! Ride like the wind, Bulls Eye! I found my moving buddy! And I packed your angry eyes! I want to ride the pony! Oh, this could go on all day.

All that to say, I thought Goomba might like to look at this DK book that probably cost around $20 new, but I snagged for $1.91. Again, I have to ask. Why the one cent?

Someone was getting rid of all these Erma Bombeck treasures! Love her! I will enjoy reading her perspective on many topics! A little under $4.

My haul of hoodies, sweaters and a vest. Many nice brands, Oleg Cassini, Joneswear, Evan Piccone, Style and Co., Talbots, B.C. Clothing, Sonoma and North End.

This one is a bit of a cheater. Thunderbirds Wheelchair Sports. We have no affiliation to the team, but the coach did come up to me in Meijers one time to try and get me to talk The Ab-Cat into playing wheelchair basketball for him.  He said she handled  her wheelchair really well. He said he can teach kids how to play basketball, but handling the chair is a whole other story. She declined. So we were never really part of the team. You think anyone will call me out on it? It was such a nice vest and it fits me SO well. Maybe I can buy a big pin from Capri Deb and cover it up!

More darlings. I wore the green one to BSF last week. It has adorable buttons. I love them all.

Schmenky did alright too. Capri Deb made out like a BANDIT! She bought a TON of wool blazers and sweaters to felt and make Delicious Pins. $25 dollars for two big bags, that she will then make into pretties and sell for an enormous profit!!!

We also shopped at T.J. Maxx, Homegoods, and Hobby Lobby that day and ate at Applebees. I had an Oriental Chicken Salad, which is what I always have. And because I was so hungry I could have eaten a bear without salt, I enjoyed a whole one, instead of my usual half order. Just call me Hog Jaws.

All in all, a very productive day! And there is MORE! But you’ll have to wait. Until Thursday. Because tomorrow is Way Back When-sday.

6 Comments

  1. wfp94 said,

    January 26, 2010 at 9:27 AM

    Spreading the madness!

    Sounds like you had fun and supported the economy! Well done!

  2. Robin said,

    January 26, 2010 at 9:59 AM

    I’m in Value World envy!

  3. thedomesticfringe said,

    January 26, 2010 at 12:33 PM

    Great clothes! I think the Erma Bomback books are cool too. I’d like to read some of her writing…maybe I should check my library. Thanks for the idea! ;-)

    -FringeGirl

  4. Hat Chick said,

    January 26, 2010 at 12:48 PM

    I don’t know what Value World is but I love thrift shopping. “It’s like a box of chocolates….you never know what you’re going to get.”

  5. deb said,

    January 27, 2010 at 7:17 AM

    I read somewhere that Value World buys things from Purple Heart, fyi. It was alot of fun, and want to go back soon!

  6. marlene said,

    January 27, 2010 at 9:12 PM

    Never heard of Value World till you mentioned it. Where have I been?! When can I go?!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

