More Kisses On the Cheek

God loves US a bushel and a peck.

I have a few more kisses to tell you about.

1. Did I mention that my Mom’s only brother and his wife happened  to be in Florida for a few months? They were able to come up from Naples and visit with her. They were there on her good days. My Uncle Bob even made her laugh, because that is what he lives to do. She adored him.

They also took us out for dinner at Smokey Bones, where my Aunt Phyllis insisted  that we order their famous doughnuts for dessert. They were S.C.R.U.M.T.R.U.L.E.S.C.E.N.T.  That is a very long word.

2. Have I ever mentioned that I have wonderful friends? Because I need to mention that I have wonderful friends. Just in case I have never mentioned it once, or 7 million times. Talking to you and texting became lifelines.

3. All of your lovely, comforting, gracious comments on this here blob. Really, you have no idea how much they all meant  when Schmenky would read them to me each day. We just cried together. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

4. Did I mention that The Capri’s came up for the funeral to give me Capri-cious support? Patt flew in from Florida, and Lisa drove up from Virginia and Deb is always with me. I was shocked. And then crying ensued. Repeat #2.

5. Before Beeve and I even left for Florida, I asked Honey to pray that we would not have to make “the hard decision”. I didn’t want to do that. I wanted God to make it. If she could not sustain her life, then I wanted Him to take her Home. I didn’t want to have to be a part of the decision to take her off life support. But, as God has shown before in our lives, He had another plan.

Our Dad was not ready to let her go on Feb. 2. Or the whole next week. He prayed for her to be restored. He wanted the Dr.’s to be able to put the defibrillator in. He wanted them to fix her. When it appeared  that she was rallying, we were so hopeful. She really was like a cat with 9 lives, no matter what her health scares were, she always rebounded. Always a little weaker, but she had such a strong will to survive.

After the first week, when things looked hopeful, we started the second week, that began to look less and less promising. Signing the DNR was heartbreaking for him, but it was a turning point. As she slipped further and further away from this life and we saw her body failing quickly, it became apparent that there was going to have to be a hard decision made.

But you know what? God in his infinite mercy and compassion had used the 2 weeks to help us get our minds around it. He had already been preparing our hearts. We were ready to let her go. We were able to give her back to Him. It was the right  thing to do. It was not agonizing. It was a blessing. For her, and for us. There are no regrets that we didn’t do the right thing. Isn’t God good? He took the very thing I was resisting and turned it into a blessing.

We are doing well. Not just surviving, we are well. Lonesome, but it is well with our souls.

10 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    February 26, 2010 at 8:26 AM

    YOU are a blessing, a treasure, and a wonderful… W.O.N.D.E.R.F.U.L. example of what faith really is. I wuv you Mrs. Schmenkman!

  2. Cindy hoskins Wildasin said,

    February 26, 2010 at 9:53 AM

    You are a true testament of grace and courage in a heartbreaking situation! I hope I will remember your example when I am faced with such sadness. Thank you for sharing your personal journey and giving God the credit for all He has done for you and your family.

  3. Laurie --sister said,

    February 26, 2010 at 12:34 PM

    Kelly, sometimes you make me cry. The sad things you’ve recently been through make me more aware that a time like that will eventually come into my life. But, mostly your faith and the beauty of your writing bring the tears. You are a gifted writer — thank you so much for sharing your sad times, your glad times, seriousness and silliness. I’m happy that my “baby seester” has such a wonderful friend.

  4. Nan C said,

    February 26, 2010 at 6:44 PM

    To be absent in the body is to be present with the Lord, but still missed here on earth.

  5. Nan C said,

    February 26, 2010 at 8:05 PM

    Kelly, admittedly, I hadn’t been reading you blog until meeting the Capris (or one or more) at your mom’s funeral. But, I gotta tell you that I was seriously ROTFL, until I was crying, when I read your Way-Back Whens-Day about your 2nd grade picture. Ash had thought I’d gone berserk, so much so that it irritated him. Hey, can’t anyone else laugh?

  6. Marlene said,

    February 26, 2010 at 10:34 PM

    Thanks for sharing your blessings. It just reaffirms the plans the Almighty God has for our lives. Still praying for you.

  7. caprip said,

    February 27, 2010 at 7:27 AM

    I love you and all the Nut Hatch’s…..you enrich my life….thank you!

  8. thedomesticfringe said,

    February 27, 2010 at 10:27 PM

    I am crying. Thanks for living your faith before us.
    -FringeGirl

  9. deb said,

    February 28, 2010 at 4:22 PM

    Typing through the tears, you are a blessing with your faith and love and strength and humor. Yes, God’s way is always so right, so amazing.

  10. automatic7 said,

    March 2, 2010 at 12:08 PM

    awesome. God is good. All the time.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

