A Visit To The Army

Hi Guys!

Every time I turn around it’s Friday. This summer is moving right along.

It finally cooled down up here in The Mitten, deliciously so in the mornings. Walking with Keelyody has been far less melty. We have only been walking in the subdivisions though. When it is so hot, the bugs swarm on our usual dirt path. And the bugs do love Keelyody. We have tried sticking fabric softener sheets in our sleeves in an effort to ward off the attacks, but they always find her. I tell her it’s because she is so sweet. I have no such problems with the bugs. Hmmmm.

Even though the temperatures have been better, I am still my own smoldering furnace. I need to be in the vicinity of some form of fan at all times or I am liable to flame out. I sometimes bake even under the fan.

Unfortunately, I heard an ugly rumor that it is supposed to heat up again this weekend, and I am inclined to believe it is true. We had 6 yards of mulch delivered yesterday, so we will most likely have to do a lot of work in bad conditions. It is our way.

Since The Boy has been dog sitting again and The Ab-Cat is working all day, I sometimes make Mousey come with me to run errands. Why should I have to do all of these boring, mindless things by myself when I have a perfectly companionable person just lounging in their room, fooling around with their ipod?

I don’t usually have to twist her tail too hard. She has always been a companionable sort of girl.

Sometimes I take her somewhere she actually wants to go, just to sweeten the pot.

The other day I made her come grocery shopping, but before we went there we headed over to The Salvation Army. She called it some funny little name that I cannot remember. The Sal Vo? I am going to have to ask her. Why is Vo not highlighted spellcheck? I know from my extensive Words With Friends playing that Vo is not a word. The V and the C, unlike The Cheese, do not stand alone as a two letter word.

Back to The Sal Va, and spellcheck agrees va is not a word. I did not have any needs but felt compelled to hunt and gather cute bargains. I was mainly looking for a cute pajama top to go with an evidently difficult color of blue thrifted sleep pants. The pajama top remains elusive.

I did find these 3 tops, which is kind of a shame. I usually try and look for bottoms at the Sal Arm, because they have handy dandy dressing rooms for your trying on pleasure. So even though I did try these things on, I sort of wasted the whole bottom opportunity.

I have to say these were not great bargains, but will be useful additions to the wardrobe. What up with the high prices Salv Arm?

011

Tie die $4.99 Tryst. At first look, I could not decide if this was cute or hideous. You can’t tell in this picture, but it has a v neck, and if it had not fit me so well I might have passed. It did not cling in all the right places, if you know what I mean. I loved the browns and rusts and olive greens, but I was hesitant about the yellow. I don’t wear yellow, but there were enough of the other colors that I do wear, so I felt that it could be acceptable. It’s a risk I am willing to try, and risky is not the first word that comes to mind when one thinks of me.

Coral-y pink $4.99 Designers Originals sweater. This sweater has buttons, which my excellent photography skills appear to have disguised. It fits very nicely and I can see myself getting a lot of use out of this. I seem to wear these types of sweaters as a staple in cooler weather. Perhaps they will be my coat this winter.

Purple$5.99 Express Design Studio. I have discovered late in life that I can only wear certain kinds of purple. Bright kinds, not lavenders or muted kinds. This sweater was all the kinds I can wear, and I thought I looked right nice in it.

Mousey purchased a variety of things that could have been found in any middle aged woman’s closet in the 90’s. High waisted mom jeans are her obsession at the moment.  She also likes ugly rayon dresses that she somehow makes attractive on herself. Throw in some tops that could have come from my Mother’s closet, and you have her wardrobe additions.

Have a very nice weekend. I will just be here, sweating.

3 Comments

  1. warrenp94 said,

    July 13, 2012 at 8:42 AM

    “It did not cling in all the right places, if you know what I mean” – I am not sure I know what you mean but I bet it has to do with the v-neck, right? Anyhow, those things are still cheap compared to buying new, although I guess bargain is sub-one dollar maybe? Anyhow, out local goodwill has had junk lately…maybe they are shipping all of the good stuff to the Mitten?

  2. caprilis said,

    July 14, 2012 at 8:21 AM

    I’m with you on the tye-dye… love the colors, but just not sure if we’re getting kind of old for that hippie look? But not clinging… that’s a good thing!

  3. keelyody said,

    July 15, 2012 at 3:39 AM

    LOL-Keelyody really appreciaties you being willing to change our walking route to accommodate her bug “issues”. I think it’s more likely because I haven’t showered yet in the morning before we walk………..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

