Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys!

Thanks Joyce, for giving us all something to blog about today!

1. In your opinion what’s the most important job in the world? Oh, and parenting is a given so besides parenting, what’s the most important job in the world?
This is just too big, too broad. I am just going to say that the most important job is the one that God has called you to do. Of course that looks different for everyone. I saw this on Pinterest a few months ago, it seems to illustrate my point.

Succeeding at something that the world says is important could really be an epic fail in the scope of God’s plan.

2. Share a favorite or not so favorite memory from a childhood birthday.

I am sorry to say nothing comes to mind!
3. Peanut butter-crunchy or smooth?

Crunchy! Smooth is too…..smooth.

4. William Butler Yeats is credited as saying, “Happiness is neither virtue nor pleasure nor this thing nor that but simply growth, We are happy when we are growing.” Your thoughts?

I don’t know that I agree with that. You can do a lot of growing during particularly difficult times in your life, but I wouldn’t call that happiness. I have also been growing out of some of my clothing and I KNOW that’s not happiness! Mr Yeats, I beg to disagree.
5. What’s something that makes you cringe?

It always makes me cringe when I observe children being sassy and disrespectful to their parents, or heaven forbid, hitting or kicking them. What is especially cringe worthy is when the parent allows it. At what age is that ever acceptable behavior? And then they unleash their little darlings on the world! Yikes.

6. Name a song that always puts you in a good mood?

Ah, I love this song.

7. The answer is yes. What’s the question?

Is God faithful?

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Speaking of birthdays!  September is my birthday month and this was my 6th birthday party. I have no recollections of this day, but these 2 pictures crack me up. This was our end of the street! My entire childhood was spent with most of these people.

Front row: Six year old Capri Kel on the left, my Mother’s fine photography skills showcased for all time.

Next to me was my kindergarten crush Ricky Rebb, who did not live on our street, but all the way down Richfield and left on Jamison. We were in Mrs. Hart’s kindergarten class and I loved him intensely the whole year. I don’t know what became of him after that, I must have moved on.

Next to Forgotten Ricky was Bobby, who lived 2 doors down. Funny story about Bobby, he was a good neighbor buddy who became a cousin when my Mother married his uncle when we were around 10!

Next to Bob was Tommy, who lived across the street. Tommy always reminded me of the wavy haired brother from The Family Circus comic.

Next to Tom was Paul Thor, whom we always called Paul Thor. I seem to recall he was kind of a stinker. I am sure whatever shenanigans he got himself into were very mild by the standards of today! He lived all the way down in the middle of the block, next door to my good friend Dawn Slater, who was not my good friend yet. I was trying to remember why Paul Thor would have been in attendance and it dawned on me that his dad worked with my father on the police force. I am pretty sure that Dawn told me several years ago that Paul died and I am sorry to say I cannot recall how or why. How sad. He must have only been in his late 30s or early 40s.

IMG_0001 (12)

Second row starts with a girl that I don’t remember, obviously not a neighbor kid. Next to her was my very best girlfriend, our next door neighbor Tina. How convenient was that?  There are not many childhood memories that don’t include her. We played house endlessly in her basement or mine, played paper dolls, horses, summer long games of Monopoly left set up in her garage, cards, rode bikes all over tarnation and then back, had sleepovers and helped each other pick out clothes to wear for the next school day. 

Next to Tina was a very nice boy, Billy. He was Tommy’s older brother and he was in my grade. I remember that he was very sweet and in middle school he always wore a shirt with peaches on it that Tina and I affectionately teased were butts on a vine. Why do I remember that? Can someone please tell me why?

In the last row was Cory, who once tied me and Tina up to his swing set and threw mud at us. He got himself into a heap of trouble for that! Despite his …poor judgment, we continued to play with him regularly until he moved out and Troy moved in.

Last but not least was Kim, one of Tina’s older sisters. She suffered from middle child syndrome and had an almost diabolical sense of humor and fun. Because she was a couple of years older than us, we thought she knew everything. One of my fondest memories of her was her idea of decorating an old water heater box. She decided we should make it look like an out house, complete with the graffiti of the seventies, peace love, VOTE! She introduced me to Simon and Garfunkel, Three Dog Night, The Beatle’s Abby Road, and Fleetwood Mac, among many others!

IMG (28)

I loved my saddle shoes.

We played outside endlessly, hide and seek, red light-green light, what time is it Mr. Fox?, Simon says, and a couple of games we must have made up called Easter egg and statues. I don’t know what any of these kids are doing now but they are prominently featured in the museum of my childhood memories. Thanks for coming to my party!

8 Comments

  1. veronica said,

    September 5, 2012 at 6:11 AM

    Happy Birthday Month :) I love that song and couldn’t agree more with you on #5!

  2. Hootin' Anni said,

    September 5, 2012 at 6:12 AM

    Your #5 answer is right on!!!! But, in my case, I’d probably not just cringe, I’d be locked up for intruding on their ‘rights’ by saying something to the kids.

  3. Laurie said,

    September 5, 2012 at 6:23 AM

    Whenever the birthday is, I hope it is a really wonderful one. And that the next year will be full of blessings.

  4. Joyce said,

    September 5, 2012 at 6:54 AM

    September is my birthday month too : ) I love those old pictures…there is something so sweetly innocent about them. Love the boys all dressed up for your birthday.

  5. April said,

    September 5, 2012 at 8:36 AM

    You Are God Alone is definitely one of my all-time favorites! Happy Birthday…whenever it is this month! Love your birthday photos…great memories, I’m sure!

  6. Susan said,

    September 5, 2012 at 12:40 PM

    Thanks for sharing the birthday photos and memories. I love how you and your friends were all dressed up for the party. Reminds me of all the fun we used to have in the ‘neighborhood’ when I was a child. I wonder if children still play like that today? Have a great Wednesday!

  7. September 9, 2012 at 1:34 AM

    I remember one time.. my mother made me have a double birthday with this random kid from their church (who’s birthday was the day after mine.) I didn’t have any more birthday parties after that.

    Birthdays should be a slightly self-centered activity… I think.

  8. September 9, 2012 at 1:35 AM

    By the way… you were a cute kid.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

