Friday Catch Up

Ahhh, Friday. I welcome you.

This next week will involve some hectic too though. Because BSF is on Thursday, as is Thanksgiving, we shuffle our week. Instead of leaders meeting on Wednesday and class on Thursday, we scootch things up to Monday and Tuesday, so that means we have to get our lessons done two days earlier. That is a BIG deal for me. I don’t usually start my lesson until Monday. I have some work to do!

Why is spellcheck telling me that scootch is not a word? Raise your hand if you think scootch is a word! I know it is TOTALLY a word.

This is where I will be unloading some bits of the week that clutter my mind and have not made it into a post in some other way. In un-chronological order because that would be too hard to put it into some semblance of order. I thank you for your patience in advance. I realize it takes a lot of skill on your part to follow along without getting whiplash.

Capri Deb and I went to The Hobby Lobby yesterday after BSF so she could get some ideas for a project she is making for her grandson this Christmas. It is going to be adorable, and without going into too much detail because I am sure this is top secret squirrel stuff, it involves a scrapbooking set of skills. I have not looked into this craft medium in some time and the reason is twofold; I already have mountains of supplies and I seldom actually do it anymore. As I was walking the aisles with her, I was getting inspired by all the new things out there! Maybe I will jump back on the scrapping bandwagon for a while. But it will have to be with the supplies that I already have. That should keep me going very comfortably for several years. Not kidding even a little bit.

The road that Mousey and I take to The Value World has been closed FOREVER. At least since spring.  Or last year. Something. They have been doing work on all of the freeway bridges in the WHOLE state of Michigan it seems. Anyway, it has severely thrown off my groove, for a long time. Just this one overpass closing caused us all to have to go one mile over and then one mile back. TOTALLY OUT OF OUR WAY. It affected getting to Sam’s Club, our favorite fruit and landscaping place AND The Value World.  And lots of other times too that I can’t think of. Honey told me the day after we returned from vacation that the road was back open!!! That night, Mousey and I hit up The V World. It was glorious. She found a fleece house coat, with CATS on it. I was consumed with my jealousy.

It was good to get back to BSF, I surely missed all the women! We had a fellowship on Wednesday. It was fraught with chaos concerning bum coffee makers, but the sharing was so sweet I mainly forgot about it. I love those Gals! Anything can come up, and it mostly does. Our topics ranged far and wide and I do mean far!

Just a few of the gems:

We need to give God the glory in all of our circumstances, good and bad. Don’t waste our suffering.

We don’t like to be naked in front of God and others.

Some leaders just love their homiletics, and others think homiletics are the bane of their existence!

The same day, I shared a personal answer to a question that I felt like God was asking me to share. I don’t like to share personal things in a big group like that, because I am not a fan of public vomiting or having a public heart attack. I felt like I should, there was a perfect segue way into it, so I did it. But my question is this, how can I be sure that it was Holy Spirit led? Wouldn’t the Holy Spirit have taken away the urge to vomit and have a heart attack? I thought I might have to leave the room. Does it always need to be so…so…horrifying? These are the things I am pondering today.

Honey and The Girls and I had a fun dinner last night! We went to a local Italian eatery, because Honey had a hankering. We decided to all order something different and split it four ways. Ab-Cat had a pizza calzone, I had a chicken parmesan panini, Honey had chicken Antonio and Mousey had chicken con pollo. It was nice to have a sample of several things. Honey, Ab and I agreed that we all liked Honey’s best and Mousey liked her own. Then we had gelato, just like The Barone’s. It was VERY yummy and we are going to do it all again another time!

I am really looking forward to Thanksgiving! All of the good food and family without all of the hustle and bustle of Christmas!

Mrs. Schmenkman and her son, Pudge. Go see how he has been busy as a beaver preparing for the winter. Ma and Pa Ingalls would be proud.

Pudgie 11-9-12 024

Tell me one thing you did this week, preferably something that doesn’t involve being naked or throwing up!

8 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    November 16, 2012 at 12:47 PM

    Wonder if scootch is a word in Words With Friends???
    This week I got a new, very old squirrel.

    • Capri K said,

      November 16, 2012 at 2:05 PM

      Where did you get it and how do you know it is a senior citizen? Is he living in your house?

  2. November 16, 2012 at 2:56 PM

    Here’s my one thing: my sweetheart and I finished our 10K running program just today! We are currently running for an hour straight! We have two more practice runs scheduled before the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morn. We’re slow but still run over 5 miles each time — that’s a HUGE accomplishment for us and something we NEVER thought we could do in a million years! It’s really just one foot in front of the other — the hard part is getting out the door on those dark, frosty mornings! On a good run I have a mini-worship time while I watch the beautiful stars fade and the glorious sunrise! I’m blathering now … ;)

  3. 3goodkids said,

    November 16, 2012 at 6:03 PM

    Rachel I am very impressed with both of you. I can walk but running isn’t something I’ve ever been able to do. Good for you. Paul has run the turkey trot many years. Have fun.! (sorry Kel for stealing your comment space.)

  4. deb said,

    November 16, 2012 at 8:29 PM

    I took my mother to the emergency room to get 9 stitches in her lip from a fall. But I also really got started on my secret scrapbook project by Jeff and I going through old photos, and that was fun!

  5. Cindy Stratton said,

    November 16, 2012 at 10:58 PM

    Well since I’m recovering from a heart attack I sat on the couch all week watching one disgusting talk show after another – becoming more bored with each day that passed. But I know I need this recovery time so I’m couch bound for now.

  6. November 17, 2012 at 7:16 AM

    You have such a way with words and communicate in small groups; I can’t imagine the heart attack and throwing up in larger groups; but then, we all have our fears.
    I too mus get back to scrapbooking (yes, this isn’t a word on spell check either). I raise my hand for scooch being a word.
    This week I made a photo card for my dad. I make one every week with one old photo from the past and he just loves them. Every time I call him (or someone else for that matter) he reads all the cards that are sent to him. But he is so sweet about it.
    And, I got the point about not wasting my suffering :)

  7. Nan C said,

    November 30, 2012 at 8:54 AM

    I just read this NWA blob. Just adding my 2 cents in about “vomiting words” – if the Holy Spirit wants you to do something, you’ve got to. Just like a parent, He doesn’t care if we’re uncomfortable, He wants us to obey. He knows what’s best for us.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

