Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, Happy belated Thanksgiving! As always, thank you to our Hodgepodge leader Joyce, for gathering us together!

Four hodgepodges til Christmas in case you were wondering.
1.  With that being said I think I need to dive right in to some Christmas related questions, don’t you? Which do you prefer-pretty gift wrap with a bow or a pretty gift bag with/without a bow?  What percentage of your holiday gifts are currently (as in right this very minute) wrapped in some form or fashion?

I am an equal opportunity presenter. A variety of gift wrap and bags can be found under our tree. Percentage of currently wrapped holiday gifts wrapped? 0 percent. I don’t even have the tree up yet.
2.  What is one item on your Christmas list this year?

Well, I got some chai for my birthday, so I don’t need that. I need some new oven mitts, I can only find one of ours and the other one is a pathetic old one that looks like a shark. I am looking into getting new every day silverware. We don’t have enough place settings and I am weary of mixing and matching our old stuff, with some of my Grandma’s old stuff and some extra forks I bought for some event. I do realize this is a first world problem. All the things I want are big, a king sized bed, new computer, new furniture for the great room, carpeting throughout the whole house, so Santa, how about it??!! That was way more than one, sorry.
3.  What makes a home?

My People make my home. And some cats. None of the stuff.
4.  Motown founder

Berry Gordy celebrates his birthday on Hodgepodge Day-November 28th. Are you a fan of the Motown sound?  If so, who’s your favorite Motown artist and/or song? Here’s a list in case you’re stuck.

Only one? That is TOO hard! Of course I like Motown, considering I live in south eastern Michigan, where Motown was born. I can’t pick just one though. Let’s start with:

Smokey Robinson and The Miracles (you gotta love Smokey, you can’t have a breakup without him!) Tears of a Clown, The Love I Saw in You Was Just A Mirage, The Tracks of My Tears, Going To A Go-Go

Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrrell-You’re All I Need To Get By, Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

The Supremes-You Keep Me Hanging On, Come See About Me, Where Did Our Love Go?

Diana Ross and The Temptations- Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

The Jackson 5-I Want You Back, The Love You Save, ABC

That’s enough for now.
5.  Red or green-which one is more prevalent in your closet?

Green. I don’t think I have any true red anything. Maybe a Christmas sweater that I don’t wear anymore. I am quite fond of the brick red though.
6.  True or false-bacon makes it better? If you answered true, what’s your favorite dish made with bacon?

Oh yes! I like a certain broccoli salad we always have for the holidays, it has bacon in it. BLT’s are super yummy.
7.  Share a favorite holiday memory.

They are all good and I am out of time!

IMG_0004 (4)
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday portion of the post.

My Grandma Georgia passed away twenty years ago yesterday, and I still miss her. This picture said December 1970 on the side.

IMG (33)

My brother and I spent a lot of time with our Mom’s parents, both at their house and ours. They stepped in when our parents divorced and our lives were the better for it.  I want to be the kind of Grandma she was. She wasn’t a couple times a year Grandma, she knew us.

She was fun loving, a hard worker and a prayer warrior. I miss everything about her. Her cooking, her smell, her laughter, her wisdom….just everything.

Have a good week and thanks for stopping by.

11 Comments

  1. Judy Loeffler said,

    November 28, 2012 at 6:43 AM

    What a great memory of your grandmother. I too ahd a wonderful grandmother.

  2. jodaley said,

    November 28, 2012 at 7:15 AM

    Your grandma sounds special. I had a grandma who was also a prayer warrior. I miss her too.

  3. penguinsauce said,

    November 28, 2012 at 7:28 AM

    Your grandmother looks like she was a sweet lady. Glad to hear she was a wonderful,caring one!

  4. Tammy Doane said,

    November 28, 2012 at 8:01 AM

    Great memory of your grandmother.l I miss my grandmother so much; she was also a special lady.,

  5. Susan said,

    November 28, 2012 at 8:40 AM

    Great memories of your grandmother. She looks like a special lady.

  6. Nan C said,

    November 28, 2012 at 8:49 AM

    Love the pic of your grandma- it says 1970s all over it, not just on the back. And by the way, I can’t believe that you mentioned BEING a grandma! The Boy and Dane, you’d better take note. ;)
    I always marveled at the fact that the Boy looked like Honey when he was young but now looks more like Mom Kel.

  7. rebeccaonthehomefront said,

    November 28, 2012 at 9:00 AM

    Your grandmother was a beautiful lady. This time of year always brings those memories to me, I’m glad your memories of your grandmother are such good ones to treasure. :)

  8. April said,

    November 28, 2012 at 9:18 AM

    Your grandmother sounds like a remarkable woman…thinking of you as you remember her. Every time I hear “I Want You Back”, I’m up movin’ and groovin’ all over the room!

  9. J.Day said,

    November 28, 2012 at 2:35 PM

    We all have our “first world problems”. lol I need a new electric blanket. One side (the side I typically sleep on, of course) died about a month ago just as it got cold at night. I have to sleep on the wrong side of the bed and fight the cat for it! lol

  10. jammygal said,

    November 28, 2012 at 2:40 PM

    Yep, a computer is on my list too. This one has one leg in the grave. Cute picture :)

  11. Julia said,

    November 29, 2012 at 12:50 PM

    What a beautiful picture and tribute to your grandma. She looks like she was a lot of fun and pretty special!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

