Way Back Wednesday Hodgepodge

Merry Christmas Hodgepodgers! Thanks for stopping by for the last Hodgepodge of 2012! I have enjoyed being a part of it and say a special thank you to our friend Joyce for coming up with the questions and all that goes along with it week after week, after week……!

Here are this week’s questions-
1. How will you spend ‘the night before Christmas‘?
Well, it is up in the air at the moment. We usually get together with our dear friends The Hostler’s on Christmas Eve. We intended to carry on our old tradition, but their daughter, Nurse Lauren, has to work. I texted Rae Babe to see if another night would work so that we could all be together. If we do make it another night, then I have no idea what we will do on Christmas Eve. I am sure we will come up with something!

Other than that, we always read the Christmas story, have a Happy Birthday Jesus cake (or doughnut, or one sad year, the birthday muffin that our cat Mocha got into while we were praying!!!), share 2 or 3 things we are thankful for and 2 or 3 things we hope for, and then open presents.

2.  What is one thing you are not?

 No one has ever accused me of being adventurous. Or detail oriented. Or sweet.
3.  Fudge-are you a fan?  Your favorite flavor?

TOTALLY a fan. Peanut butter fudge is our Precious over here.
4. Did you attend any craft/vendor fairs in the month of December?  Do you prefer homemade goodies or the more professional stalls? Are you giving any homemade gifts this year?

I have not been to anything crafty since I met up with my Girl Cousins Cindy, Robin and Kay to go and see Cindy’s jewelry displayed in Indiana. What was that Girls, three years ago? It was very fun!

I am making one thing this year but I am being a Secret Squirrel. If I remember, I will show you after Christmas. IF I get it finished!
5. What’s your favorite type of holiday gathering?

I am not sure what this question means. Formal or informal? Family, friends or a work party? Christmas or New Years? I will say that it would be informal, good food, lots of dessert, talking, laughing and cards. Sounds like a fun night!
6.  We’re approaching a new year…what’s going to be different in 2013?

Oh, I don’t know, I’m not much of a resolutions girl. I’m sure much will be different and we will just have to be surprised!
7. Share a favorite scripture, quote, saying, or song lyric relating to peace.

John 16:33

New International Version (NIV)

33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

L.O.V.E this. This is a hard world, I need His peace.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Let’s go Way Back to 1997 when The Ab-Cat was 8 and still very much into her American Girl doll. They had the cutest clothes for them. We were just reminiscing about them and wondering what the outfits look like now days.

IMG (34)

The Boy was 6 and ALL about the Lego’s! This looks vaguely Star Wars-y. I just realized that this was the last Christmas we celebrated at our old house. :(

IMG_0001 (14)

Mousey was 3 and in a tutu phase. When she wasn’t continuing with her kitty phase. She wore one or the other almost every day, and everywhere.

IMG_0002 (8)

I see she immediately put the tutu ON. Along with a tiara. Who wouldn’t? What I especially love about this picture is how she is leaning on her Grandpa while telling him and Grandma something very important.

IMG_0003 (7)

Wishing you a blessed Christmas and looking forward to another year of The Wednesday Hodgepodge in 2013!

8 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    December 19, 2012 at 8:04 AM

    I was just reminiscing with friends on Monday about our girls American Girl Doll days. So sweet. I have a basement full of them so I best be getting some grandgirls one day! Merry Christmas!

  2. Tammy Doane said,

    December 19, 2012 at 8:10 AM

    Peanut butter my choice for fudge.

  3. December 19, 2012 at 8:58 AM

    Greatly enjoyed your post! Stopping by from the linky. Blessings and Merry Christmas!

  4. December 19, 2012 at 10:59 AM

    I texted you back but my phone has been totally acting weird lately. Anyway, we discussed it and still want to do Christmas Eve if that works out with your clan. Laur can maybe make a guest appearance before she leaves for work. You never cancelled if the Boy had to work so … the show MUST go on! :) I’ll email you about place, time, etc. So excited to see our favorite family! <3

  5. Judy said,

    December 19, 2012 at 12:43 PM

    I hope your Christmas Eve plans come together. It is great to look back over the many Christmas pasts. I hope to show our grandchildren some of when thier parents were little.

  6. CrysHouse said,

    December 19, 2012 at 2:43 PM

    I LOVE that tutu! My mom has old pictures of us–my favorite is the Christmas of the My Little Pony Castle because it was also the Castle Greyskull Christmas. Mom said putting the stuff together was a nightmare ;)

  7. jammygal said,

    December 20, 2012 at 5:20 AM

    Ah American Girl….my 4 granddaughters are really into them. I am totally with you on #2.

  8. pravolar said,

    December 20, 2012 at 5:54 AM

    You ARE very sweet!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

