Wednesday Hodgepodge

Happy New Year Hodgepodgers, I hope your resolutions will be well chosen and attainable!! Special thanks to Joyce for continuing the Hodgepodge into 2013. Join us, we are a friendly group!

1.  How did you ring in the new year?

I told you all about it yesterday.
2.  What is one thing you are looking forward to in 2013?

We are going to watch old home movies sometime this week, that will be a BLAST!

I really liked how my flowers looked this year so I am looking forward to the next growing season. I always look forward to vacations. I like being with my People. I can’t think of anything big coming up.

I am really looking forward to getting all of the Christmas stuff taken down. That is definitely in my immediate future. I just noticed Joyce said one thing.
3.  Steven Spielberg is quoted as saying, "All of us every single year, we’re a different person.  I don’t think we’re the same person all our lives."  What say you?

I don’t know that I think we are a completely different person. Surely we change, grow and learn from our experiences, as we should. I would say that there is a core person with new and improved data being added each year and always evolving costume changes.

4. The Pantone color of the year for 2013 is emerald green. Like or dislike? Do you already own something this color?  Will you add something in this shade toyour home or wardrobe in 2013?

I do not have an aversion to emerald green, but I don’t own any either. If I saw something that caught my eye and looked cute on me I would give it a whirl, but it would probably be a small amount. That would be a lot of a bold color for me.

5.  Speaking of emerald…what’s your favorite gemstone?
They are all special in their own way. That sounds very diplomatic.

6. Share a favorite book or movie from 2012.

I liked The Avengers, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, and The Bourne Legacy. A lot.

I looked at the books that came out in 2012 and realized that I didn’t read any of them! That is not to say that I didn’t read any books. One of my favorites was The Lost Choice by Andy Andrews. I want to read some of his other books as well. Especially one that my friend The Saint recommended that I can’t recall the title of right this moment. I liked All Over But The Shoutin’ by Rick Bragg and Half Broke Horses by Jeanette Walls. I have thought about having a page on the blog where I would record the books I read so I can remember the books I read! I know that I always appreciate a good recommendation. Come to think of it, most of the books I read this year I heard about from blogs.

7.  What is something you want to tell yourself at the start of this brand new year?

I want to remind myself that food is fuel and I don’t need THAT much fuel! I am not a bus.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Honey texted his Girls on New Years Eve that The Salvation Army was having 50% off all clothing on New Years Day. I think thrifting is a fun way to spend some time, and Mousey in particular has embraced the thrift lifestyle. Abby has resisted. Mightily. She is usually willing to wear something that I have found for her, but is never interested in going herself. She was saying last week how she wanted a more grown up bookshelf and I said they had TONS of books at the Salvo and she should really check it out. SHE CAME! She not only purchased 10 books, FOR TWO AMERICAN DOLLARS, I twisted her tail and she tried on many, many pair of pants! And bought some!! I will show you some of our finds tomorrow! That is a lot of exclamation points!!!

Have a great first week of the new year!

10 Comments

  1. Marla said,

    January 2, 2013 at 7:48 AM

    Ha! I love your answer to #7. I’m not a bus either…but if I keep eating too much I might become as big as a bus! ha!!!

  2. jodaley said,

    January 2, 2013 at 8:03 AM

    Are you on Goodreads? That’s a pretty easy way to record what you’ve read and also find recommendations from other people too. Happy New Year to you and your family!

  3. penguinsauce said,

    January 2, 2013 at 8:18 AM

    That is an awesome tip – food’s fuel. I think I enjoy food too much to have ever thought of it like that haha, but it definitely helps shaping my mentality/thoughts about weight loss.

  4. Judy said,

    January 2, 2013 at 9:40 AM

    Our Christmas stuff is down. Now we have to paint before we put back everything else.

  5. Zoanna said,

    January 2, 2013 at 10:01 AM

    Love Andy Andrews. I have only read Island of Saints, though, which has een retitled. Couldnt put it down. I, too, enjoy thrifting, but my hubby has a Saturday addiction to Goodwill hunting. E goes and looks for Joseph A Banks shirts for two bucks. My, i would say he now owns the Banks!

  6. Courtney said,

    January 2, 2013 at 10:54 AM

    “i am not a bus” best. line. ever. stopping over from the hodgepodge!

  7. Wayne said,

    January 2, 2013 at 10:57 AM

    I agree, The Avengers was a very good movie. Wishing you and yours a very happy new year!

  8. Mama Zen said,

    January 2, 2013 at 11:02 AM

    “I am not a bus.”

    That totally cracked me up!

  9. Susan said,

    January 2, 2013 at 3:57 PM

    Working on taking down Christmas here as well. And I love how it’s snowing on your blog! We have several inches on the ground outside too!

  10. jammygal said,

    January 2, 2013 at 5:04 PM

    Ha! You got her out and buying; good going. I also loved my flowers this year and I can’t wait to go to our favorite greenhouse and picking some out this year. We took down the tree, but I will wait until next week to take the rest of the stuff down. It all looks a little wintry anyway and I’m not ready to decorate for Valentine’s yet and I really don’t have that much anyway.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

