The New Tutee

How about another God story from ABC’s in the D??

I have talked about tutoring in Detroit before, most recently here and here. After I went two weeks ago, I was in limbo. The coordinator decided to put my basketball loving 5th (I wrongly told you 4th grade) grade boy with a basketball loving high school boy. I am praying that they can forge a good relationship together.

So back to the limbo. I was told that I would have a third grade boy. He had come for the first time the week before, so I was just hoping that he would come two weeks in a row. Doesn’t sound like that big of deal, but it can be. I was praying to have a better relationship with this boy. I want to have a relationship with him. I am a very relational person.

He showed up!!! His father dropped him off right on time and we were introduced and he chose to go right into the math room.

Can I tell you I was nervous? I had no idea what to expect. He could have been unhappy to be there, disappointed that I was a girl, or as ornery and aloof as his predecessor. Well, that boy was a pure joy to be with.

PURE JOY. Did you get that? P.u.r.e. J.o.y.

It was so easy. He was open and friendly. Willing to work and learn. It was exciting to teach him something to help him remember, and watch him grin as he used it on the next problem! We talked and laughed and played Candyland (again, what is up with the Candyland??). We talked about telling time and counting money, he read the Bible story and answered the questions. He agreed, God is a Miracle Worker! He put the instructions of how to make a pizza in order and we talked a lot about opposites, because he did not understand that word. At all.

I know he has three sisters and two brothers, no pets. He likes basketball and football, but football best. He loves hot sauce and I told him my Boy does too! We had gum, he told me where he went to school and bashfully said that his teacher, a Miss Something, was real sweet. When it was time to walk to the gym, he grabbed my hand and held it all the way there. All throughout gym time I watched him, and he was watching me, just checking to see if I was still there and watching him playing Simon Says.

So many times during the morning I was overcome by God’s goodness. There were quite a few times my eyes welled up in gratitude and thankfulness for this dear little boy. When walking to the gym, I caught a friends eye and mouthed the words, “I LOVE HIM!”

I don’t think I would have ever asked for a switch from my other boy. I had prayed about who I was getting, so I figured I was where God wanted me. I would have kept trying and we would have endured each other for the rest of the season. I would not have wanted him to think I didn’t like him or was trying to get rid of him. I hope he is happy with his new tutor. At least they can play basketball!

Ephesians 3:20

New International Version (NIV)

20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us

But God had a better idea. He always has a better idea. He gave me immeasurably more. He’s a really good God.

4 Comments

  1. Tam said,

    January 21, 2013 at 11:23 AM

    Well, you single handed ruined my makeup, can’t stop crying. That is just too precious. Thank you for making my day, even though I have to wash my face and reapply the face.

  2. caprilis said,

    January 21, 2013 at 1:30 PM

    Awe… that is so wonderful! So glad your prayers were answered :-)

  3. deb said,

    January 21, 2013 at 4:44 PM

    Beautiful testimonial to our loving God! Must remember tutee on WWF….?

  4. Laurie said,

    January 22, 2013 at 7:43 AM

    Beautiful story, as only you can tell it. With a heart like yours, there’s no doubt he felt the love and wanted to please you. Keep up God’s work.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

