Unsettled

My heart is unsettled.

I looked that word up to see what it exactly meant. Worried and uneasy, uncertain, not determined or resolved, to alter from a settled  state; cause to be no longer firmly fixed or established; render unstable; disturb.

Yes, that is the right word.

I always have trouble sleeping when I have a lot on my mind. I have been up since 2:30.

We are studying the book of Genesis this year, and Abraham in particular right now.

From a human standpoint, God asked an awful lot of Abe. He might have been unsettled for most of his life. Settled in his heart, but unsettled in his circumstances. In Genesis 12 the Lord told him to leave his country, his people and his father’s household and go to a land that He would show him. Did you get that? He had no idea where he was going. I know that would make me unsettled.

God made many promises to him; He would make him into a great nation, He would bless him, He would make his name great, he would be a blessing to to those who blessed him and a curse to those who cursed him, all the peoples on earth would be blessed thru him.

God promised him land, and He was very specific about the boundaries of that land. God promised to be his shield and his very great reward. Oh, and He promised him offspring, as many as the stars in the sky and countless as dust on the earth, even though he was an old man and his body was as good as dead, and his wife had been barren for her entire life.

And yet, Abraham believed God (Gen. 15:6, Gal.3:6). He lived by faith, believing God, because he considered Him faithful who had made the promise (Hebrews 11:11).

Hebrews 11:6

6 And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

Abraham had to wait a long time to see some of those promises. Some he never saw. I imagine he talked a lot to God, telling Him of his problems, his fears, his impatience, his flat out uncertainty about his future, wondering if maybe God had forgotten about him.

I believe that God hears our prayers. He wants us to cast our cares upon Him because He says so in His word. He wants the best for us. He cares for us, He has a plan for our lives, a hope for our future. But I don’t always know the plan. I know what it is like to have a plan that isn’t God’s. I know what it is like to pray a prayer for a long time and finally realize it isn’t God’s plan. I know what it is like to have your life turned upside down AND inside out and all you can do is live day by day with no thought of a plan. But God isn’t a genie who grants wishes. God’s ways and thoughts are not mine. I can accept that. I have accepted that.

I am not sure if God operates on the squeaky wheel philosophy, His timing is not my timing. I don’t like feeling unsettled, but the Bible doesn’t say that we won’t be unsettled. On the contrary, it says we will have trouble. Sometimes I don’t know how to pray in the midst of the trouble, or in the situation that hurts and doesn’t make sense.

In our BSF notes last week I highlighted many things, but these three seem to fit me today so I will wear them.

As we read the Bible or listen to a speaker, God continues to remove doubts and prepare us to believe that He will do the impossible.”

“Through the Holy Spirit, He teaches us what to pray for and actually prays within us. (Romans 8:23, 26-27) God gives us the desire to pray and then graciously uses our prayer to accomplish His purposes for the world. What an incentive to pray boldly!”

“Perhaps the Lord gave you your “impossible” situation, “impossible” person, or “impossible” task so that He will receive all the glory when He answers your prayer. Will you ask Him to work in your situation in such a way that it is clear that HE has done great things?

So here I am. Unsettled and waiting. And praying. And remembering what I know to be true.

Genesis 18:14

Is anything too hard for the Lord?

8 Comments

  1. deb said,

    February 1, 2013 at 10:40 AM

    And while you are waiting and praying, I am also. Specifically for the Lord to give you peace of mind and heart, and some good sleep along with the resolution of the heart’s concerns. XO

  2. BFG said,

    February 1, 2013 at 10:43 AM

    Ditto from BFG

  3. caprilis said,

    February 1, 2013 at 11:27 AM

    Me too Schmenk… I hate it when you’re unsettled. :-(

  4. CapriP said,

    February 1, 2013 at 1:24 PM

    Ditto from CapriP

  5. Laurie said,

    February 1, 2013 at 2:08 PM

    Dittos from this end, too. Hope “settledness” comes soon.

  6. February 1, 2013 at 3:59 PM

    Praying for you, my dear friend! I echo what Deb said as well. Personally I’ve always had a hard time in January and I’m hoping with February being ushered in that God will give me clarity and insight but also patience to wait on Him! Why is that so hard for me?!?

  7. Kayte said,

    February 1, 2013 at 8:16 PM

    I will add my ditto’s from across the continent.

  8. February 3, 2013 at 8:48 AM

    Praying for you; I have seen God’s hand in my life many times this past year. And even though there are many times I don’t see it, I impatiently wait. He has changed my path many times in the last two years. He wants us to wait patiently and quiet ourselves before him. That is a hard thing to do; “be still and know that I am God.” Sometimes the truth of that is just enough!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

