Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Thanks for stopping by and many thanks to Joyce for putting on her thinking cap yet again to come up with some questions for us all to answer.

1.  Chinese New Year will be celebrated on February 10th, and 2013 is the year of the snake. When did you last see a snake?  Are you okay around snakes or do they give you the shivers?

I don’t like snakes even a teeny, tiny, little bit. And I can hear Mrs. Schmenkman over there protesting and telling me that not all snakes are bad and some are wonderful and helpful and necessary, but YUCK! Probably the last time I saw a live one was at her house in Virginia several years ago. She caught a black one and PICKED IT UP!!!!!!! There are not enough exclamation points for that statement!!! She put it in a plastic thing with a lid, loaded it in her car and relocated it to another home. Why did you do that Schmenk? I forget, why couldn’t he stay at your house? Not that I want it at your house!!

2. The color red in Chinese culture usually means good luck.  Do you believe in luck?

I looked luck up in the dictionary; a force that brings good fortune or adversity. I am going to say that I don’t believe in luck from an unknown force. I think what some would call luck, I would call a blessing from God. And I don’t think God delivers bad luck. He allows things, and there are consequences to our actions, but they are not random acts of an unknown force. That is what I believe, but I am not above using the word in everyday conversation in a joking sort of way.

3. sledding-ice skating-building a snowman…if given a choice, which activity would you choose?  Which of the three have you done most recently? 

I have made a lot of snowmen in my day, but none recently. I guess I will say that, but I have no plans to do it. Sledding and ice skating are no longer on the list of activities I enjoy. I fall a lot harder than I used to.

4.  Ralph Waldo Emerson is credited as saying, "The years teach much which the days never knew."  Where have you seen this quote played out in your own life?

The way I take this is that sometimes you don’t see the big picture daily but when you look back, in hindsight, you see a path. It’s cumulative. I have totally seen this played out in our life. Some years were spent simply trying to keep our heads above water, feeling like not much was getting accomplished. What I didn’t realize at the time was we were knitting ourselves a strong family and life. I think our children have seen a different sort of life than most, and I think God will use that for His good. They may not even be fully aware of all that the years have taught them. It will be something to watch their lives unfold!

5. When was the last time you ate a cupcake? 

Well, Abby made cupcakes sometime last year. Cherry chip, YUM! And last winter Jip the Farm Dog and I went to a fancy cupcake place in our town with our friend Marsha, who was moving across the state. They were super good!

6. What’s something you can’t say no to? 

Obviously the invitation to go and get a fancy cupcake?

7.  Are you a doodler? 

I am not. I used to be when I was in school, but not any more.

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

I have been a lifelong fan of Laura Ingalls Wilder and her family. There has been word around the web that the cause of her sister Mary’s blindness has been discovered. You can read about it here. While this is interesting to me and other die hard Little House folks, Mary’s blindness was not something that consumed me with curiosity, just flooded me with sadness. I simply assumed she had some sickness that was not curable or preventable at the time, and didn’t dwell on it. 

This is a picture of Carrie, Mary and Laura Ingalls. Here is my random thought. What kind of photographer has his subjects staring into completely different directions, and not a one looking in the direction of the camera? Were they afraid the flash would steal their souls????

Have a focused and directed day.

10 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    February 6, 2013 at 7:24 AM

    That snake couldn’t stay at my house because he was stalking the frogs in my pond. I only caught two last year and I put them down under the chicken coop to take care of the rat problem. :-)

  2. Tammy Doane said,

    February 6, 2013 at 10:39 AM

    People couldn’t believe I was scared of a black snake-most people would pick it up and offer it to a farmer!

  3. April said,

    February 6, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    I will never pick up a snake with my bare hands…EVER! Blech!!!

  4. Debbie said,

    February 6, 2013 at 10:51 AM

    Good morning! First of all is your name Capri? I love it! Also my grand daughters name. And then..,I too love Laura Ingalls and will be checking out that sight for sure..,though like you, I never really thought about it much. haha It’s true on the picture too…it seems many old pictures are like that…and they are always so serious too. Enjoy your day!

  5. Judy said,

    February 6, 2013 at 12:58 PM

    I think that the old cameras had terrible flashes so people turned their eyes away. Don’t know for sure though.

  6. jodaley said,

    February 6, 2013 at 4:44 PM

    I’m a big Laura Ingalls fan too. I’ll have to check out the link. I don’t know the answer to your question regarding the flash, but Google probably does. Before Google we were left to wonder about a whole lot of stuff. I will likely have to look it up now too, because that is the sort of thing I’ll continue to wonder about until I know.

  7. bp said,

    February 6, 2013 at 5:03 PM

    I’ll have to go look at the link Mary’s blindness, I’ve always been a big fan.
    We looked for a fancy cupcake shop on a trip we took; I’d found it online and when we got there, it was no longer selling cupcakes! Disappointing!

  8. deb said,

    February 6, 2013 at 5:20 PM

    Being a Kolar for 37 years, I have learned to handle and appreciate snakes. And, I think we should go get a fancy cupcake soon!

  9. warren said,

    February 7, 2013 at 6:54 PM

    I worked at a place where we developed electrical safety devices. We were about to expand into China. We did a bunch of development, etc and towards the end of the process, we learned that the number 4 somehow signifies death…or was it taxes? Anyhow, we had to rebrand and redo a lot of stuff to get the 4s out of the project…gee whiz!

  10. February 10, 2013 at 7:30 AM

    I agree with your statement on luck. I don’t believe luck has anything to do with God. I love the pictures of the Wilders. Some things just catch our hearts and never let go.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

