F-List

Hey Y’All, anyone feeling the presence of Winter Storm Nemo? We have snow and school has been cancelled, but that doesn’t affect me anymore. Honey is home from work and Mousey left for work at 5:30 and the roads were not hellacious. Hmmmm, I am surprised that is a word. I always thought my good friend Laurie Staples made that one up!

Honey has already plowed once, but it looks like round 2 is gearing up. They are not predicting the snowpocolypse here that they are anticipating out east.

When I heard the news of the storm yesterday, I did a mental check of our important supplies. Cream; check. Butter: check. Toilet paper; check. Ok, bring it on.

Ready for a random list?

The Ab-Cat and I have been discussing cat names. We are not getting a cat, yet we still discuss. Who ever decided that discuss was a word? Cuss is a bad word, so what is discuss supposed to mean exactly? Discuss.

Back to the cat names. We have decided that we like old names for cats. Like Henry, Prudence, Penelope (or as Abby used to say, Penny-lope), Phillip, Jocelyn and my favorite at the moment, Gwendolyn. It would also appear that we favor girl cats, evidenced by the lack of boy cat names. Any suggestions for our list of old cat names for the cat we are not getting?

Mousey said she is going to name her cat Gravy Boat. A moment of silent prayer for the self esteem of her cat.

Even though I am a creature of comfort, and not in any way looking to lose our electricity, I have always wanted to, sort of, experience a blizzard. As you know, I am a devotee of the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, and The Long Winter in particular. I am POSITIVE I would not have enjoyed the many months of deprivation, boredom, fear of starvation and freezing to death, but I would like to tough it out for a day or so. I think I could do that. Comfortably, of course.

Speaking of the Ingalls, don’t you find it odd that Pa and Ma had four daughters, only one of those daughters had a child and that child had NO child, and their family line ended there? I find that so odd. All of that hard work and resourcefulness died out.

These are the things I ponder.

I also wonder if my big toenails will ever be normal, and how can I have tennis elbow, despite never having played a game of tennis in my adult life.

Since I am sharing what is on my mind, here is something I think about on occasion.

Smells I hate (not in any kind of order or degree)

Black licorice

The tire department at Sam’s Club

The supply room at the church where we have BSF. I don’t even know what the smell is, but I hate it.

Refrigerated, cooked, chicken. It smells so good warm.

Old, cut, onions.

We are going to watch the season premiere of Touch tonight. Have you seen that? It’s the new Jack Bauer show. We do like it a lot. If you watch, won’t you join us in counting how many times Kiefer Sutherland growls the name Jake and says I promise? Please do!

Ok, that’s probably way more random than you ever needed or wanted, but I have given you multiple opportunities to weigh in on a diverse range of topics. Cat names, willingness to experience a blizzard, smells you hate, tv. Spill it.

11 Comments

  1. Rachel Koekstat said,

    February 8, 2013 at 9:26 AM

    I found a few cat names I like Salem If black cat Wizard

  2. Cindy Stratton said,

    February 8, 2013 at 9:50 AM

    I don’t think NEMO is going to hit Indiana – at least not central Indiana THANKFULLY! But it is extremely windy today making it feel colder than it is – but it’s actually supposed to hit 50 on Sunday — WOO-HOO beach weather. HA HA HA HA Stay safe and warm !

  3. February 8, 2013 at 9:54 AM

    We have been thinking of getting a dog and we were discussing dog names just this morning. Sandy, Chelsea, Chole, Ginger, Rosie. Also I read on facebook that yesterday was Laura Ingalls Wilder’s birthday.
    Well here is the sun coming out. So much for the storm.

  4. Nan C said,

    February 8, 2013 at 10:19 AM

    Tell Ab-Cat that a cat named “Gravy Boat” conjures up an image of a greatly obese cat, just like “Bertha” conjures up an image of a big, hellacious ;) woman.

  5. warren said,

    February 8, 2013 at 11:17 AM

    We named a cat Meat Brick. You can use that name if you want to…

  6. deb said,

    February 8, 2013 at 11:54 AM

    I think cats should be names after royalty: Charles, Camilla, William, Kate, Elizabeth, Phillip, etc. I’m still on my second round of the first two seasons of Downton Abbey, maybe I’ll sneak some more in this weekend. Jackie took my 4WD car to work today, oh shoot, I’m stuck at home(love snow days, actually!)

  7. caprilis said,

    February 8, 2013 at 12:45 PM

    I like to use the old names for my hens.
    Enjoy your blizzard :-)

  8. February 8, 2013 at 4:28 PM

    Kelly, I had 2 boy cats. My granddaughter Olivia gave me a kitten 9 years ago because her cat Elmer did not like this boy kitten. Olivia names the kitten Bobby and so that’s his name. I went to the animal shelter to get another kitten friend for Bobby and I was looking for an orange cat. On the top row in the corner was William. William lives with me now but he is just called Billy. I had Bobby, Billy and Trenny Boy, all boy cats. Bobby (Mike’s favorite has since died and Trenny Boy my cat has died he was 19 1/2 years old and I loved him so). Since then back to the shelter and now we have Miss Betty and Addie. Miss Betty was named by my granddaughter after her pre-school teacher and Addie was 7 when she was adopted and came with a name. You are welcome to use Bobby and Billy for boys names.

  9. honey said,

    February 8, 2013 at 9:31 PM

    for the cat we are not getting i would like to name him
    THANK GOODNESS !!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

