Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, a good Wednesday to you all! Many thanks to Joyce for gathering us and giving us something to talk about. Head on over to her place if you would like to link up and join us.

1. Have you learned more from success or failure? Explain.
Oh failure, for sure. I don’t revisit and ponder success like I do failure. We take success and keep right on going, all smiles and high fives. Failure breaks us a little and stops us in our tracks. We sometimes park there while we gather the shards of disappointment, hurt and unhappiness. I seldom spend much time thinking about why I have succeeded, but I have spent a great deal of time pondering why I have failed. 
2.  What did you call your grandparents when you were growing up? If you have children, what do they call your parents? If you have grandchildren, what do they call you?

I called both sets of grandparents grandma and grandpa. Inventive, I know. In conversation, we referred to my father’s parents as Grandma and Grandpa Hoover, and my Mom’s mother as Grandma Georgia.

Our children have been fortunate to have a plethora of grandparents. They did not know Honey’s parents well, his mother passed away while I was pregnant with Mousey and his father the year after, but they were called Nona and Papa. My Mom and Dad are called Grandma and Grandpa, my Father and his wife Marilyn are called Nana and Papa. Then they called my Grandma Georgia, Grammie, and my Grandma Hoover, Great Grandma Hoover. They actually spent a good amount of time with her, she died in 2007 at 97 years of age.

Honey has already declared that he would like to be called Paisano

paisano

Italian, usually said in reference to ‘buddy, friend, mate’.

I have not given it as much thought.

3.  You’re invited to a luau.  In keeping with that theme, what dish will you bring to share?
A fruit kebab including pineapple sounds doable.

4. Besides Jesus, what one person’s life story do you think everyone should know about?

Oh goodness Joyce, it’s early and you are making me think! I am going to say Laura Ingalls Wilder, for no other reason than she is a childhood favorite. I learned a lot about life reading all of her books. There is much to be said for living a simple, good, honest life. And Girlfriend saw the whole world change in her lifetime. I just love her.
5. "Don’t sweat the small stuff." Agree or Disagree? Why?
I don’t necessarily agree, all the small stuff builds the big stuff. Take parenting for example. Character and integrity, wisdom and kindness aren’t just pulled out of thin air. There are layers and layers of of guiding, teaching and instilling with layers of failure in between. To be consistent, you have to make sure the small stuff is being paid attention to.

On the other hand, making mountains out of every inconsequential mole hill is a type of drama that I do not participate in. As my good friend Jip the Farm dog says, you have to pick your hills to die on. Character issues? Dying hills. Little bumps in the road? Not so much.

6.  June is National Rivers Month. When were you last on a river? What’s the prettiest river you’ve ever seen? What’s a river you’d like to see?

I have no answer for any of the above questions. I don’t know any rivers personally.
7.  Speaking of rivers-paddling, fishing, swimming, or bird watching safely from the shore? Which activity would you choose? Yes-you have to choose.

I might go fishing with Honey sometime. Or rather, he would fish and I might…..read.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Honey and I have been immersed in yard work this week. Weeding, trimming, hauling things out of the shed. I planted ALL DAY yesterday and I am still not finished. I am sure my indecisiveness has something to do with that. In addition, I bought quite a few cute new pots at the end of last season that require new dirt. Plus the loading of bigger pots on the dolly and wheeling them up the ramp. I will then require Capri Patt, my personal decorator and plant arranger, to come and do her magic. She has skillz, I do not. I have also discovered that I did not purchase enough zinnias, which are my favorites right now along with the coleus, and they must be represented. That will require another trip out to my favorite flower place to purchase more work.

I tried something new this year. One of my clematis died, leaving one side of the trellis nekked. Then I had a vision. I save the pods from the hyacinth bean vine, that I buy every year at the garden walk I attend with The Peanuts Champ and The Back Door Neighbor, and then do nothing with them. I decided to haul them out.

They look just like this. Except they were in a snack size baggie. All three of these pictures were taken from Google images. Just want to put that out there, they are not my images.

 

There was much Words With Friends chat going on between Mrs. Schmenkman and myself as to how to plant the seeds. Schmenky, also known as Master Gardner Schmenk, said to remove the seeds from their pods and soak them in water. This is EXACTLY what they looked like! Little mutant Moon Pies! I soaked and planted.

Here is my vision! I realize this is wishful thinking, but a girl can dream.

I just looked. There is no visible plant growth…..yet. I know, I know, more wishful thinking.

Have a good rest of the week!

5 Comments

  1. Bobbi said,

    June 5, 2013 at 7:49 AM

    Oooo…when your garden looks like that…I’m coming for a visit. Pretty!!! Happy Hodgepodge!

  2. caprilis said,

    June 5, 2013 at 10:47 AM

    You do TO know a river… you sing about it every year when you’re here!
    Love your answer to #5!

  3. Theresa said,

    June 5, 2013 at 10:55 AM

    Fruit kebobs are a great choice. I love the name your husband has picked out instead of grandpa.

  4. jodaley said,

    June 6, 2013 at 6:01 AM

    Paisano : ) We had a similar answer to #5. I hope your vision becomes a reality!

  5. warrenp94 said,

    June 7, 2013 at 8:20 AM

    You must go and meet a river! It’s hard to beat floating down a lazy river in a canoe or on a raft…you have to go find a river!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

