Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hey Guys, the Hodgepodge is back! It sounds like Joyce had a nice break and has jumped back into the Hodgepodge with both feet! Head on over to her place to join us.

1. Summertime is a season of reunions, weddings, and other family celebrations and gatherings…are any of the above on your calendar in the next two months?

We do have a wedding in July. The Oreo Mom and Kentucky Jim’s oldest son is taking the plunge. There will be other small gatherings as well, family, care group, girls!

2. June is National Iced Tea Month…are you an iced tea drinker? If so, how do you like yours (sweet, flavored, etc)?

I do like iced tea, but I have a pretty early cut off time for caffeine, so it’s a lunch only deal. I like it with Splenda, and if I am feeling sassy, a little lemon.

3. When were you last nervous?  Looking back, was the ‘event’ actually nerve-worthy?

I do not like public speaking, so that would certainly put a crimp in my tail. I can’t think of anything recent though.

Oh, wait, I have a memory. I guess it made me so nervous that I forgot.

When our BSF class went to Cincinnati last March for our Leaders Retreat, our Class Administrator Area Team Advisor, a lovely woman named Barb, asked if I would work the second shift in the registration room. There would be volunteers at tables organized alphabetically, one side of the room for registration and packets and the other side for room keys. She said I would have a clip board with all of the answers to any questions that might come up, you know, the pertinent information. She instructed me to head over to the ballroom at a certain time and find the gal I was supposed to replace to get The Clipboard, and she would fill me in. Easy Peasy.

I was as nervous as a CAT. I try hard not to be in charge of anything. I am an Indian, not a Chief. I have LOTS of friends who want to be the Boss and I am OK with that! When Barb asked if I would do it, I thought it would be ungracious if I said “I don’t want to, I might throw up”. I worried about it for quite a while, then prayed about it and asked God to please help a girlfriend out or else we were going to have a problem. Then I put it out of my mind, because I can be all Scarlett O’Hara like that and convince myself that I will think about it another day.

Back to the ballroom. I found the gal and she told me that it had been a breeze, hardly anyone had any questions and she had not used the clip board even once! A PIECE OF CAKE she said, in her perky southern accent!

I hadn’t been standing there with my clip board for about 5 minutes when I was slammed. I guess the reason the other clip board lady had no problems was because hundreds of ladies waited to register on the second shift. I had little groups of people, in varying stages of mood, all over the place, and do you know what was not on my handy dandy clipboard? THE ANSWER TO ANY QUESTION ANYONE ASKED. After listening to each party’s circumstance, and telling them I would find the answer for them, and thanking them profusely for their patience, I realized that the only person who could solve any of the problems was our hotel liaison, my new best friend, Bob. But Bob kept disappearing, trying to solve the problems, leaving me and the other clip board lady to soothe the ruffled feathers. With useless clip boards.

As Ma Ingalls always said, “Alls well that ends well”. As far as I know, by the end of the night everyone had a room and a key. At least I saw no woman sleeping on a couch in the lobby.

Was the event actually nerve worthy? Yes, yes it was, but God had my back. And I do remember thinking, if I was still around, I should offer my services to Barb for the next retreat, because at least I would know what to expect and save some other poor gal from the nightmare of the dreaded second shift in the Registration Ballroom!!!

4. The bristle toothbrush was invented in China on June 26, 1498...not sure how that date was pinned down so precisely but, on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being sick to your stomach and 1 being not at all, how nervous do you feel when you’re headed to the dentist?  Do you see your dentist twice a year?

I guess it was a momentous occasion to be remembered!  I do go twice a year, but I am a dental weenie. Our dentist is a lovely man and his staff are all wonderful people, but my teeth are sensitive and I just don’t like it. For cleaning, about a 4-5, for work, about a 8 or 9. I am always waiting for the zinging pain.

5. What’s making news in your town this week?

I rarely know what is going on in our town, Honey or Keelyody usually tell me if there is anything to mention, there is usually not. The  tv news is always about Detroit and it’s usually all sad, all the time down there. What I caught a glimpse of today was that Detroit Emergency Manager Orr denied City Council President Charles Pugh’s 4 week medical leave. I have not followed this story closely, and I do not know Mr. Pugh’s particular situation, but I do know that the City Council are widely regarded as a bunch of incompetent yahoos, so I am willing to give Mr. Orr the benefit of the doubt.

6. Curtains, drapes, blinds…your window treatment of choice? Are there any bare windows in your house? Is that by choice or because you haven’t gotten around to covering them?

We have a variety. The only curtains we have are in our bedroom. Honey works at night and sleeps in the day so they are room darkening for his benefit. I have valances (made by the impressive Capri Deb!) in the family room and on the kitchen door wall. Some windows have mini blinds that we never close, but protect the furniture, some have nothing, and The Ab-Cat has verticals on her door wall, which are coming down because they are kicking the bucket. All to say, we are equal opportunity window treatment folk.

7. Summertime is officially here (in the Northern hemisphere anyway)…what one song is a must-have on your summer playlist?

I have no summer play list, but one summery song I like is by Kenny Chesney, something about a Yoohoo bottle rolling on the floorboard.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Since I showed you the picture of the super ugly, 70s polyester quilt my Grandma Georgia made yesterday, I offer you something pretty to offset all the….poly.

006

The quilter herself. One of the most important people in my life. Ever. She was the real deal and I miss her.

Have a wonderful week. And if someone offers you a clip board, don’t take it!

4 Comments

  1. Jip the Farm Dog said,

    June 26, 2013 at 7:41 AM

    You handled your clip board with grace and dignity! I would give you my clip board any day with confidence in you abilities. You do not give yourself enough credit, but I did enjoy reliving that moment with you.

  2. jodaleyJoyce said,

    June 26, 2013 at 8:04 AM

    I loved your clipboard story : ) I am fine being in charge, but public speaking makes me a little twitchy. I’m better than I used to be though-I guess practice makes perfect, right? Lovely picture!

  3. veronica said,

    June 26, 2013 at 6:20 PM

    I have an early caffeine cut off time as well. If I drink sweet tea to late in the afternoon, I will never get to sleep :)

  4. Nan C said,

    June 29, 2013 at 12:16 PM

    I love those colorized sepia photos, like the one of your Grandma Georgia. Although I know differently, they make me think of a simpler, yet traditional, era.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

