The Labored Weekend

Welcome September! I sincerely hope you had a good Labor Day! We managed to find something to do. Most of it involved eating.

Our weekend officially started on Thursday at The Cheesecake Factory. I already told you about that little escapade, but I bring it up again to show you that I did actually take 3 pictures of said escapade. These three shots explain a great deal about picture taking in our family. 

Whenever I take out the camera to record a memory, there are invariably several reactions. Whining, uncooperativeness and stubbornness.

Here we have Honey and The Ab-Cat smiling gamely, hoping to get it over with quickly. Mousey is NOT on board. She is oozing indifference.

001

Which causes me to have to try again. Oh how they hate the retakes. I have said something to make Mousey smile, but have unfortunately lost my other two customers.

002

Now they are just being mean and not helping me at all. This caused me to not bring the camera out at dinner, therefore I have no pictures to show you of our scrumtrulescent meal or dessert. I am sorry they ruined your experience.

003

I did not even bother to bring my camera to the next place. Honey needed to go across town to look at an edger he found on Craigslist, to replace ours that quit him. Since we almost never head that way, we decided to eat at a place we went to a year or so ago called Clarkston Union Bar and Kitchen. They are known for their most macked, mack and cheese. We saw it on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives with our good friend, Guy Fieri. It was good, but HEY FOOD NETWORK, Honey’s is BETTER! Come give him a show please! I totally lifted this picture from The Ab-Cats instagram.

016

We had ordered a yummy strawberry shortcake at The Cheesecake Factory that caused us to want to try and duplicate it at home. I think we did so with much fabulosity! We had another one last night. We are now all on diets.

008

Honey has perfected the refrigerator pickle recipe he first tried last month. His friend from work, Farmer Mark, has been supplying him with fresh dill from his never ending garden. We needed to use it up. I cut up baby cucumbers to the size Honey thinks is the best. Not too skinny, but not too fat.

009

He loaded the canning jars with dill, kosher salt, pepper corns, garlic and red pepper flakes for all but one.

 012

He then added hot red peppers and jalapenos in all but one. the girls are just plane jane dill pickle girls but everyone else prefers the hot and spicy variety.

013

I added the cukes, vinegar and filled the rest of the jars with boiling water.

014

Labor completed. All in the fridge, except a little one Beeve took home.

015 

We also watched some of this,

and some of that. They went to a country we had never even HEARD of! Have you ever heard of Maastricht? It’s over by Belgium, land of Honey’s father.

We also watched this. I had to read up on it in Wikipedia because it was a wee bit confusing.

Abby has been wanting us to watch this for a sweet forever. When I read what it was about, they lost me at mixed martial arts. I don’t like those Kung Fu, Karate, kickboxing, wrestling, fighting sorts of flicks. She insisted that we would like it. We resisted.

Well, we caved yesterday and she was right, it was a good movie! The themes were forgiveness and perseverance, very good subject matters. It was a little kicky and wrestle-y, but I managed. The human story was worth it and the fighting parts reminded me of Rocky.

And that was the weekend that was!

How about Y’All? What did you do?

2 Comments

  1. deb said,

    September 3, 2013 at 8:40 AM

    Glad you had a relaxing, no laboring, weekend…except for the pickles. But they look delicious! I worked on a charity quilt, among other stuff. Also my SIL Annie came over for a visit on Monday!

  2. warren said,

    September 4, 2013 at 9:31 PM

    WE MOSTLY HAMMERED AND SAWED AND I hate caps lock and then we hammered and sawed some more. It was a weekend of labor! But we had some fun too…and we hammered some more too


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

