Wednesday Hodgepodge

Thanks for stopping by! Special thanks and a big Happy Birthday to our hostess with the most-ess, Joyce! Head on over to her blob and join the Hodgepodgers, it’s a fun group!

1. When did you last sing happy birthday to someone? When were you last sung to? Does that embarrass you or do you enjoy being the center of attention on your special day?
The last birthday we celebrated around here was Miss Mousey’s last month. I guess I was last sang to a year ago today! It doesn’t bother me if it is my family, but I do NOT like to be the center of attention somewhere else. It gives me hives. And I could possibly throw up.

2.  Name a famous or ‘infamous’ person (living or deceased) who shares your birth day and month. Is that someone you’d like to meet in person if it were possible?

I share a birthday with our fearless leader from Wednesday Hodgepodge, Happy Birthday Joyce!!!!!!! I think I would very much like to meet her, we seem to have some things in common!
3. Someone hands you a box tied up in a lovely bow…what are you hoping to find inside?
I like things that people have made, especially if they are clever or useful. Something personal or a yummy treat!

I did just tell Honey today that I would like a little point and shoot camera to carry in my purse.

4. What can you guarantee about yourself?

I couldn’t think of an answer to this one so I took it to my family. Two of them said they could guarantee that I would ask them if they washed their hands, and the other could guarantee that I would have dessert after dinner! Thanks Guys!

I guess I will say that I can guarantee that I will never want to be in charge, do anything from a stage or jump out of a plane. Oh, and I guarantee that every time I leave Sam’s Club and walk through the tire department I will say “I hate that smell”.
5. Talking art and beautiful cities here…’The Last Supper’ in the Santa Maria della Grazie Abbey in Milan Italy or ‘The Mona Lisa’ in The Louvre, Paris…which would you most like to see up close and in person?  Why?

I would choose The Last Supper for no other reason than Honey and I would like to go to Italy, land of his Mother’s People.
6. Your favorite dessert?

This question is WAY too hard! Favorite?? That is like being asked to choose your favorite child! I like to say that I am an equal opportunity dessert eater. I like my Aunt Phyllis’ pies, The Ab-Cat’s brownies, Mrs. Davis’ coconut pound cake, Outback’s Chocolate Thunder from Down Under. The very small tip of a titanic iceberg!
7. This coming weekend marks the official start of autumn (in the Northern hemisphere)…what is something you do to get ready for fall? What is one thing you’re looking forward to on your fall calendar? Spring or fall-which do you prefer?

There are lots of things I do to get ready for fall. Outside, I cut back all of the hosta, day lilies and grasses and pull all of the flowers and plants out of the pots and ground. Honey closes the pool and covers the pool pump and air conditioners with tarps. Inside, I put out a few fall decorations and switch my closet from summer to winter. I also wash the down alternative throws because I KNOW we are going to need them soon!

I like spring but I really love fall, I always have. Love the colors, love the cooler weather, makes me want to watch You’ve Got Mail”.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

One of my favorite lines from the above mentioned movie.

Joe Fox: Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. On the other hand, this not knowing has its charms.

How cute is that?

Have a lovely fall day!

18 Comments

  1. April said,

    September 18, 2013 at 5:14 AM

    Coconut pound cake…that’s what I’m talking about! I’m not a big fan of being sung “Happy Birthday” in a restaurant, either. Makes me want to crawl in a hole!

  2. April said,

    September 18, 2013 at 5:18 AM

    Forgot to wish you a HAPPY BIRTHDAY! How neat that you share the same one with Joyce! Enjoy your special day!

  3. Hootin' Anni said,

    September 18, 2013 at 5:53 AM

    Well then, happy birthday to you TOO!!! Enjoy your day.

    LOVED your dessert answer. And brownies, I forgot about brownies. I love ‘em too with loads of pecans in every bite. Mmmmmm.

  4. 3goodkids said,

    September 18, 2013 at 6:05 AM

    I hope you have a wonderful Birthday!

  5. Nan C said,

    September 18, 2013 at 6:16 AM

    Happy Birthday, Miss Kelly! You probably haven’t been reminded of this in a while. The reason why many birthdays seem to fall on Sept. 17 & 18 is because the conception date would be on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day. ;) Just a stupid piece of trivia.
    Wishing you a blessed Birthday, Lady.

  6. jodaley said,

    September 18, 2013 at 6:27 AM

    Happy Birthday! I won’t sing, because nobody should throw up on their birthday : ) Enjoy your day!

  7. Judy said,

    September 18, 2013 at 7:46 AM

    Happy birthday! I love your guarantees!

  8. deb said,

    September 18, 2013 at 8:05 AM

    Have a wonderful day, Capri K! Happy Birthday….let’s do lunch soon and celebrate! BTW, I love my purse point and shoot…takes great photos, and would recommend it: A Panasonic Lumix, mine is DMC-Z519.

  9. Laurie said,

    September 18, 2013 at 8:12 AM

    I’m singing — don’t throw up !!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU,
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR KELLY
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU Have a wonderful day and a year ahead full of blessings.

  10. BFG said,

    September 18, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    `Happy Birthday K- and Joyce too

  11. Vickie said,

    September 18, 2013 at 2:02 PM

    happy birthday to one my most favorite people on the whole earth! xO I miss you, I would try to Face Time, we have Internet now, but I have to go pick up Naomi at school. What time do you stay up until? ( Answer in EST zone-I am three hours behind you) love you. Miss you lots. P.S. my favorite thing about fall is your Barley Soup, too early here for that its still in 90’s. Nobody puts out mums here– (they have them in the store, but I don’t see them in yards or porches) I hear October is awesome in Las Vegas, and the beginning of November, too, then we have to wear jeans, and hoodies. I threw out about 25 pair of mittens……speaking of washing your hands, I’d use the mittens once, then throw them in the wash, I’d have pile of dirty mittens on the floor by the wash machine all the time #yesIamagermaphobe

  12. Honey's Older Sister said,

    September 18, 2013 at 2:11 PM

    Happy Birthday! Have a wonderful, wonderful day.

  13. caprilis said,

    September 18, 2013 at 3:34 PM

    Happy birthday Schmenkerton! Love you bunches!

  14. Barb said,

    September 18, 2013 at 4:45 PM

    Happy Birthday, dear friend.

  15. bp said,

    September 18, 2013 at 7:50 PM

    Happy birthday! Enjoyed your answers.

  16. J.Day said,

    September 18, 2013 at 9:39 PM

    You know, I can guarantee I will never jump out of a plane, as well. Nope. Never.

  17. Rachel Koekstat said,

    September 19, 2013 at 12:25 AM

    Best birthday wishes again Kel. Hope your day rocked. Krazy Kenny and the Krew

  18. Tammy Doane said,

    September 19, 2013 at 7:23 PM

    Hope your birthday was Great!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

