Way Back When-sday-Graduation 1980

Wow, that 30 years went by really fast for me!

I can remember having this picture taken in the gym at school. It was my Mom’s dress. I had several other outfits too. They were all Quiana (keeyana?). EVERYTHING was quiana back then. I thought my hair looked great  that day!

Once again, I win, hands down, for the world’s biggest glasses!

IMG (24)

Because my Mom had a special coo-pin at Olan Mills, I was able to have another session. I think of the picture above as the spring and summer collection, and the one below as the winter program. Hence the huge cowl neck, bat wing sweater. Funny enough, I am waging my own personal battle against the bat wing now.

IMG (25)

Here we are on the last day of school, lounging in front of my fashionable and hip American Motors, brown Hornet. I shouldn’t complain, that Hornet was veddy, veddy good to me. You can’t even see the ultra groovy yellow plaid seats.

Capri Kel is there on the left, my dear friend Deon is in the middle and my other dear friend Dawn, who was a bridesmaid in our wedding, is on the right. As you can see by the camera hanging around his neck, Deon was the school photographer. He coerced us into being on the yearbook committee. I can’t speak for Dawn, but I am totally sure I did no work.

Just FYI, Deon drove a blue Maverick, and Dawn drove a green Scamp. Or Scamper, or something. We were hot, is what we were.

And, why yes, we did have to wear dresses and skirts to school. EVERY DAY. With pantyhose. It was a horrible, horrible curse.

 IMG_0003 (4)

Because Deon was the King of the yearbook staff, he could pretty much do whatever he wanted. We were always posing for him and pretending we were modeling. He loved it, we loved it. He took this photo of me. With my knowledge, obviously. I posed. What I did not know was he put it in the yearbook. I discovered that when it came out.

IMG_0001 (12)

Our entire class went to Orlando, Florida for our senior trip. This would appear to be the only picture I have from that trip. I cannot tell you why that is. I can’t even tell you anything about  that trip. And NO, I was not drunk. That was the boys room in the next building.  Deon and our hilarious friend Laurie, who also  has a blob!

IMG (26) 

Those three friends were the ones I hung around with the most, with our friend Suzanne Suzanna Danna. Who did not actually attend  our school, but I don’t think people actually knew that. She even came to our reunions, as someone’s date.

FINALLY, Graduation Day!!!!! I could not wait to graduate. I was so ready. So ready to work and make some money. HA!

I just heard Honey’s HA as well!

I think this picture of Beeve is SO cute! He just looks like a little baby angel. He was 13, his hair was beginning it’s unmanageable curly state, and he was about to grow to 6 foot in a year or two. But here, he is Little Beeve.

IMG_0001 (13)

Alphabetically, I was Hoo and Laurie was Hub. Then there was poor Debbie Howard in between us. In class, in chapel, at graduation. She was probably SO sick of us whispering over and around her. We were the kind of girls that found a great deal of hilarity in a great many things. I know I saw poor Debbie Howard even laughing on occasion. Maybe it was not as bad for her as I thought! I wonder whatever happened to Debbie Howard? I still know where Laurie is! Down the road a couple of miles!

I think I am going to lunch with Dawn and Suzie next week. Deon lives in Texas and we have not seen him since the 10th class reunion. We still remember him so fondly, and laugh about all the funny things that we did. He was a doll.

IMG_0002 (4)

I don’t think I can even begin to explain to our kids how fast those 30 years went.

On some days, I still catch a fleeting glimpse of that girl. People tell me all the time that I haven’t changed a bit. But I know they are wrong. I know that I have. I hardly know that girl anymore. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

That girl was not sure of anything. Who she was. Her faith. What she wanted to become. What she was doing.

I am so glad  that God took that girl and changed her. Told her who she was, His own. Taught her about Himself, that He was beyond faithful in all circumstances. He is still molding her into the person He wants her to be. He is giving her the opportunity to serve Him using the gifts He gave her.

Personally? I like the girl I am now a whole lot better.

5 Comments

  1. warren said,

    June 9, 2010 at 8:44 AM

    You are def not the same…your taste in glasses and clothes and hair is soooo much better now! Obviously you got taste as well! Now we won’t say a thing about my high school pics…this is about you after all…

    just kidding…

  2. caprilis said,

    June 9, 2010 at 10:41 AM

    Since I didn’t now you way back then I can’t say anything about how you’ve changed other than the glasses, hair and clothes, but I can certainly say that the girl you are now is the B.E.S.T.

  3. Becki said,

    June 9, 2010 at 1:39 PM

    Great trip down memory lane. I have that first picture and always thought it was a great picture of you! I can also remember the old Kel and you are right, God has changed you and is molding you to be more like Him! We could have both made the wrong choice back then as many people we knew did, but thankfully, we chose to follow the Lord!

  4. Nan C said,

    June 9, 2010 at 5:12 PM

    That was a nice post. I DO like that first pic of you; you’re right, your hair was perfect that day! 🙂 But then God whispered to you the oft quoted Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future (with Honey).” And now, you are living His plan.

  5. Marlene said,

    June 9, 2010 at 6:26 PM

    You are SOOOOO much younger than me!! I loved looking at these and you were cool. Glad you like who you are now 🙂 I do too!


Leave a Reply

