Random Dozen, Again!

I decided to take another break from Way Back When-sday and join up with The Doughnuts over at Random Dozen! Thanks again for having us Linda!

Here goes.

1. Have you, or has someone close to you, ever won an award for anything?

I don’t know if you would consider them awards, but Honey has won many things at work over the years. Actually, I should correct that, earned. Through the suggestion program they had. Lots of the guys from his department are all about the kaizan (never ending improvement in Japanese) and made many modifications and creations to help their department run smoother. Some of the things he earned were; a Probe for a year, an MX6 for a year, a two week cruise to Europe, a FREE Mazda 626, and another free car that he took the cash for! By joofer, he’s a winner!

2. Who is the nearest relative to you who has served in the US Military?

Well, none very recently, but my Father was in the Army in the 50s, my Dad was in the Air Force in the 50s , my Uncle Bob was in the Marines in the late 50s/early 60s, and then Beeve was in the Marines in the late 80s. Some of my Grandfather’s brothers were in the service during World War 2. I remember my Aunt Adalene saying that her husband, Uncle Bill, fought with the Army in the  Battle of the Bulge. I’m pretty sure our Uncle Charlie was in the Navy as well. My Grandmother’s brother Allen was in some branch of the armed forces during the same war and gave my Grandma some souvenirs. They were Japanese things and I thought they were kind of creepy, as was my Uncle Allen.

3. Share something that stirs the patriotic spirit in you.

Whenever I see vets, so proud of their service and wearing their hats, vests and pins, it almost always brings a tear to my eye. I cannot imagine what they might have endured so that my family and I can have the freedom we enjoy. Patriotic music and flags get me too. The War Memorials in Washington D.C. were very moving.

When I was in Florida with my Dad last spring, packing up his home to sell, we had dinner with his next door neighbor Dick, and his wife Arlene. Dick served in Viet Nam on a helicopter. I told him that I had never really spoken to anyone who had served over there before, and would he mind a few questions? He said alright. As he began to talk, his wife stealthily got out her video camera and taped the conversation. He acted like she was making a big deal out of nothing, but she told me privately that he hardly ever talks about it and their grandsons were wanting to learn more about this time in his life.

He spoke openly, many times with a catch in his voice. He said it was no picnic. Especially hurtful to him was how people treated them when they returned home. He said it wasn’t like he had a choice to go. When he finished I said “ I thank you for your service”. He said simply with a tear in his eye, “You’re welcome”. Wow.

4. Where are you in the birth order in your family? Do you think your “placement” made a difference in your personality?

I am the oldest of a whopping 2. I don’t know if it has made a difference or not.

I goggled it to find out what I should be doing.

If I had to choose, I would say I am more in the compliant category. But I am not a people pleaser, nor do I crave approval.  The aggressive category does not represent me at all. OK, maybe I am conventional. And who doesn’t want their own way? Of the common traits? Only logical suits me.

So in a long answer to question 4, sort of.

Compliant Traits

  • People Pleasers
  • Crave Approval
  • Nurturers
  • Caregivers
  • Reliable
  • Conscientious
  • Cooperative
  • Team Players
  • “Grin and bear it” mentality

Aggressive Traits

  • Movers and shakers
  • Natural leaders
  • Perfectionists
  • Driven
  • Conventional
  • Always have things under control
  • Assertive
  • Want things their way

These two types of first born children may seem very different, but they do share quite a few characteristics.

Common Traits

  • Energetic
  • Logical
  • Ambitious
  • Enterprising
  • Scholarly

5. Name one trait you hope you carry that was evidenced in your parents or grandparents.

Perseverance. Both sets of grandparents grew up on farms, came of age during the depression, then moved into the era of war. There was hard work involved, coupled with frugality. But, no matter what they were up against, they kept on going. I think I got the gene, hope it continues, I want to finish strong.

It would also be my goal to cultivate my Grandmother Georgia’s faith. She was a gem.

6. If female, do you prefer wearing a skirt or pants? If male, shirt and tie or polo?

I SO prefer pants or capris. I do wear the occasional skirt to church and BSF.

7. Approximately how many times do you wake during the night? What do you do to go back to sleep?

Hmmm. That’s a tough one. I rarely wake up for a reason, but I do wake regularly for no reason. Sometimes, I just roll over and fall back to sleep. Those are the happy nights! Sometimes I wake up at any old ridiculous time, and no matter what I do, I can’t go back. If I start thinking, I may as well just get up. The cause has been lost.

8. Share a favorite movie quote.

Only one?  How about “Kathleen Kelly: [in an email to Joe Fox] The odd thing about this form of communication is that you’re more likely to talk about nothing than something. But I just want to say that all this nothing has meant more to me than so many somethings.” Kind of how I feel about blogging!

9. What is your favorite Fall candle scent?

I am quite fond of a pumpkin-y, spicy, cinnamon type.

10. What is one Fall activity you’re looking forward to?

I don’t know if it would be considered an activity, but I love the changing leaves. And they are spectacular up here in The Mitten. I am also really looking forward to cooler weather. All the hormonies make me sweaty! The hormonies reminds me of My Big Fat Greek Wedding, which reminds me of another favorite movie quote. “What you mean he don’t eat no meat??? Ah, that’s ok, I make lamb.”

11. Tell us about a pleasant surprise that happened to you recently.

I found out last Thursday that Jip the Farm Dog is coming back into leadership at BSF!!!!! I was totally surprised and totally happy! I’ve missed my Farm Dog .

12. What was it like when you first met your in-laws-to-be?

You know? To be perfectly honest, I cannot remember the exact time I met them. I will say that I am positive I was nervous. Honey’s parents were both deaf, and I know I wasn’t sure how things would work. His Mom read lips very well and was a sweet, chatty, person.  His Dad was much quieter!

That was fun! Thanks, Linda!

4 Comments

  1. Becki said,

    September 22, 2010 at 8:49 AM

    Treasure that conversation with the Vietnam vet. Having lived in a military town for many years, I’ve had the honor of knowing many vets from that war and they would rarely talk about that war in detail and their experiences. Having friendships with so many military families and living in a military town for so many years helped me to understand the sacrifices made in a very personal way. Not everyone has that opportunity to understand those sacrifices or see it first hand.

  2. renita said,

    September 23, 2010 at 7:17 PM

    What a sweet opportunity to hear his stories. My uncle lost his legs in Vietnam and the stories are a treasure.

    Great list!

  3. Marlene said,

    September 30, 2010 at 10:22 PM

    Wow! Welcome back to BSF leadership Lisa! Cool the two of you together again.

  4. middle child said,

    October 25, 2010 at 4:11 AM

    Thanks for the stories. I enjoyed reading your posts. I think you really love blogging. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

