Way Back When-sday-Christmas 1967…Kiddles!!!!!!

I am going to guess that this is Christmas Eve at my Grandma and Grandpa Hoover’s. This picture features my Mom, Beeve, me and Girl Cousin Lynn. And KIDDLES!!!! Do you like my 3 month grown out pixie haircut?

Lower left corner: The Sleeping Beauty Castle!

IMG (12)

Girl Cousin Kay and I have retired to the Grandparents back bedroom to play Kiddles in earnest.

IMG_0001 (6)

Kay and I with our brand, spanking, new, Kiddle Sleeping Beauty Castle!!! I am showing you all her most beautimous, Sleeping self.

IMG_0002 (4)

Here are my Uncle Frank, my Father’s sister, aka Aunt Ava, Girl Cousin Lynn, and my Grandpa Hoover. I think my Grandma might be the half person, and only the Lord knows whose leg that is.

Once again, I am struck by the clothing. Everyone looks so nice and fancy! Seriously, my People look presentable, but we are hobos compared to this spruce-age. Ties and SKIRTS. I am now 100% certain that we are at my Grandparents home, the lamp and drapes are a giveaway. Also, the candy dish.

My Grandma always had that candy dish. I can picture it in all of the 4 houses she lived in during my lifetime. It SO reminded me of her house. Towards the end of her life, she began asking me if there was anything I would like to have. I always said, I don’t know, because it seemed like a death related question. I am not usually fond of death related questions.

But, she continued asking. I finally said I liked her candy dish, because it reminded me of her, and all of her houses. I also said I liked a little plaque that used to hang in her kitchen in Detroit that said, “The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get”, but she didn’t remember where that had gotten to.

She said the candy dish was mine. Shortly after she passed away in 2007, my Father’s wife Marilyn brought me a canvas tote bag, full of pictures and other sorts of Grandma’s things. Things I had made her, given her, and the like. And she brought the candy dish. She also told me that I had made a wise choice. Evidently, that candy dish was a hot little item, several people had asked for it, but had been told no, it was Kelly’s. It sits in the china cabinet in our kitchen.

When I took it out to photograph it, for some inexplicable reason, I turned it over to look on the bottom. It said it was from Holland. My Grandparents never traveled to Holland, but my parents had. Now I am wondering if that candy dish was lovingly chosen for her by my Mother? Which would make it a win/win for me!

I will have to ask my Father about that.

003

Have a wonderful Wednesday.

8 Comments

  1. Becki said,

    December 8, 2010 at 9:17 AM

    That is how I remember your Uncle Frank and Aunt Ava for some reason. I don’t remember them aging really. I guess by the time we left Temple they had not changed much from this picture so this is how I always picture them when you talk about the Hoover side. 🙂

  2. Hat Chick said,

    December 8, 2010 at 9:50 AM

    What a great story. The candy dish is as beautiful as your memories.

  3. Cindy Stratton said,

    December 8, 2010 at 12:51 PM

    I always thought your mom looked like a movie star!

  4. jcthunder36 said,

    December 8, 2010 at 4:51 PM

    Love these photos! Your People look very good. 😉 Makes me think I should dress up for Christmas. I don’t want to be remembered as a slop fifty years from now. 😉

    The candy dish was a great choice.
    -FringeGirl

  5. jcthunder36 said,

    December 8, 2010 at 4:52 PM

    Uh, sorry. I’m apparently logged in as my son.
    -FringeGirl

  6. Robin said,

    December 8, 2010 at 9:40 PM

    Candy dishes must have been the “thing” with grandparents.(I think Aunt Mary and Uncle Ivo had their share too!) Good story. And I agree with Cindy…your mom did look like a movie star. And it was all her own beauty too! So there Hollywood…Have a piece of candy!

  7. deb said,

    December 8, 2010 at 9:48 PM

    Love the story…got me reminiscing. Really want to know about the origin of the candy dish….cliffhanger!

  8. Marlene said,

    December 9, 2010 at 9:57 AM

    I love Way Back When-sday and whoever invented it!! Thank you. Love all the pictures and yes we certainly did get dressed up on Christmas. I wonder exactly when all that changed?! I love the candy dish and the possible origin of it….possibly a gift from your mom. And…..is it my eyes or is there white floaty things on your blog?


Leave a comment