Way Back When-sday-Destin, Florida

Howdy!

It’s been a long time since I have done just a WBW post! I was going to do my usual Way Back, Hodgepodge combining, but there were so many pictures I wanted to use, it seemed like a one or the other sort of deal. So this week, we are going WAY BACK! Ten years back, to 2001.

We are heading down to Florida, because we are usually in Florida at this time of year. I would love to be in Florida right now! Leaving this winter behind is going to be a dream come true.

One of the highlights of vacation for our children was the POOL! They were dolphin children.

IMG_0004 (2)

This was when they still liked the beach. Now only Mousey is a fan of the beach. I have to say that Destin had the most unusual blue green water I have ever seen. One morning there was no wake. I have never seen that before or since. Perfectly still, glassy, aqua ocean. So lovely.

IMG_0003 (2)

I miss my baby Girl. Now she runs around carrying a stick. She might have run around with a stick then, but it was a different kind of stick, and it had no purpose.

IMG (9)

I love this fearless, headfirst, determined, Darling Ab-Cat!

 IMG_0001 (3)

Last week, or maybe a couple weeks ago, Joyce from The Wednesday Hodgepodge asked when was the last time we flew a kite. This was what I was remembering! Honey eventually had it flying pretty high and the kids took turns holding the string.

IMG_0007 (2)

It was still pretty chilly in the panhandle, so we bundled up and went on a glass bottomed boat tour. There were many dolphins, we fed Cheetoh’s to the seagulls, a HUGE hit with the kids, and they brought up things from the water.

IMG_0005 (2)

It must have eventually warmed up enough to shed the jackets.

IMG_0006 (2)

This was one of the things brought up from the water. I used to remember what it was called, but that memory is gone. This is one of my all time favorite pictures of The Boy. Love his surfer dude highlights, and growing into his teeth.

IMG_0002 (3)

Thanks for going Way Back with me. I know I enjoyed myself immensely!

***EDIT**** Mousey informs me that The Boy was holding a puffer fish. Thank you, Miss Mouselina!

4 Comments

  1. deb said,

    March 30, 2011 at 7:41 AM

    Wonderful photos, Kel…and great memories! BTW, I thought puffer fish were poinsonous?????

  2. Marlene said,

    March 30, 2011 at 7:54 AM

    Wonderful memories; you guys are a loverly family!!!

  3. caprilis said,

    March 30, 2011 at 11:08 AM

    I think they are only poisonous if you EAT them… don’t quote me on that though.

  4. tammy said,

    March 30, 2011 at 11:27 AM

    That little “puffy fish” is just nasty looking. Seriously, I still have the heebie jeebies just thinking about it. Have you had your MRI yet? BTW, email coming by this evening.


Leave a Reply

