The Shock

I am guessing you all came back to hear about the SHOCKING thing that I discovered. If you didn’t come back for that, then I am truly sorry, because that is all I’m going to talk about today.

The SHOCKING thing I discovered?

When my Father’s People, The Huber/Hoover clan, came over here in 1732, (which I found shocking in itself that we had been here since 1732!) they were Amish-Mennonites!!!!!

Oh yes, they were!!!

Could have been my women folk. Could have been me and all my Girl Cousins.

Could have been my senior picture.

Could have been my boyfriend.

Could have been another boyfriend. Who cuts the hair of these people???

Could have been me and Honey.

Could have been The Capri’s. Heading out for a shopping trip.

Could have been my FAMILY! What’s a couple more kids!

Could have been my sweet ride.

Could have been our reliable second vehicle.

Our family, loading up for our annual trip down to Florida. Sounds like a dream.

Could have been my BATHROOM!! Oh NO, it could not have been MY bathroom!!!!

Could have been my barn, with all of our trusty transportation. What is that hanging from the ceiling. Do I even want to know the answer?

Could have been a church potluck.

Could have been my job.

Could have been me and Capri Patt, painting my house.

Could have been my hobby.

My growing up years with Suzie and Dawn. HA!

Just a few chicks, sitting around, having a swell time!

Women from a Beachy Amish church near Charlottesville, Va., watch the men play softball.

Could have been another hobby.

This is how I know I am very far from my Amish-Mennonite roots. I have no cookbook. Nor will I ever.

This is a little closer to my life.

And this.

Maybe this.

Shades of this.

Honey always teases me that I would have been a bad pioneer. You know, due to my love of comfort, and dislike of REALLY hard work, my attachment to electricity and running water. I would have a hard time living in a really stinky place due to my hound dog nose skills.

So there you have it. My SHOCKING discovery.

Hi, I’m Capri Kel, and I am a descendant of the Amish-Mennonite Tribe.

PS.*** I got all of these pictures from the internet. I did not personally take any of them.  I don’t own them, so please don’t sue me.***

21 Comments

  1. April 8, 2011 at 7:08 AM

    Wow. I guess that is kinda shocking. To think what could have been…

    We have lots of Amish around here. They drive down my street with their horse and buggy often. It’s very odd. They are not what I thought they would be. Like they go to McDonald’s and Wal-Mart. They buy Monopoly and Velveeta Cheese. They have indoor bathrooms and telephones stored outside in an outhouse (for emergency and business). They come to our street fairs and sell their wares. They are so much like us and yet so utterly different. I always find myself trying to ‘figure out’ their rules. I don’t know why. I’m intrigued, I guess.

    I just read Plain Truth by Jodi Piccoult. It’s about a young Amish girl on trial for murdering her baby. It was so very interesting.

    Anyway, glad you get to use a blow dryer and computer!
    -FringeGirl

  2. tammy said,

    April 8, 2011 at 8:54 AM

    That. Was. Hysterical!!! I laughed all the way through. The 2 women painting, I could totally picture that being yall doing a mosaic. Thanks for a good laugh.

  3. Hat Chick said,

    April 8, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    I had a really long comment typed about my sister’s Amish in-laws then the computer gods deleted it.

    Glad you have indoor plumbing! I wouldn’t convert for that fact alone.

  4. Cindy Stratton said,

    April 8, 2011 at 11:16 AM

    Why are you surprised? I’m not shocked at all by this news — take a look at some of those old family pictures – especially the Hoover boys when they were young – YIKES! There is actually a Mennonite insurance company in Ohio in these modern times. I guess once a Mennonite . . .

  5. Carol said,

    April 8, 2011 at 12:38 PM

    Very funny! by the way, that’s tobacco hanging up to dry in the barn. We used to live in Amish country (in Lancaster County, PA). My hubby has spent lots of time taking pictures of your descendants. 🙂

  6. Marlene said,

    April 8, 2011 at 1:16 PM

    Honestly this is the most hysterical thing I have read from you. I belly-laughed all the way through. Your crafts-and trip to Florida-ha ha. No need to say more it was ALL funny. I am not making fun of your ROOTS so please don’t anyone sue me.

  7. warren said,

    April 8, 2011 at 2:43 PM

    That’s tobacco hanging in the barn. As nasty as it is, tobacco is really pretty in the fields and in the barns…

    Anywho, I grew up around a lot of Amish folks and if your sniffer is good, you would fail as Amish…bath time is not common I think

  8. deb said,

    April 8, 2011 at 3:27 PM

    This is a classic post….sooo funny, Kel. That took alot of preparation! I also find it interesting that you have a fondness for novels relating to the Amish and pioneers.

  9. Nan C said,

    April 8, 2011 at 3:31 PM

    Hey, if a person goes camping every year, they’re half Amish already in my book! 🙂

  10. Laurie said,

    April 8, 2011 at 7:03 PM

    Loved the SHOCKING post. The Capris going shopping cracked me up!!! Maybe you ought to offer your hair snipping services to those poor guys — they probably just barber each other.

  11. Marlene said,

    April 8, 2011 at 8:40 PM

    I had to come back just one more time for another belly laugh; needed it badly. Thanks again!

  12. Ellen Roth said,

    April 8, 2011 at 8:52 PM

    Hilarious! You could possibly live closer to me–on my way from Bad Axe to Imlay City a month ago, I met 8 Amish buggies on the road! However, I have many good friends who are Mennonite. They are very distant cousins to the Amish, at least around here. LOVED the pictures!!!

  13. Robin said,

    April 8, 2011 at 9:10 PM

    Hilarious! (and sorry Cindy…) I was surprised…Hoovers following all those “rules”? Since when?!!!! That would be something!

  14. caprilis said,

    April 9, 2011 at 5:44 AM

    The Capris would have rocked those outfits!

  15. Carol said,

    April 11, 2011 at 6:34 PM

    So are your relatives from Lancaster? If so, do you know where specifically? You need to go visit them.

  16. Honey's Older Sister said,

    April 11, 2011 at 8:08 PM

    Luved it, luved it, luved. You made my day.

  17. Kathy said,

    April 12, 2011 at 8:50 AM

    Hi, I’m Marlene’s little sissy. I have always had a huge curiousity regarding the Amish/Lifestyle. I once did a gargantious project about them in college. Your blog was hilarious. I’ve gotten to know you a little bit thru your responses on Mar’s blog. Great read!

  18. Cousin VIckie said,

    April 13, 2011 at 6:43 PM

    Great job, Kelly! I loved reading your take on “our roots”. Of course, I live right in the midst of a large Amish-Mennonite enclave and I delight to see them in many different situations. Today, Sam and I had lunch in an Amish home near Nappanee. We were part of a group of volunteers who were being honored for our services at Miller’s Merry Manor (assisted and nursing homes). The lunch was terrific; you can beat Amish cooking. I won’t give you the specifics as your mouth would start watering!

  19. April 18, 2011 at 11:38 AM

    Too funny! How stupendous to find out that we are both “Huber’s”.

  20. 2newhope said,

    October 29, 2013 at 8:00 PM

    This last picture happens to be my sister who passed away in a car accident 6 1/2 years ago. She was 16 and her name is Jenalee, she was born and raised amish then 4 years before her death my parents left the amish church and joined the Mennonites.

  21. March 12, 2014 at 9:37 AM

    […] Mother’s side. My Father’s side can trace their roots back a little further. I wrote about it here a few years ago. It was a SHOCKING revelation, I must […]


Leave a Reply

