Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge!

Hi Guys! I am able to combine 2 fun things again! Thank you, as always, to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for hosting!

Here are her list of questions for this second week of April.

1. Would you rather talk to everyone at a crowded party for a short time or have a significant conversation with two people?

Can we combine the two? I would rather have nice conversations with many people at a party. I don’t need to zero in on two and spend the rest of the evening solving all the world’s problems, nor do I want to have completely superficial chats with everyone in the room. I would like to settle somewhere in the middle, if that is alright with everyone.

2. What objects do you remember from your parent’s living room?

What I remember about the living room was: DON’T PLAY IN THERE! All objects were breakables and dustables. In our second house there was a piano. Beeve was the only one who took lessons and it would be my guess that he would be hard pressed to play anything now.

3. Do you hog the bed? Steal the covers? Snore?

Well, to be perfectly honest, I might be guilty of all 3. Honey and I are both major bed hogs, due to the fact that we only sleep together on the weekends and vacations. He works at night, so we are ships that pass in the morning. All well and good until we have to actually sleep together. That is where the problems begin. We are each used to having the queen sized bed all to ourselves. Bed-hogging and cover stealing are the results of such an arrangement. As far as snoring. I don’t think I do, but I have been told otherwise. It is my goal to get a king sized bed.

4. Speaking of Easter dinner….what is your favorite way to cook/eat lamb? Or does just the thought of that make you squeamish? If you’re not cooking lamb what will be your entree du jour on Easter Sunday?

I have never cooked lamb, and the only time I have knowingly eaten it was at Olga’s. I wouldn’t say it would be something I would ever eat without the yummy pita and scrumtrulescent Olga sauce. I also rarely cook Easter dinner because we are almost always in Florida. I did cook last year and I don’t even remember what we had. So much for that memory!

5. Let’s throw some politics into this week’s mix-oooohhh…Do you know the whereabouts of your birth certificate and when was the last time you had to produce it to prove you’re you?

I DO! Honey has a folder with all of our birth certificates in it. This used to be very important because whenever we would go and visit Honey’s People in Canada, we had to have the records of our birth. They can get a little testy at the boarder these days. BUT, since we jumped through the many, many hoops to get our passports a couple years ago, we just use those. That was probably the last time I used my birth certificate too.

6. As a child, how did people describe you?

Wow, that is a hard one. I have no idea. I think I will throw that one out to the few Readers who knew me as a child. The word that comes to my mind would be uncertain. Uncertain of my place, what I should be doing, what I wanted, what I thought. That’s how I always felt. I am sure a lot of that was the result of ADD. It’s hard to know what you should be doing when it’s even harder to pay attention. I think that’s why I became such a good follower. If I didn’t catch the directions, I just went with the flow.

7. What do you complain about the most?

FINALLY, an easy one!!!  I complain THE most about people that don’t have the sense God gave a goose. I seriously don’t understand how some folks get by. All that whining, complaining, no common sense, and making continual dumb choices gets on my last nerve. But in fairness Guys, what do you think I complain about the most?

8. Insert your own random thought here

Here is the Way Back When-sday part.

Heading way back to 1998, our annual vacation in Florida! I think this was the very last year we stayed in a hotel. I think this was in Old Town or Kissimmee.  After that, Honey found us much more comfy houses or condos to rent. We LOVED the room to spread out, and they just seemed so much…..cleaner.

We are playing Little Mermaid cards. That poor Boy, he is well trained to be a part of a home with many girls. Well versed in The Disney Princesses? Check. Has seen the majority of chick flicks? Check. Can handle himself in a sea of Barbie’s and dress up clothes? Check, check. A very good sport.

IMG (11)

The Boy was 7, Mousey was 4, and The Ab-Cat was 9. Honey was 41, just in case you wanted to know.

This picture reminds me that we will be heading down to Florida very soon! It will just be Honey, Mousey and myself, but we are very excited! Maybe we can find those Little Mermaid cards. Hmmmm….

I love these People!

10 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    April 13, 2011 at 5:48 AM

    That is a sweet family photo and memory!

  2. caprilis said,

    April 13, 2011 at 6:28 AM

    I love those people too!

  3. Bobbi said,

    April 13, 2011 at 6:49 AM

    Thank you for the laugh…what you complain about was hilarious…honestly, I think we ALL get annoyed by those people sometimes! Okay, most of the time.

  4. Laurie said,

    April 13, 2011 at 7:47 AM

    Enjoyed your post, as always. Having only met your family this past year, I can’t make many deep observations about them. However, I was impressed how the Boy hung out with a bunch of “Cougars” one evening and seemed perfectly at ease.

  5. Sally said,

    April 13, 2011 at 10:32 AM

    Jumped over here from Joyce’s blog (isn’t she wonderful?) – I’m so with you on #7… some people… 🙂

  6. expat said,

    April 13, 2011 at 11:41 AM

    Great photo of “Back When.” Hope you have a wonderful time in Florida this year!

  7. warren said,

    April 13, 2011 at 12:39 PM

    Can you prove your birth certificate is real though? Maybe you just created one on your computer?

  8. auburnchick said,

    April 13, 2011 at 6:12 PM

    Loved your picture! Enjoy your trip to Florida! I’m sure you’re going to have a wonderful time!

  9. honey said,

    April 13, 2011 at 9:31 PM

    olgas will be in our home town soon !!!!!!

  10. Nan C said,

    April 15, 2011 at 10:32 AM

    Ooh, this post is a hot one for me today!

    First, I have baked lamb before. It was for a youth group seder meal (I don’t know if Beeve was there that day). It turned out okay and I discovered that I actually like lamb with mint jelly, too. Of course, I always eat the lamb in gyros (yum.)! 😛

    Second, I will gladly discuss the “birther” issue with anyone because we have 3 kinds of birth certificates in our household. I was born from my mother in a hospital right here in the Mitten, my three children were adopted from a foreign country, and my hubs was domestically adopted here in Mittenland (I think you know the story of Hubs’ birth certificate, Kel.) My hubs and I were born the same year as our president and I’ve seen the president’s certificate of live birth online. “Certificate of live birth” only means that the child was born alive (duh), because my children have a “Certificate of live birth: Delayed-foreign birth”. The prez’s certificate of live birth looks more like my hubs birth certificate than mine. Nowhere on their certificates is there a name/address of a hospital/medical center nor a signature of an attending physician/D.O./midwife. Now, I’m not saying the president was adopted, but maybe Hawaii’s office of registrar was in a beach hut at the time……


Leave a Reply

