Doings From Yesterday

On April 18, 2011, The Mitten was treated to…

001

snow. Oh yes we were. That is just wrong.

003

On April 18, 2011, Honey, Mousey, The Boy and I went to the Value World to use the last 50% off coo-pin. I am sad to see them go. A moment of silence for the last coo-pin.

Honey needed some sort of a raincoat for his fishing trip with The Boy next month. He has a rain suit, but it quit on him last year. He is going to spray the pants with some kind of water repelling spray, but he felt he needed an actual raincoat to brave the cold, possibly rainy, spring of The Great White North. The fellow from the lodge where they are staying said it is not uncommon to have ice still hanging around in late May. Guess who is glad they are not going fishing up in Canada in late May? Guess who is just glad she never has to fish, anywhere? Guess who is SICK of the winter of 2010/2011? How about EVERYONE in The Mitten.

I believe that I may have mentioned Mousey’s stinky, cat pee smelling cleats that her friend loaned her. Evidently, she has another friend, who has the exact same cleats, and they are stinky as well! Honey suggested she take a gander at Value World for some replacements. You never know, stranger things have happened.

Look what she found! Brand new!

026

Never been worn! For 1/2 off of $5.90!! Extra special bonus? No stinky cat pee smell! Yet.

028

This is my bargain of the month, because I have actually paid full price for one of these before. We use our food chopper all the time. The one I actually paid full price for has just about had it. I just looked on The Pampered Chef website, and the cost for this little darling is $31.00. We paid just under $2.00!!!! I don’t think it had been used either. Old Eagle Eye Honey found it.

Here comes Mama Mia, making sure it is safe to let the food chopper in the house.

032

Another treasure for The Future Grandchild Book Shelf. A favorite of  all of our children, and one I remember from my elementary school years as well.

029

This was their favorite page, DOG PARTY!!!!

030

You can’t beat a classic for 40 cents!

The total of our bill, after using the 50% off coo-pin, was $28.00, so obviously we bought other things. The Guys each bought jackets to wear fishing. To spare the jackets they already own from getting fish guts on them. The Boy found some flannel shirts, I know that is surprising. Mousey chose a few things, but most notably, a black bikini top from Lands End to wear while sunbathing. And also surprisingly, I found a pair of capri sleep pants, that had cats on them. I hope I love them!

The rest of the day was spent packing for Florida! And being sad that my hindquarters are now larger than the last time I wore my summer capris. I am really looking forward to discontinuing the hormone I have been taking. The hormone that so helpfully says in the side effect panel, may cause INCREASED APPETITE. Thank you. Thank you SO much. Why doesn’t it just say “may cause you to be able to consume an ENTIRE bear, without salt, at one sitting”? Since they were being so helpful and all.

We leave 36 degree Michigan tomorrow morning, and we will have lunch in warm, sunny, Florida! I hope they have bear on the menu, where ever we choose to dine.

3 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    April 19, 2011 at 9:37 AM

    You are SO funny!!!! What a great way to start my day. Enjoy your trip to Florida. Hope you have lots of sun, warmth and good beat meat.
    I’ve had a couple of those Pampered Chef food choppers and loved them. However, a little redesign might be in order. I don’t know where yours broke but, on mine, the outer plastic containment piece broke at the top. I can still use it but have to make sure I hold it firmly on the chopping block — or else everything escapes!

  2. deb said,

    April 19, 2011 at 6:34 PM

    Oh, I missed using my coopin! You sure did have good luck, and good practical items! Have a safe trip down….xoxo.

  3. Cindy Hoskins Wildasin said,

    April 19, 2011 at 8:08 PM

    Hurry up and get down here. We have been in Naples for one week and still have one week to go and it has been hot and glorious every single day!! Safe travels…………


Leave a Reply

