Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! I am joining up with Joyce From This Side of the Pond again after a little vacation break. Thank you for hosting Joyce!

1. How many times in your life have you moved house?

Hmm, not as many times as some folk. Before I was married, I moved a total of 3 times. From California where I was born, to The Mitten when I was 2 or 3, and then to Plymouth, Mi. when I was in 9th grade.

After I was married, I moved to Windsor, Ontario, Canada, where Honey is from, then we moved to Redford, Mi., and we have lived in 2 houses in our present city, which shall remain nameless. Privacy issues, you know. Cause if I tell you, then I have to kill you. So all total, 7 times.

2. What subject would you study if you had a year to devote to it?

The thing about studying is I only like to learn what I want to learn. So this is perfect! I like history, so there’s that. I could study mosaicing for a year and still be a novice. The same with the Bible, there’s a LOT there. I am going to say the Bible, because that would probably do me the most good. Can I pick my own teacher? I would chose Sheila Neilson, our retired BSF teaching leader.

3. What in this world breaks your heart?

The endless cycle of poverty and corrupt leaders. Good people try and help the situation, but unless their governments want to change, it seems hopeless. How can they be unmoved by the dying children, the starving people, inadequate water supply and housing? Why would they want to be known as leaders of such a failed country? They showcase their own incompetence and greed.

4. What is one item that symbolizes the times in which we live? Why?

The cell phone. Constant communication, information at your fingertips, and many times, mindless conversation. We are so impressed with our bad selves.

5. Share a favorite bumper sticker or t-shirt slogan.

I am not a fan of bumper stickers and I don’t wear t-shirts. I do remember Honey telling me about a bumper sticker he saw one time. It said “Doo Doo Occurs”. I thought that was humorous.

6. How do you like your spaghetti?

The only spaghetti I think is really good would be Honey’s meat sauce. It is a secret recipe. If I told you, he’d have to kill you AND me!!!!

7. What is one piece of advice you would give a recent, or soon to be recent, graduate?

Those were NOT the best years of your life, and if they were? Then I am truly sorry for you.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

My mind is still a little bit on Mother’s Day. Although it was the second time we celebrated the holiday without my Mom, it was not a grueling day. A couple weeks ago, when Mother’s Day was ramping up in the advertising, I had the thought that I don’t have a mother anymore. Then I recognized how silly that sounded and told myself “of COURSE you have a mother, you will always have a mother!” She just lives really far away.  No mother, SHEESH, pity party much?

IMG (14)

I have always loved this picture of my Mom and Mousey. I don’t think it was actually Mother’s Day, but it’s close enough!

I don’t need a holiday to remember her. I think about her all the time. Things she said, what she did, how she raised me, how she loved our children. She will always be my Mother. Always.

8 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    May 11, 2011 at 6:33 AM

    What a sweet picture. I agree…our mothers never truly leave us.

  2. sterlingsop said,

    May 11, 2011 at 9:57 AM

    I love your comments about your Mum and your picture is lovely to remember her and the good times by.

  3. warren said,

    May 11, 2011 at 10:20 AM

    #7 is so true and one that probably no 18 year olds (or 12-18 year olds) ever believe…

    That makes me think down a whole different road of how sad it is when kids get bullied and do extreme things. School sucks but if one can endure, it gets so much better. It makes me sad and yet hopeful that I can express that to my kids clearly..

    Sorry to be a downer…

  4. Donna said,

    May 11, 2011 at 10:22 AM

    I dread Mother’s Day. I miss my mom every.single.day. but Mother’s day is just a huge reminder of what I can’t do anymore. I can’t buy her presents. I can’t go to her house and visit. I can’t call her on the phone for advice. But I DO think about when we’re together again and all we’ll have to catch up on then.

  5. Debbie said,

    May 11, 2011 at 6:27 PM

    I enjoyed this. It seems as if many of us answered the same on #4. It is just soo true. Glad your mother’s day was a good one and that your focus is on your hope of what lies ahead. You will see her again, praise God! Blessings to you, Debbie

  6. auburnchick said,

    May 11, 2011 at 8:05 PM

    Oh my goodness…BSF…brought back memories. I attended for two years. I LOVED this Bible study!!!

    BTW, I love your advice to grads. Kids just have no idea the joys that await them after leaving school.

  7. deb said,

    May 12, 2011 at 7:11 AM

    With all the busyness last weekend, we postponed Mother’s Day….I will be able to let my mama know she’s appreciated and loved this weekend! I’m thankful she’s here in mind, body and spirit! .
    Did you hear about the little 4 year old who starved to death and was abused in Highland Park…that breaks my heart.
    So true about school days. Rough time, and made worse by the bullying and meanness so prevalent now.

  8. Marlene said,

    May 12, 2011 at 8:36 PM

    Amen on Bible learning with Sheila Nielson. Would LOVE it.
    We lived in Redford when we were first married
    😦 on Mother’s day. It is a sad day for those who have lost their mothers. Huge hole.
    LOVE this blog.


Leave a Reply

