Thoughts at Dark O’Clock

I have been up since dark thirty. I don’t know why. Even when I was sleeping, it was not good sleep.

I am tired of myself.

It is cold here again. That’s The Mitten for you. 87 one day, 46 the next. And the rain! Oh.My.Word.

Honey and I went to look at a cement guy’s work. As you know, we have had abominable luck when choosing people to do work for us. Honey is leaving no stone unturned in our quest for a properly installed new driveway. Our old driveway was properly installed, but when the plumber guys properly installed our new sewer line, it was a casualty of war. Friendly fire. A sacrifice for the greater good.

In a stroke of God’s provision, both home owners JUST HAPPENED TO be out in their yards, available to talk to Honey. One even took us around to his back yard to show us his colored, stamped concrete patio. That is when I learned that Honey has some plans for our backyard patio! Both of the homeowners had very favorable things to say about the concrete guy. Things like, he showed up when he said he would, his price was very comparable, they came in, got the job done, and were out of there in a timely fashion.  I am thinking this guy is the winner.

Yesterday was Mousey’s final game of lacrosse. Unfortunately, she was sick and missed school AND the game. She once again said it felt like she had swallowed a velociraptor. So unless she “plays up” to varsity again, she is finished for the season. She was a cute little LAX’er!

I did not intend for this post to be a list, but I evidently can’t help myself.

Abby took the freeway home from her first day of WORK! All by HERSELF!!!! Using the GPS, of course.

Jip the Farm Dog and I are going to our favorite flower place today to buy some foliage. I hope I don’t have to wear my winter coat and gloves. Because that is just wrong.

Oh! I forgot to mention that my Dad sold his house in Florida!!! WOO HOO!!!! He is ever so glad to have that off his hands! Thank you Lord for Canadians wanting a winter getaway!

Have a good day, because good is better than nice.

3 Comments

  1. Hat Chick said,

    May 17, 2011 at 7:02 AM

    Hope you feel better. We are having unseasonably good weather for Big State (other than the drought, I mean). Highs in the 80’s and low humidity, so I have been outside as much as possible before the blistering heat and boil arrive. Just wanted to stop in to say hi!

  2. caprilis said,

    May 17, 2011 at 8:45 AM

    YAY for Dad!!!!
    Woo hoo on getting a good lead on the concrete guy! And and even bigger woo hoo on Honey’s plans for the back patio!!

  3. deb said,

    May 17, 2011 at 8:15 PM

    I like your good is better than nice…so true! Wishing you a GOOD and long nights sleep.


Leave a Reply

