Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Thanks to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for thinking up some more questions for us to all answer!

1. What reveals more about a woman-her refrigerator or her purse?

I am going to say the purse. I put everything into my purse, so it all meets some particular need for me. Everyone at our house is in the fridge, and some things are specific for them. Therefore, I think what is in my purse is more revealing about me. It reveals that I always have gum, dental floss, my credit card, cash and license, kleenex, Burt’s Bees, and a barrette. I stand revealed before you!

2. When was the last time you went to the zoo? Where? What’s your favorite zoo animal?

2007 at The Detroit Zoo in Royal Oak, Michigan.

IMG (15)

We participated in the Walk For Wishes for the Make A Wish Foundation.

IMG_0002 (5)

The Boy was nominated by his hematologist, Dr. Boxer, to be a recipient of a Wish and carried a sign at the start of the walk. It said “Granting Wishes One Step at a Time”.

IMG_0003 (4)

He was getting feisty. There was one thing that was hilarious that day. We were all together, waiting for the ribbon to be cut and the walk to start. They were gathering all of the Wish Recipients to the front. They kept trying to get Abby to go up to the front because they assumed she was the Wish Recipient. She kept pointing to The Boy and saying “it’s him, NOT ME!”. We laughed about that for a long time.

IMG_0001 (5)

Our favorite animal exhibit that day was the prairie dogs, because they are so darn cute and busy! But I have no picture.

3. What social issue fires you up?

Illegal immigration.

Honey is a Canadian by birth and became a resident alien in 1987. He had to jump through MANY hoops to be able to live in this country, even though we had been married for 2 years.  My Mom had to sponsor Honey and sign a legal document declaring he could NEVER go on public assistance of any sort, she would have to support him. There was even the huge catch 22 of not being able to come over here until he already had a job, and not being able to be hired until he had residency. Lucky for my Mom, Honey has never been unemployed since we moved here. So I guess he has been a good risk. He became a proud American citizen in 1995.

We spent many hundreds of dollars, made many trips to Toronto and Detroit, and paid countless fees for all of the documents they require. I don’t resent all that we did to bring him over here, we did it because that was what you have to do. It is the law.  I don’t understand how people can illegally come here and receive all of the benefits that they do, complain about what they feel they are entitled to and not getting, and work illegally and get away with it for years. And I don’t care what nationality they are. Laws are there for a reason, and if one has to abide, ALL should abide. So I don’t have much sympathy for the illegal alien, where ever they came from. They are ILLEGAL.

4. Are you a coupon clipper? If so, are you extreme?

Not really. I love those prescription coo-pins from Target for $10, and every now and then I might use one for deodorant or shampoo, but I find I don’t usually buy the kind of things they have coo-pins for. Not the food anyway. We do use restaurant coo-pins though.

5. What is one of your favorite souvenirs brought back from your travels?

The shells we bring back from Florida. They just remind me of the fun we had. I don’t usually buy a souvenir.

6. Lemon meringue or key lime?

I am going to say lemon meringue. YUM.

7. What is the most beautiful word you know in any language?

Mama.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post.

I mentioned in question 2 that The Boy  was a recipient of a wish from Make A Wish. He decided that he wanted to go fishing in Alaska with his Dad. They went in August 2007, when he was 16, and his chronic ITP had been in remission for a year.

IMG_0004 (3)

Make a Wish arranged a wonderful trip. He and Honey had a GREAT time!!!

IMG_0002 (6)

They caught many fish,

IMG (16)

in many different ways.

IMG_0001 (6)

They talk about going back some day.

IMG_0005 (3)

Together.

Thanks for stopping by!

7 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    May 18, 2011 at 7:49 AM

    Alaska is on my list of places to see too…glad your boys had a great trip! What is ITP?

    We have shells in a pretty glass jar in our bathroom…they’re from our trips to Marco and I love the reminder they are of happy family trips, sunshine and the beach.

    Love your word!

    • caprik said,

      May 18, 2011 at 8:18 AM

      Idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura is an autoimmune bleeding disorder in which the immune system destroys platelets, which are necessary for normal blood clotting. Persons with the disease have too few platelets in the blood.

      He was diagnosed at 19 months, treated until he was 4 then had a splenectomy. He was “normal” for 9 years when it returned with a vengeance. He was then treated with a cocktail the nurses call Boxer’s Brew, after his hematologist/oncologist. It was a combination of a steroid, chemotherapy and an auto immune suppressant. It finally put him into a good remission. He does not have a normal platelet count anymore, but the platelets he has work pretty good, thank the Lord!

  2. auburnchick said,

    May 18, 2011 at 8:24 AM

    I agree with your feelings about immigration. I am a naturalized citizen…born in Canada but raised in the U.S. Although I did not have to jump through as many hoops as your husband, it was still a royal pain in my behind to get naturalized. I am thankful that we live in a country that is so generous, but it does seem unfair that taxpayers get stuck paying such a hefty price for others who circumvent the law to be here. Sigh.

  3. Donna said,

    May 18, 2011 at 8:26 AM

    Oh Honey!!! Don’t even get me started on illegal immigration!! I’m in Texas – and it’s definitely NOT PC to talk about it around here – but the whole thing irritates the begeebers out of me. My daughter is a teacher – we’re laying off teachers because we don’t have money in the budget for their salaries but on the same token, children of illegal aliens are GUARANTEED an education, even though their parents are getting paid under the table because they cannot legally hold a job!!

  4. Rachel Koekstst said,

    May 18, 2011 at 11:36 AM

    Make a Wish is a good cause hope it was fun!!

  5. Susan said,

    May 18, 2011 at 5:22 PM

    It looks like the fishing trip was full of great memories. Hope your son is doing well now. I enjoyed stopping by your blog. Have a good day!

  6. honey said,

    May 18, 2011 at 6:57 PM

    you sure about the lemon instead of key lime pie !!!!!! shocking to me.


Leave a Reply

