Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Ya’ll! I just returned from Virginia yesterday and I thought I would hop on the Hodgepodge wagon!

1. Have you ever been to the US capital-Washington DC? If so, what’s your favorite site? If not, what would you most like to see on a visit to that city someday in the future? Is it even on your list of places to visit?

We have! We went in 2005 and it was a very good trip! Mousey and I were just talking about how HOT is was that week. About 7 inches from the noon day sun hot. We stayed in Rockville, Maryland and took the Metro into the city every day. Our stop was Shady Grove. We were able to drive to some things like Mount Vernon and Arlington. We had bought the dvd of National Treasure for the trip and the kids wanted to see many of the sights that they had seen in the movie. It made it even more fun for them to see the Declaration of Independence, featured so prominently in the film.

I cannot pick just one favorite site from that trip. We saw too many moving, heartbreaking, inspiring things to only choose one. The World War Two Memorial had opened the year before and that was something to see. The Viet Nam Wall was moving, but what was especially heartbreaking were the two encounters with grey haired, weeping men, placing their fingertips on the names of soldiers obviously dear to them. I have never witnessed anything like it. We had tears in our eyes as well. We spent the better part of a day at The Holocaust Museum. It was very well done and I felt that we all carried a part of that with us with us for much longer than we expected. My favorite part of that day was at the very end. There was a screen that showed interviews of survivors, telling of their experiences in great detail. I will never forget one woman’s story, Gerda Weissmann Klein. She was so inspiring I came home and checked out her book from the library.

Washington D.C. will always be one of my favorite family trips.

2. When did you last attend a wedding? Are there any weddings on your summer calendar? Were you a summer bride? If you’re single, is summer the season of your dream wedding?

No weddings coming up, and I can’t believe the last wedding we went to was my Girl Cousin Lindsay and Robbie’s wedding a couple years ago! GO Team Levine!!! I am thinking we surely have been to another wedding, but I am ashamed to say I can’t remember! I was a fall bride.

3. What is your favorite way to eat strawberries?

As a topping over vanilla bean ice cream. YUM!

4. What is one thing you are especially looking forward to this summer?

Having our front yard and driveway restored. WOO HOO, no more hoopty yard!!!!!

5. Do you use/like the self checker at the grocery store?

I don’t particularly enjoy it unless I have under 5 items.

6. Share a favorite piece of common sense advice.

What you do speaks so loud

I cannot hear what you say."

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson ~

7. Barefoot, flip flops, tennis shoes, sassy sandals-your first choice for summertime?

Sandals, all the way.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post. All the way from 2005.

A picture from our Washington D.C. trip. This was Dubya’s house then.

 IMG (20)

Thank you Joyce for having us!

8 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    June 1, 2011 at 6:44 AM

    I forgot to mention The Holocaust Museum…definitely something to see and definitely something that stays with you!! Lovely family photo : )

  2. Amy said,

    June 1, 2011 at 8:09 AM

    looks like you had fun in DC. Yeah on the new drive way.. Love the strawberry idea..

  3. Mary said,

    June 1, 2011 at 11:28 AM

    The Holocaust Museum was very touching. I don’t know how anybody could come out there without being touched by it.
    The Spy Museum was also good. By the end, you’re looking around wondering if the person next to you is a spy!

  4. Laurie said,

    June 1, 2011 at 12:01 PM

    We had a Washington trip years ago when our girls were little. It was before the Vietnam or World War II memorials or the Holocaust Museum — all of which I’d like to see. The Lincoln Memorial has always been a favorite of mine.

  5. Susan said,

    June 1, 2011 at 12:14 PM

    You and I can eat our strawberries together. Love the way back photo from DC. Fun memories!

  6. CrysHouse said,

    June 1, 2011 at 4:08 PM

    I’m jealous that you have a yard. We currently have wheat–we planted it to establish a root system–and haven’t been able to start on grass yet.

  7. Marlene said,

    June 1, 2011 at 4:19 PM

    Welcome back. Missed you! Washington D.C. is on my bucket list. Love the picture!

  8. Susan said,

    June 6, 2011 at 10:24 PM

    Cute family photo! I’d love to visit Washington one day.


Leave a Reply

