Old News

I know I should be telling you all about my trip, but I am in no way prepared to do so at this time. There are a myriad of reasons for the delay, some good, some just unexplainable, and some due to the inevitable, after vacation dump.

I downloaded my pictures, but haven’t even looked at them yet. We had some strange computer difficulties that corrected themselves several hours later, strange. I had a mountain of laundry to do. My flowers needed some attention. You know, the usual.

I took these pictures the day before I left for Virginia. Also known as the day Noah wished he had started building his ark. We had over 4 inches of rain up here in The Mitten, all on that day, not including the rest of the days of rain we had that week.

We were a little waterlogged. Mousey said they kept them in classes, they didn’t want the kids crossing between buildings, because the creek was over the bridge. Quack.

We also have a creek that runs behind our house. I had been out there the day before, dragging some leaves, weeds and the trimmings of my miscanthius’ (spellcheck is telling me that is misspelled, but offering no suggestions) spring haircut out to the field that we use as a giant compost area. And before you tell me that we should not be doing this for some ethical reason, let me just say this, they cut the field with a giant bush hog once a month, and there is never any evidence of our carefully spread out garden waste when they are done. PLUS, we are not contributing our clippings to the landfill, and the field is a lush son of a gun so we are not hurting it any, and that’s all I have to say about that.

So anyway, I was back there and I looked down into the creek thinking I might see some sort of wildlife. I did not, but I saw the creek was high for it’s own self. About three inches compared to it’s usual trickle.

Here is a picture from my patio door the next day, after the Deluge of 2011.

001

003

That is many FEET of water!!

I have only seen the creek from my house on one other occasion, years ago when we experienced a major thaw after a major snow storm. It was freaky then too.

This time, major roads flooded, basements were ruined, people were stranded, and businesses had to close.

Weird.

1 Comment

  1. Marlene said,

    June 3, 2011 at 9:10 AM

    That isn’t a creek-it’s a river!!1 I have never seen rain like that in all my born days and nights!!!


Leave a Reply

