A Trip To The Big Town

The Schmenkman’s moved from Greensboro, N.C. to Virginia about 11 or so years ago. It’s a most loverly place, and looking out the front of her house you can see Skyline Drive, up in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Since her town is small, and not known to have all of the shopping we require, we usually just travel through it to get to where we want to go. I have been to the grocery store, the Goodwill, Big Lots, and heard a delightful story about the gas station/convenience store called Bo’s Belly Barn, which I am sorry to say has been renamed, but it will always be Bo’s to me.

I believe I may have mentioned that Schmenk had been ramping up her mosaic production. She has a website, here, and as of recently, has her work displayed at a local shop on Main Street. She took me by to see, and I told her it was my first trip downtown! She couldn’t believe she had never taken me before! It was very cute, lots of things to look at.

023

Here is the shop that sells her wares. And her wares were in the front window!

022

And in the side window!!!

018

She does lovely work. She may be a famous artist someday! But I will always remember the day she made her first mosaic. Sitting at Capri Deb’s kitchen table. Sighing and whining and complaining like nobody’s business!!! It is a very fond recollection!

017

Good job Schmenky! I am so proud of you!

6 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    June 7, 2011 at 6:43 AM

    Thank you… but just to be clear…. you do your share of sighing and whining when you mosaic too!

    • caprik said,

      June 7, 2011 at 7:26 AM

      Right you are Ken, but that first time you mosaiced, the crabbing was SPECTACULAR!

  2. deb said,

    June 7, 2011 at 7:01 AM

    Wow, they look FABULOUS! I have been to the downtown only once…to the german restuarant, a very cool hardware store, and a fabric store.

  3. CapriP said,

    June 7, 2011 at 4:03 PM

    May I have your autograph please?

  4. Marlene said,

    June 7, 2011 at 7:16 PM

    She is moving up BIGTIME!! How beautiful in the store windows!!! I better buy one before they are out of reach$$$$$!!!! I love people who can do things I could never do-whine whine!

  5. Laurie said,

    June 8, 2011 at 9:12 AM

    Way to go, Lisa.


Leave a Reply

