Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

I’m late to the party today!

1. Do you and your family enjoy camping? What do you enjoy most/like the least when it comes to family camping? When was the last time you camped?

Before I was married, I had camped exactly 1 time in my life. I went with my friend DawnSlater (don’t you always remember childhood friends with their entire name?) and her very large family to a campground that they went to many times a summer. Although I had fun with her, I remember thinking I was not much of a camper.

Fast forward about 20 years. Honey WAS a fan of camping. He planned our first camping trip when the kids were about 6, 4 and under 1 years old. Since we had no gear or protection from the elements, we rented what are called wood tents at a Yogi Bear camp ground sort of near our town. He then invited our entire Caregroup to came along. We had a BLAST. Which was a very good thing, or else it would have been my last camping trip. Ever. Camping=WORK

I still don’t consider myself a camper. But I loved getting to hang out with friends, and while I have never seen our children dirtier, they had the time of their lives!

After many years of renting the uncomfortable wood tents, we decided to buy a pop up camper. We sold it on Craig’s List 2 years ago, no one wanted to go camping anymore. While I was not really sad to see it go, and we were thrilled to be able to use that part of the garage again, I was a little nostalgic for all of the fun we had in it. The last time we camped was probably with our church in 2005 or 2006. I miss talking around the campfire and playing cards. The rest I can really do without!

2. Did you attend a summer camp when you were a kid? Is that a happy or not so happy memory?

I went to youth group camp with my church starting in jr. high, all through high school. Good old Camp Chitaqua in Ohio. We had enormous amounts of fun in spite of having to sit through multiple, boring, sermons a day and truly heinous living conditions!

Our family was just talking about this camp last week. Mousey’s camp money was due and it was a small fortune. I said I probably paid $35-50 dollars each summer to ride for hours in buses with no air conditioning, sleep in one giant room with 50-70 other girls with no air conditioning, eat horrid food  and enjoy those boring sermons, all in a pleasant non-air conditioned atmosphere. Ah, good times!!

3. Over the course of your life, what have you probably spent more time pondering than anything else?

Why certain people bug me almost to death. Lord, whatever lesson you want me to learn here, it’s taking a long time for me to get. And just when I think one gets removed, He installs another to make me want to rip off their arm and beat myself to death with it. Really, it’s an extremely small, but potent, percentage of the population!

4. Which of the seven natural wonders of the world would you most like to see? There are many lists of ‘wonders’ but this is the standard natural wonder list-Mount Everest, The Great Barrier Reef, The Grand Canyon, Victoria Falls, The Harbor of Rio de Janerio, Paricutan Volcano and The Northern Lights.

I think I would like to see the Grand Canyon. Honey went with the older kids while I stayed in the hotel with 7 month old Mousey, who had a very hurty ear infection.

5. What was your first real job?

I worked at Burger King. Oh yes I did! Just for a couple of months, then I had to quit because it was volleyball season. Really, I don’t know which of those statements is stranger for me.

6. Lemonade or Sweet tea…which do you prefer on a hot summer day?

How about unsweetened tea? I’ll add my own Splenda and lemon slice.

7. What is something that always brings a smile to your face?

Talking about our memories of when the kids were young. I have the family I always wanted. And that is a kiss on the cheek from God, every day.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I am going to revisit this camping thing, here and in additional posts. We had SO much fun with friends from different times in our life and I would like to go Way Back and have another look. But this picture is one of the few we have of our camper, and it’s a keeper!

IMG (21)

Classic NutHatch.

Thanks to Joyce to having us all over!

10 Comments

  1. Nan C said,

    June 8, 2011 at 8:00 AM

    I’ve been looking for pix of The Boy in his early teen years because that’s when I hadn’t seen him for years. I guess this is one of them. 🙂

  2. Joyce said,

    June 8, 2011 at 11:07 AM

    I plan to re-visit my camping memories too. I loved your answer to #5…that made me smile : )

  3. Becki said,

    June 8, 2011 at 12:14 PM

    Ahhhh, Camp Chautauqua… the memories! You hit the nail on the head on every horrid thing (except for having to put dresses/skirts on for every church service and that they were all morning, and in the evening) but we had such fun in spite of it. The camp still exists and is far better than anything we had. They’ve even got a nostalgia page on their website with group pics from the 60’s. We also went to family camp there and those little cabins were worse than the big rooms we stayed in but again, what great memories!

    • caprik said,

      June 8, 2011 at 1:21 PM

      I TOTALLY forgot to mention we had to wear dresses for all of the preaching!!!! Oy!

  4. CrysHouse said,

    June 8, 2011 at 2:47 PM

    I totally get your #3. I have one particular family (two sisters) who seem to be in my life in some form or fashion no matter what I do. Where’s the lesson, Lord?

  5. Rae Babe said,

    June 8, 2011 at 3:41 PM

    Yogi Bear camps were the BEST! My family always talks about how many super memories we have of Camp DeHostwaeler! Thank you, forever friends – we love you all! ❤

  6. Donna said,

    June 8, 2011 at 3:48 PM

    I love that saying and I hope to remember it always….God’s kisses on our cheek. That’s exactly what they are – little blessings to help us along the way. Now that’s put a smile on my face!

  7. deb said,

    June 8, 2011 at 4:30 PM

    We used to have a pop up camper when I was a kid….almost forgot about that. I think its funny that the only one not making a face is The Boy….that’s a switch.

  8. Amy said,

    June 8, 2011 at 8:02 PM

    love the camping pictures and stories.. Have a great night.

  9. Marlene said,

    June 9, 2011 at 5:00 PM

    Ah ha ha. Love the camp picture. I might give this blog idea a spot this week on my own blog.


Leave a Reply

