Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Another Wednesday, another list of questions. Thanks, as always, to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for having us all.

1. What is one thing on your bucket list? If you don’t have a bucket list let’s pretend you do.

  I am not a big dreamer, and whenever I say “I wish…” Honey always says “Really? I wouldn’t waste a wish on that”. He’s usually right too, I really wouldn’t waste a wish on wishing it wasn’t so hot or something equally as mundane. Hey, there is a post idea, what I WOULD waste a wish on!!!

Ok, back to the bucket list. What would I like to do before I die. Hmmmm. How about love on grandchildren? And see them graduate.

2. What makes a good dad?

Being there. Loving them, liking them, and building into their lives. Teaching them the Way that they should go, so when they are old they will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

3. Are you afraid of insects? Which ones?

I don’t know if these count as an insect, but I am counting them. Bedbugs. Because evidently, THEY NEVER DIE! And they infest your house, and they have become immune to insecticide, and they are taking over the world!!!!!!!

4. We’re barbecuing…what’s on the grill at your house?
The usual, burgers, chicken, steak. Yum!

5. Do you believe that playing is more important than winning?

I do. The winning mentality in extremely tiresome. Our children did not play organized sports growing up, but they were around those who did. It seemed to me that those most heavily immersed in the sports culture were the poorest sports of all. I realize that we are not a competitive family, we don’t usually even keep score when we play games, but it would appear that playing for the fun of it is not valued.

6. Do you tan? Use self tanners? Visit tanning salons? See your dermatologist at least once a year?

I lay in the sun and read when we are on vacation, but if I wasn’t reading, I probably wouldn’t be laying. Because it would be HOT and BORING. Someone recently asked me what I had been doing, as I looked so tan. My sad answer was “weeding”.

My doctor, whom I DESPISE for many, many reasons, asked me if I used sun block. I said no (except on vacation), and she notified me that I have considerable sun damage. She was looking at my freckles and moles I guess. Naturally she would be worried about my sun damage, when she could not be LESS concerned about the back pain that is ALWAYS with me.

7. Five years ago I would never imagine that today I would_______________.

…have a daughter who navigates the freeways to get to her 40 hour a week job,  a son who goes to work without me having to wake him up, multiple times, have another daughter playing lacrosse, for goodness sake! Be enduring a front and back yard that look like a war zone, and pressing on after losing my Mom. She had such a strong will to live, we just never imagined that she wouldn’t.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Sometime yesterday, half our tree broke.

009

It was hit by lightening last year and lost a big branch, but this one fell unprovoked.

013

Thank the Lord it didn’t land on anything. Like the shed, or the swing set.

011

Doesn’t it look like the tree is screaming?

014

It is very broken.

015

VERY busted.

037

It is half a tree. It’s coming down this morning at 9.

021

And while the lumberjacks are here, they are taking out these babies as well.

023

I hope we can get used to seeing more of this road.

Have an unbroken day.

 

6 Comments

  1. sterlingsop said,

    June 15, 2011 at 8:01 AM

    That’s a sad tree 😥

  2. sterlingsop said,

    June 15, 2011 at 8:03 AM

    As an aside (forgive me for putting it as comment here but I can’t see your email address!). How did you get the buttons for leaving comments from twitter and facebook? I saw a post from WordPress the other day but didn’t have time to do it then and now I’ve got time I can’t find the instructions!

    Thanks 🙂

  3. CrysHouse said,

    June 15, 2011 at 10:04 AM

    I’ll bet cutting those trees really opens up your yard. At least, I’m trying to think positively 😉

  4. caprilis said,

    June 15, 2011 at 10:14 AM

    Stupid Bradford pear trees!
    And once those shrubs are removed you can have concrete poured on that side of the pool so you can have one of those nice pool covers which will save Honey sooooooooo much work every year!

  5. Joyce said,

    June 15, 2011 at 2:07 PM

    Sorry about your tree…we get used to our view and taking out a tree changes things. I hate the expense associated with removing trees…it seems like such a waste when I know its not but you don’t get a lot to show for the money. Not like if you used that amount to buy furniture or something concrete. But, its part of the joys of home maintenance I suppose.

    Have a great day!

  6. Marlene said,

    June 17, 2011 at 8:42 AM

    Well now, your tree and my tree have something in common-sorry!


Leave a Reply

