A LIST After a Glut of Sassy Posts

I am not even ashamed to give you a list!

I long to tell you many unrelated things.

There is much to tell.

Not everything will make The List.

Here we go.

1. Today is the last day of Mousey’s junior year of high school. As usual, at least usual for these last 3 weeks of the semester, she missed her bus and I drove her. She likes to make a “little” sandwich for breakfast. The “little” sandwich would feed an Olympic wrestler. And she can eat it in about 3 minutes.

On a side note, how did my little snuggle bunny, Muggins Q. Mouse get to be such a big girl?

A big girl who goes to lunch with friends after a half day of school, and the friend drives? And asks to go to Applebee’s with another friend tomorrow night, and the friend drives? And is going to Value World tomorrow with Button and another group of friends, and someone will drive? Where did that Little Muggins go? I ask you, where?

 025

2. We had a meeting of the Mosiacian Tribe yesterday at Capri Deb’s house. I have no pictures, therefore I have no solid proof, but I CAN tell you that I finished a mosaic I started last winter. It’s good to be a finisher. As opposed to a starter and languisher.

We are meeting again next Thursday to mosaic again and grout, so I will show you what I made then.

3. I believe I have mentioned that our front yard is all hoopty because of the Sewer Debacle of 2010. I also mentioned yesterday that our backyard endured the calamity of a broken Bradford Pear tree. Our pool is not opened, the outside furniture is not all in place, and we are trying to get prices to fix our stoopid brick paver patio down by the afore mentioned pool. Clearly, our back yard is not much more socially acceptable.

Poor Honey is feeling mightily challenged. Plus, things keep BREAKING! The shower head, the garage door opener thingy, the pool pump, the power washer, hoses, The Ab-Cat’s air conditioning in her van decided not to work AND the front wheel of her wheelchair quit her. What up with Abby’s wheels?? Girlfriend needs her WHEELS!!

We are in line to get our new driveway sometime this month in the twenties. We thought this would have already been a done deal by now, but the 40 days and nights of rain we had this spring have the concrete guys all backed up. Until we get the concrete, we are a little hog tied to proceed out front.

We shifted our energy to the back because we need to have someplace to rest our weary eyes from all of the hoopty. Just opening the pool is always a huge improvement. The pool cover is always a cesspool, not to mention a huge eyesore. So Honey opened the pool. It’s not there yet, but already a little less hoopty. As a bonus, it is supposed to rain today. Free water!!

4. Honey and I spread out the pool cover so he could power wash it. He then discovered that the jimmy rigging he applied last week to the power washer was not holding up (he is waiting for the part to come in the mail) and he switched to the hose, which felt the need to break a couple of times before he finished.

It was at this time I went to get the mail. As I came up the drive to tell Honey that the part he ordered to fix the garage opener had ARRIVED, I walked on the slimy pool cover, fell down, and now just below my knee is very hurty. Honey said he also put on a show for the neighbors by trying not to fall on several occasions.

5. I am very thankful to tell you that my hurty shin bone does not hurt as bad today as it did last night. I was very concerned that I had joofered myself up good. I was walking very gimpily.

I will now be able to go to the eye doctor with The Boy this morning. It is our time. He has been strongly asking to go for months now.

The end. Prayers welcomed.

7 Comments

  1. Cindy Stratton said,

    June 16, 2011 at 10:21 AM

    YOU ARE A HOT MESS ! ! ! ! ha ha ha ha ha

  2. Laurie said,

    June 16, 2011 at 12:12 PM

    O.K. — I’ve been reading your blob for sometime, I just have to ask about the word “hoopty”. It is not in the Nuthatch Dictionary so can you please give me a definition and word origin?

    • caprik said,

      June 17, 2011 at 5:47 AM

      It is not a NutHatch word. I have just heard it. A friend used it like something is messed up or slapped together. She was talking about how her husband had just tried his best to do things himself, but didn’t do a good job. She said “No more hoopty house!”
      These are the dictionary definitions:

      of poor quality, displeasing.
      an unattractive (e.g. rusted, dented,) undependable, old automobile.

      Not a good thing!!!!

  3. deb said,

    June 17, 2011 at 5:51 AM

    Things can only get better, CK (or so it seems)! And, I ask….why can’t we remember to take photos more often!

  4. Marlene said,

    June 17, 2011 at 8:41 AM

    Oh yikes, who knew-should have read this sooner so I could pray sooner!! So sorry-hope your leg and…back don’t hurt and things get fixed up in a hurry!

  5. warren said,

    June 17, 2011 at 9:00 AM

    Sorry but I just laughed at your “fall” language…hurty and joofered etc…hilarious!


Leave a Reply

