Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hey Guys! Time for the Hodgepodge. Many thanks to Joyce from This Side of the Pond for gathering us together.

1. Summer’s here-whoohoo! What’s your favorite sight, sound, AND smell associated with summer?

My favorite sight would be purty flowers. Since I have become such an early riser, I hear all kinds of happy birds in the morning. I especially like the mourning doves because The Kids always liked them and called them Swing Set Birds. Barbeque smells yummy, so does my Japanese honeysuckle, it’s blooming right now as we read.

011

2. Fireflies or lightning bugs…what are they called in your neck of the woods?

I think the term is used interchangeably here in The Mitten.

3. What is something from the past week that reminded you of your childhood?

The Boy and I went to Sears to get new glasses last week. They were having a handy dandy sale, 2 pair of glasses for $99. The salesgirl said you could choose from ones in a particular area, or ones with an orange tag. There was quite a large selection, but The Boy had a particular look he was going for. The particular look was not part of the handy dandy selection. Of course. They were part of the one pair for $189 selection.

I then felt the need to tell him how it was when I was a girl. The insurance said you had to choose a pair with a green dot. I chose a pair with a green dot. The End.

Luckily for him, the salesgirl said she could offer us the bonus of giving him the 2 for $99 deal and we would only have to pay the difference of his higher priced, particular frames, so he got another pair for free. Sort of, like.

Then it was my turn. I chose the ones with the orange tags. It’s too late to change me now.

Sears called today to tell me they are in. I’ll show you when I get them!

4. Define ‘the good life’.

I thought about this question a lot last night. I asked Honey what he thought. He sent me to Ecclesiastes. Then I asked The Boy. He just said Jesus. Then grace, then some big words that I don’t use. I knew the Lord was the key ingredient to “the good life”, but I felt I should have a verse to back it up.

I know many people see “the good life” as a sort of trouble free existence, no hard responsibilities, full of blessings, material gifts like wealth, homes, cars, and possessions, robust health, the ability to travel and do as you please. All those things can certainly be a part of the good life, but they are not the defining things. Can you really even appreciate all that bounty unless you have never had, or been stripped of it?

In James 1 it says

2Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. 5If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. 6But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. 7That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; 8he is a double-minded man, unstable in all he does.

That verse is completely opposite of what the world says is “the good life”  It talks about trials, perseverance, developing your faith. Hard things, not a life of leisure and comfort. I especially like this part:

“4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

It says you have to go through the hard stuff before you can get the good stuff. Being mature, complete, not lacking in anything? THAT would be the good life for me!

I also like this verse, because I always like to know what is required of me.

Micah 6:8  He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

I’m not there yet. It’s a goal. Following Jesus IS the good life.

5. Tell us what we’d see if you took a snapshot of your desk/work space?

Well, here’s where the magic happens! All the necessary things computer, camera and cord, kleenex, idiom book, Bible, some pictures for Way Back When-sday. Plus, there is a ceiling fan that you can’t see. I like for everywhere I go these days to have a ceiling fan.

010

6. Peaches or watermelon…yes, you have to choose.

A good peach is dreamy, but sometimes it’s hard to get a good one. And a mealy, bad, peach is yukky.

7. Ever been skinny dippin’? Is that too much for the Wednesday Hodgepodge? Rest assured we won’t need details…unless of course you feel you must but remember, this is a family friendly blog so keep it G rated.

No, I have never been that brave! It doesn’t sound appealing anyway.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Yesterday was The Boy’s birthday. The night before, he received a special treat from Button. She works at our friendly, neighborhood, Carvel’s and made it for him! It was SCRUMTRULESCENT!!!!! We all got a piece, then we watched episodes of Castle from the library, because we are all pretty wild around here.

003

Thanks Button, for being so sweet to The Boy! And for the cake, WE LIKE CAKE!!!

Thanks again, Joyce!

8 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    June 22, 2011 at 7:46 AM

    I like CAKE!
    Considering the trials a blessing is a very hard thing to do.

    • caprik said,

      June 22, 2011 at 9:04 AM

      I don’t enjoy the trials either, but the outcome can be rewarding. Or at LEAST a lesson learned.

  2. Joyce said,

    June 22, 2011 at 7:49 AM

    Happy Birthday to your boy! I was just wishing last night we had a ceiling fan in our bedroom-we have ac but I am still hot. The air is so still plus that pesky M word.

    How funny-my girls called morning doves swingset birds too…we had a pair that lived atop our swingset.

  3. Marlene said,

    June 22, 2011 at 8:00 AM

    I love your comments on the good life. So different than the world sees it. Your desk is so…..so….neat!!!! Now I am embarassed to put mine on ha ha.
    I have that honeysuckle too and it is in full bloom right now.

  4. warren said,

    June 22, 2011 at 9:43 AM

    Never been skinny dipping? You have a pool in your back yard don’t you? It’s not dangerous that way!

  5. Lauri said,

    June 23, 2011 at 6:21 AM

    Found you from Wed Hodgepodge. I really love your answer to the “good life.” That cake looked pretty cool. Also, I love the title to your blog. I need that title too. With 4 kids, we have lots of whining here.
    Have a good day.

  6. Angie said,

    June 24, 2011 at 10:22 AM

    Great, thoughtful answers. I agree with your “good life” answer. I said something a little more simplistic, but with the idea, it’s not about our circumstances.

    Yummy looking cake!

    Oh, to have a tidy desk! Very lovely.


Leave a Reply

