Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Many thanks to Joyce for inviting us to her Fourth of July Suarez!

1. What makes you stand to your feet and cheer?

When Mousey was winning her event in swimming, when an underdog is pulling ahead, when someone does something really well, when they have the veterans stand up to be honored. Probably when we see our hoopty yard  finished!!!!!!!

2. What’s your favorite patriotic song?

How about God Bless America? And man, does our country need some guidance.

3. Do you believe that opposites attract? If you have a significant other are you opposites?

For whatever reason, I think they do. But there needs to be some common ground in there somewhere or else I don’t see how it can work.

When Honey and I met, we were very much opposites. He was more organized and methodical, I was not. He’s a planner, and I am not. He was on time, and I was not. He was a very hard worker, and I was not. He was more of a worrier, and I was not so much.

I was more flexible. That’s it. It’s all I brought to the table.

But we did share common ground. Our faith, and commitment to our marriage and our family. We learned how to pull together, not apart. I loosened him up, and he tightened me. We both needed it. We still approach things very differently, but we have accepted that the way the other operates is not necessarily wrong.

I like to compare us to two jagged stones that were thrown together in a bag. Over the years we have banged together, been grinded down, nipped here and there and have smoothed each other’s rough edges. There are still pokey things sometimes, but for the most part, our stones fit together nicely, like a mosaic.

4. You’re going to get a behind the scenes look someplace…where would you like that someplace to be?

I can’t think of one darn answer here. I am going to have to see what you all said.

5. How far would you have to travel to ride a carousel (merry-go-round)?

I heard the Livonia Spree was around, maybe there? Cedar Pointe in Sandusky, Ohio is about 3 hours from here.  Other than that, I have no idea.

6. When was the last time you saw fireworks? What was the occasion? Do you enjoy fireworks?

Probably last year out at my Dad’s. They have them every year for Fourth of July out on the lake where he lives. We all pile onto his boat and head on out. As a matter of fact, we are going out to see them this Saturday. I really do like fireworks, I remember going to Bell Creek as a kid and thinking they were magical. Oohhing and Ahhhing is part of the fun!

7. Of all the ‘beauty products’ you own, what item do you consider to be the most overpriced?

I guess I would say the Arbonne. It’s the most expensive product I use. I am fairly low maintenance.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

For many summers, we camped with our dear friends, The Hostlers. Various campgrounds in Michigan and Indiana, and for a few summers we rented lake houses. This one was on Black Lake in Onaway, Michigan. Way up the Mitten, close to Mackinac.

It was SO MUCH FUN!

There is The Boy, Med Tech Autumn, Nurse Lauren, Mousey-Lou (diggin’ the Telly Tubby pjs, HA!), and Ab-Cat in 1998.

IMG_0002 (9)

This cottage was very log-ish. I remember thinking when we came home that I was glad to look at white walls.

IMG_0003 (6)

We stayed at this cottage twice.

IMG_0004 (5)

The Kids played, rolled down the big hill to the lake, swam, made crafts, ate smores, played games…

IMG (25)

The owners sold it, so we had to find a new place. There’s Rae Babe and her honey, Jonafin (he’s the best!).

IMG_0001 (9)

At night, the sky was so dark and clear. I have never seen stars like that in my life. Ever.

IMG_0005 (5)

The Kids played in this boat for hours. They were GREAT players! Very elaborate situations. Someone was always in peril, in need of a rescue, imaginations ran wild. I think sharks were involved.

IMG_0001 (11)

We buried them all in the sand, mostly for the photo op. They were all complaining because they had to hold their heads up for so long.

IMG (26)

Freedom at last!

IMG_0002 (10)

I found this in Mousey’s closet. One of the crafts The Kids made. On the back it had her name and Black Lake, and more angel buttons.

 001

Memories of those trips will always be so sweet, remembered so fondly.

Long live Dehostwaeler Camp!

7 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    June 29, 2011 at 7:25 AM

    Oh yes, cheering for a swimmer is always exciting. But maybe you have to be a swim parent to understand that one. 🙂 Love your “camp” photos. Great memories!

  2. Sheena said,

    June 29, 2011 at 8:38 AM

    Your camp pic are SO fun!

    Hope you have a great 4th!

  3. June 29, 2011 at 9:43 AM

    Wonderful memories of Camp Dehostwaeler!! I don’t remember the kids fighting either — did I block it out or were they really that good together?!? 🙂

    Loved your analogy of stones rubbing together in a bag! That’s how I feel about Jonafin (he IS the BEST!), too!

    Love you and your family! We MUST get together at least once this summer — how’s August lookin’ for you?!?

  4. Amiee said,

    June 29, 2011 at 11:01 AM

    I like your example of the “two jagged stones thrown together in a bag”. Never thought of it that way, but it works 🙂

  5. Angie said,

    June 29, 2011 at 12:09 PM

    I, too, loved the two jagged stones thrown together. Amen to that one!

    We just talked around the dinner table last night, that our dream would be to see the Boston fireworks from a boat. Something about the reflection on the water just seems neat!

    What a fun camp! I’d love to have family/friends to make those kind of memories with. We take an annual vacation every October with my parents. I might include a memory making idea this year, based upon your daughter’s bag. What a great idea!

  6. Marlene said,

    June 29, 2011 at 3:01 PM

    Love the description of your marriage! And your 1998 camp pics.

  7. Lynn Marie said,

    June 30, 2011 at 5:17 AM

    What fun photos!


Leave a Reply

