Another Garden Walk

The Peanuts Champ  invited me on another garden walk. It was put on by The Trailwood Garden Club, the group my Mom belonged to for many years. She also invited her Back Door Neighbor. The three of us set out!

The first house had much going on! It had mostly been converted to a garden, not too much grass. There was a rock walkway around the entire yard, so you could see it from all angles. This was taken from the back side.

005

My knowledge of flower identification is sketchy. A combination of hearing my Mother talk flower talk, and my own limited experience. Since I run with a garden-y crowd, I’m sure one of them will jump in and correct me if I’m mistaken!

This astilbe was most loverly. Feathery, pinkish, delightfulness.

003 

I had bee balm once. I love bee balm. They have a LOT of bee balm. I want their bee balm.

008

My Mom once gave me some lamb’s ear, also known as nature’s toilet paper. Our children learned that on a field trip hike at The Howell Nature Center. It’s quite possible they remember nothing else. I think I would like to have some more lambs ear, it’s so soft to touch. Then our children will know the name of one thing in the garden!

007

This hosta was DELICIOUS! I want one just like it. Do you have one I can score Schmenk?

009

This house had very nice pots. The Peanuts Champ even asked the owners where they got there pots. They said where ever they happened upon them. The Peanuts Champ was lusting after all those pots. Or coveting. Take your pick, but she had her eye on them.

010

From the front.

011

The Back Door Neighbor and I were taking many pictures. Mostly of the same things! Great minds think alike.

012

A lambs ear path in a crack!

013

A view from the patio. There’s the delicious hosta in the pot.

018

This was my other view all day. Howdy, Ladies!

019

Since I forgot to get a new picture, I totally cheated by lifting this picture from last years garden walk excursion! They are still recognizable. The Back Door Neighbor told me a funny story. She said she wanted to make sure she didn’t wear the same thing she wore last year, so she checked last years post on my blob!!!! LOVE IT!!!

There they are, my co-walkers, The Peanuts Champ and the differently attired this year, Back Door Neighbor.

077

Here we are at the second house. This house had been on the walk in a previous year. They called it The Fairy House, because there had been fairys hidden everywhere. The owner must have changed things up because I saw no fairys this time.

Loved this window box. Stuffed full of sweet potato vines.

021

Color pops everywhere.

024

Mmmm.

025

To be continued. I had to stop somewhere!

4 Comments

  1. peanuts champ said,

    June 30, 2011 at 1:33 PM

    I have Lamb’s ear that I will share with you.

  2. caprilis said,

    June 30, 2011 at 4:22 PM

    I might have a similar looking hosta… kinda looks like ‘guacamole’

  3. Marlene said,

    June 30, 2011 at 4:26 PM

    I had Lamb’s ear and it is gone. Where did it go? I made a whole wreath out of it once. These gardens are be you tee ful!! Wouldn’t it be nice to have everything so big and lush and neat and well……flowery. Thanks for sharing.

  4. deb said,

    June 30, 2011 at 8:56 PM

    I love that first house’s garden…they are passionate about their flowers!


Leave a Reply

