Another Garden Walk-Part 2

Back to the gardens~ We are still at the ‘no longer the fairy house’. She had hydrangeas! It is a deep desire of mine to have a hydrangea. One that lives. And blooms. She had multiple colors, which seems almost like magic to me considering all I can do with a hydrangea is kill it.

026

Another color and a cute bird bath. We have no bird bathing apparatus in our yard. Perhaps we could get one.

027

Blue and purple on the same bush. It’s magic, I tell you! And a purty lily.

028

I loved this picture. Everything about it, but especially the apple green glass ball and the fern-y thing. Anyone care to tell me the name of the fern-y thing?

029

She also had a sitting area. Looks so relaxing!

572

The Peanuts Champ wanted a picture of this. Maybe she would like to duplicate it in the future. SO cute!

573

I think this is a wave, and I have seen waves before, but never this color with the green outside edge. I heart it.

568

Pretty purple deck pot. I have that tall purple plant this year! I love it. Maybe next year I could put it with other plants, mine stands alone. Like the cheese.

574

I have to tell you something here. When I was loading my pictures onto the computer, the dang ‘puter shut down before the pictures were all loaded. When I was able to view them, some of the pictures were 1/2 there, and some were blank. So I can’t show you other beautimous things, or one I remember taking of The Peanuts Champ smelling the stem of a popcorn plant, that smells just like popcorn. It really does.

After much complaining to Honey, he suggested I take the chip thingy out of the camera and reload it that way. Which I did. Even though it downloaded over 600 pictures that we already have downloaded on our computer. Most of the lost ones were there, and all of the 1/2 pictures were. The popcorn plant and a couple of others I remember taking are gone with the technology wind. May they rest in peace.

I didn’t take any pictures at the third house. I spent most of my time there visiting with another garden walker, who just happened to be all three of our kids kindergarten teacher.

After our third garden, we decided to eat. We went to Red Olive. Which always reminds me of reindeers. You know, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, and Olive, the Other Reindeer.

The last 2 houses were over in our neck of the woods. On to the fourth house. It didn’t have many flowers at all. It seemed like mostly crops to me. As anyone who knows me can tell you, the farmer gene did not make it down to me. That is Honey’s department.

I did learn one thing at this house I did find interesting. They had apple trees that grew different types of apples on different branches. Of the SAME tree! I did not know that could be done. I’ll bet Laura and Almanzo Wilder knew that, because they were known for their apple growing skills over there in Mansfield, Mo.

I have no pictures of house 4 though.

On to house 5, also known as the last house. A lot of these pictures were lost in the whole incomplete downloading episode. It was 3 acres, which sounds less like a fun hobby, and more like a full time job to me.

They had hairy grasses, which I love.

576

I think I had this coleus last year. Isn’t it handsome?

577

I thought Mrs. Schmenkman could use one of these. Without the cow skull.

579

Much greenery here. Back Door Neighbor attends church with these gardeners, so she gave me a little more information than the average bear got in their little garden walk flyer. They called their home Weather Kissed, and somewhere we saw the initials A.M.D.G. and I wondered what that meant. Back Door Neighbor said she had just heard it, but had already forgotten it. Sounds like my mind!

Anyway, she sent me this e-mail the next day:

AMDG is an abbreviation of the Latin phrase “As maiorem Dei gloriam” and means “to the greater glory of God”. 

So I guess that was the gardener’s reason for creating loverly gardens!

581

While at this house, I saw 2 of my Mom’s good friends, and fellow garden club members, Judy and Pam. It was a little bittersweet, but very nice to see them!

This was a big pretty bush, anyone know what it is? Anyone? Buhler, Buhler?

583

They always have refreshments at the last garden, of which I did not partake, having just been at the reindeer place. They also always have a perennial/annual sale. Last year I bought a hyacinth bean plant and I loved it muchly. I did harvest the beans in the fall, just like Schmenky told me, and then I put them in a super safe place, that I have not found yet. So I bought another, plus some sort of variegated grass. Here they are

001

The grass is a little banged up, but I could do that myself just planting it.

I have to show you the newest member of our garden. I bought it on the last trip of the season at The Favorite Flower Place with The Peanuts Champ last week. I can’t remember it’s name, but The Champ says it is a succulent, which is a truly heinous word, in my opinion. I guess that means it does not require much water. It is so CUTE! All pretty flowers during the day, then in the evening, they either close up or die, and then pop out again the next day!

002

Three, 3, th-ree colors in one pot! She’s a beaut!

004

Thanks for walking through the gardens with us! Until next year.

9 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    July 1, 2011 at 7:02 AM

    “ferny thing” = Japanese painted fern… I have plenty, can share.
    “Big pretty bush” = Oak leaf HYDRANGEA!
    Your last plan t= Portulaca, commonly known as moss rose

    I don’t have an office :-/

  2. peanuts champ said,

    July 1, 2011 at 7:03 AM

    The hanging plants we bought are portulacas. I was so sad the first evening when I looked at my plants. I thought I had picked a dud or had killed it or something. Now I look forward to seeing the blooms each morning! It was fun reliving the walk on your blog.

  3. deb said,

    July 1, 2011 at 7:31 AM

    I have plenty of Japanese Painted Fern to share too! You saw them yesterday….come and get them any time.

  4. Cindy Stratton said,

    July 1, 2011 at 10:13 AM

    Beautiful colors — the sitting area is so cozy and comfortable looking! That fern you asked about – is it a Zebra Fern???

  5. Robin said,

    July 1, 2011 at 8:21 PM

    Love the hydrangeas. We have a house near us that must have 8 or 10 “bushes” of hydrangeas. They are all bright blue! He works on them every single day. They are gorgeous…something to do with the acid in the soil. My one and only attempt at hydrandgeas was extremely unsuccessful! Beautiful pictures!

  6. Amiee said,

    July 1, 2011 at 8:45 PM

    I LOVE that sitting area! Makes me want grab a good book and just relax.

    Hydrangeas are so beautiful. Our neighbors used to have multi-colored ones. They need a certain amount of sunlight, which we don’t have in our yard. We have too much shade.

    I did not realize that different apples could grow on the same tree either. How strange!

  7. Back Door Neighbor said,

    July 1, 2011 at 10:10 PM

    Beautiful pictures of our garden walk. What a nice way to spend a summer evening!

    Please harvest some more “beans” from your new hyacinth bean plant, I would love to try growing it next year. Guess what? I have some of those beans from last year in a safe place too…..

  8. Marlene said,

    July 2, 2011 at 7:52 AM

    Well Ferris, I loved the garden walk. They all make me kind of jealous huh? I have deer, rabbits and other varmits that take their toll on my plants. I like PROFUSE, which these gardens are!!!
    I do love my plants though and I love your new one.

  9. Joni McCarthy said,

    July 14, 2011 at 10:49 PM

    Well I just finished reading all your July posts. Just makes me miss talking to you in person with all your funny expressions. Looking at all these beautiful pictures of other people’s gardens just make want to blow up my yard and start all over. My house could be on the garden walk too… for ugly gardens. I would win the prize. But I like your pics.


Leave a Reply

