Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Oh, I am lazy this morning!

Got up late, poking around, reading blobs, just starting my post.

Here we go.

1. What is the most useful book in your house?

When the kids were young, I would have said a handy dandy little book I received from Girl Cousin Kay at my baby shower. It was called Dr. Mom, and it answered all those little questions that would crop up. Now days, you would just Google them. I don’t refer to that book anymore, and I see that it is no longer even on the bookshelf. I do know that I wore the cover right off it!

The only book that I continually refer to is the Bible. Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth. It is useful for instruction, among other things.
2. What’s worse-being too hot or too cold?

I think it’s worse to be too hot, as I usually am these days. You can always add layers to get warm, but nudity is not socially acceptable.
3. Share something that made you smile this past weekend.

Mousey and The Boy returned from camp in Alabama on Saturday, that made me smile! My chicks are all back in the nest again! I was ever so happy to hug their necks.
4. How do you like your hamburgers? Or don’t you?

We have some discussions about this in our household. Honey likes his burgers all doctored up, I do not. He likes the spices mixed in, not just sprinkled on top, all I like is salt and pepper. We are unequally yoked.
5. What’s your summer beach read? If it’s not summer in your part of the world then tell us what book you’re reading in front of the fire while sipping hot cocoa.

I have read several books already this summer. I read Bossy Pants by Tina Fey. It was HILARIOUS, but HIGHLY inappropriate in places. I started a series featuring Miss Julia. Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind, and Miss Julia Takes Over by Ann B. Ross. That name reminded me of the woman who played the maid, Alice, from The Brady Bunch. I even looked to see if her picture was on the back. Then I remembered her name was Ann B. Davis. Those confusing Ann B.’s!  The books are sweet and funny and sort of remind me of The Mitford books.There are quite a few of them too. I keep forgetting to tell my friend Rae Babe about them, I think she might enjoy them, I know how much she likes “slice of life” books, with quirky characters.

The last book I read was called At Folly Beach by Karen White. Another one of those books that has 2 story lines running at the same time. A present day, and a love story from war time 1940s. I did enjoy it and I think I will see if Ms. White has more books.

6. How was your birthday celebrated when you were a kid?

I had a sleepover, which we called a pajama party, and got to pick what we had for dinner and what flavor of cake. I chose different things for dinner, spaghetti, homemade mac and cheese, but I’m pretty sure I mostly had cherry chip cake. It is still mighty tasty!
7. What’s something that is totally uncool that you love anyway?

Well, I love cats, reading, crafts, puzzles, both table and crossword, all things Laura Ingalls Wilder, comfortable shoes and pants, and I go to bed at 10:30. It doesn’t get much more uncool than that!
8. Insert your own random thought here.

I thought I would post these Way Back pictures of winter, because I have completely forgotten what it feels like to NOT BE boiling lava hot. All the time.

That looks like a bracing wind blasting The Girls!

IMG (27)

Out at my folks place on the lake. Making snowmen with Grandpa! It looks like he’s getting ready to plop that snowball on The Boy’s head! 2002

IMG_0001 (12) 

Ah, good, COOL, times!

Thanks for having us all over, Joyce!

4 Comments

  1. Amiee said,

    July 6, 2011 at 3:01 PM

    I’m all about comfortable shoes and pants 🙂

  2. deb said,

    July 6, 2011 at 6:30 PM

    How soon we forget the horror of winter! I used to like being cold, but now I must say that’s changed. In winter, I can NEVER get warm enough. Love the feel and looks of summer!

  3. Joyce said,

    July 6, 2011 at 8:26 PM

    I haven’t read the series but I love the Mitford books so I’m going to look for them. I love your uncool answer-we have much in common there : )

  4. Marlene said,

    July 7, 2011 at 8:43 PM

    I have a couple of Miss Julia books in my LIBRARY and have never read them. I think I will give them a try. Also the Karen White book sounds really good too. Thanks for the suggestions. It is always interesting to me what other people read.


Leave a Reply

