The Grouting Class

I believe I mentioned last week that Capri Deb was giving me a grouting lesson. She is a most wonderful teacher in all things mosaic! Among other crafty things.

This was a mirror I purchased at a garage sale, and had mosaiced last fall. It wintered under a couch on Deb’s enclosed back porch. We taped the mirror and covered the sides with blue painters tape, and away we went. Deb tells me the taping is very important, because grout is a messy business, and you can’t always get it off after it dries.

I chose sand grout, because I am boring and always chose sand grout. Colored grout instills fear in my bones. Because I have no vision.

I asked Deb if she had a ratio formula to mix grout. She said, she did not, but you add a scoop of grout and a very little bit of water and stir. The goal is the texture of peanut butter. I understand this sort of food terminology. As a hairdresser, we routinely say to bring hi-lights up to the color of the inside of a banana peel. I understand the food references. I eat.

You then put on gloves and take a blob of grout and moozsh it around. I don’t know how to spell that word, I only know how to say it. It’s a good word. No other word will do. Maybe moojsh? Anyway, spread (moojz) it thoroughly in between the things to be grouted. I found a circular motion helpful to get in all the cracks.

038

Get all around the inside AND outside edges.

039

All good and grouty. Let it dry a bit.

040

We then moved onto the next grout-ee. I started this one on The Memorial Day Extravaganza at Mrs. Schmenkmans’ in May, and finished it a couple weeks ago. Schmenky did all of the coneflower petals for me when I went upstairs to do something. Like maybe shower? She is a professional. And I was having my usual mental logjam. I loved what she did.

041

More grout. More moojing.

045

Deb was doing her own grouting. She is also a professional, selling her wares for much sums of money.

043

She is very brave. She uses colored grout. It looks a little like your teeth when you eat black licorice.

044

But it cleans up nicely.

046

Marlo was our helper. She kept all rabbits away from our area. We never even saw one, that’s how good she did her job.

048

After the grout dried a little, Deb suggested I take the end of a toothbrush and go around the, the, the….thingies. It worked very well, made them more defined, not so grouty.

050

Then have your work checked by The Teacher.

051

The third piece was started last winter and finished recently. Deb grouted it for me. The whole toothbrush around the thingies was a little time consuming. There were a lot of thingies. Then you wipe most of the grout off the glass, maybe with paper towels? I forget. Then let it dry some more.

052

Finally, you take pieces of Deb’s husband BFG’s old t-shirt and polish the rest of the grout off the glass. I’m pretty sure you can use any old t-shirt, although BFG is a pretty nice guy, so his t-shirts might be special special!

053

Finally, you lay your projects on the grass and take pictures for your blob!

054

Then you give your Teacher a big hug and a kiss and thank her for the lesson!

Oh, and remember I saw these at the garden walk last week and asked what they were? My Teacher has them in her own personal back yard, and said she would share her Japanese fern!!! I heart them!

037

Thanks Capri Deb, most excellent Teacher!

7 Comments

  1. Robin said,

    July 8, 2011 at 7:01 AM

    Beautiful! I think you could sell your wares for great sums of money! You’re doing a great job at this mosaic stuff! (Don’t forget to sign the back and date it just like in elementary school!!!)

  2. July 8, 2011 at 7:49 AM

    I am so impressed!! I think you picked the perfect projects and obviously you have great teachers!! So-o-o lovely!! 🙂

  3. Cindy Stratton said,

    July 8, 2011 at 10:52 AM

    They are all so beautiful but my favorite is the round one – BOOOO-TIFUL!

  4. Nan C said,

    July 8, 2011 at 11:13 AM

    Yes, Kel, are you ever going to sell YOUR wares? I’d buy them. 🙂

  5. Marlene said,

    July 8, 2011 at 7:01 PM

    Moosjh? LOVE the word. I am very impressed by your work. You have to make more!!!

  6. Marlene said,

    July 8, 2011 at 7:02 PM

    P.S. Love the fern!!

  7. deb said,

    July 9, 2011 at 5:57 AM

    Yes, Kel…your work is beautiful! You a valued Mosacian Tribal Member. And you have also written a very nice tutorial on how to grout…


Leave a Reply

