In Memoriam

I believe I mentioned that Mrs. Schmenkman and Mr. C had traveled to The Mitten from their home in Virginia earlier this week. They came to pay tribute, and lay to rest Mr. C’s father, who had passed away at the fine age of 91.

Whenever I attend a funeral, I am often struck by the pictures the remaining loved ones gather in memory. The sweet tributes and remembrances are always moving. The stories told add dimension, and help those coming to pay their respects to see a fuller, clearer picture of the one who has passed on.

I had only met Mr. C’s father once, but I have heard about him for many years now. Heard how he was a good man, helpful and honorable, a man who never met a stranger. A man who served his country with honor and distinction. A man who loved his family.

For all of the many details I cannot tell you about Mr. Hodge, there is one thing I can tell you. He raised a fine son. And from what I know about Mr. C, it sounds like he takes after his father a lot.

 IMG (28)

2 Comments

  1. Marlene said,

    July 9, 2011 at 3:23 PM

    Nice tribute and to the living…his son. I love the picture!

  2. July 9, 2011 at 8:43 PM

    […] wrote about him today, too.  Thoughtful and true […]


Leave a Reply

