South Haven in 2011 Part 1

Hi Guys!

I did not intend to take a week off from blobbing, but that is apparently how it went down.

We came home from the other side of The Mitten late Wednesday afternoon. The Grandpa came over that evening with his 2 daughters and granddaughter, who were visiting from Florida. They had spent the day at Greenfield Village. I saw these gals when we were in Lakeland with my Mom, but have not seen them in The Mitten for about 20 years!

Dad was thrilled they were able to visit!

 069

On the left is Bonnie, my old roommate, then Margie, who I like to remind is a MONTH older than me, and always will be, and her daughter Shannon, who is a sweet young thing. Come again Girls, please come again!

072

Alrighty then, come on over with me over to South Haven. The Peanuts Champ and I drove west and met up with The Oreo Mom, who was already there, and Ally, who lives very close by. The first evening we caught the sunset. Considering the storm we had that day, it was surprising we had one!!

The Peanuts Champ, The Oreo Mom and Ally.

003_thumb[4]

We had a bit of time to pass before the event, so I thought I might show you my new sunglasses. Black with a little sparkly bling. My walking buddy, Keelyody, firmly believes sunglasses need a little bling. I concur.

013_thumb[2]

My others were brown. After I brought these home, I asked Honey if he liked them. He said he did, then shared with me that he NEVER liked my last brown pair! I had no idea!

014_thumb[2]

Here is the main event, in all it’s orangy glory.

018

020

Looks like a sun sandwich. Or an alligator eye.

021

Another night we felt we needed a treat. We stopped in to watch a Fudge Guy cut the fudge he had just made. He gave us many broken schnibbles. It was turtle pecan, and it was SCRUMTRULESCENT.

044

They had many other schnibbles to share.

047

And more fudge. I think I could have an unhealthy addiction to these half circles.

049

Ally and I split one. Chocolate peanut butter. DA-licious. And then I bought some, which may not have been wise. At all.

050

Every single one of us commented that the flowers in town were not as special as they have been in years past. I only took pictures of this one area. Of course, I am partial to coleus, and grasses with tails.

051

Love the tails.

052

We talked, and cooked, and ate, watched a movie about in-laws, and ate and talked some more. The next day, we went to the beach. The Oreo Mom graciously sent me some pictures she took that day, but I figured if I didn’t want to put pictures of myself on the blob in my bathing suit, then I should not put pictures of them on either. It’s only fair

Tomorrow, I will show you some hydrangeas, the house we stayed at, and some more hydrangeas. They were purty.

3 Comments

  1. becki said,

    July 18, 2011 at 9:27 AM

    Great to see pics of Bonnie and Margie! I remember when they all came to live with you and how nice they all were.

  2. caprilis said,

    July 19, 2011 at 4:36 AM

    Fudge… tsk tsk tsk

  3. Marlene said,

    July 19, 2011 at 11:04 AM

    Ahhhh…..perfecto! Right down to God’s beautiful sunset.


Leave a Reply

