Rooting

I believe I may have mentioned that this pink tinged sweet potato vine has been my favorite plant of the summer. Just bloomed it’s little heart out.

This pot has a sister pot that has the same plants, except when I was buying them, I forgot to buy two pink tinged sweet potato vines. You can imagine that it produced lopsided looking sister pots, especially since the pink tinged sweet potato vine has wrapped itself around the entire back of the pot. I took some cuttings, to see if I could root it, and therefore even out the inequality.

002

I have had great success with the rooting! I have rooted many stems with many fine looking roots!

I cut a rather long looking stem, cut off the leaves that would be submerged, and stick it in the glass of water. The candle holder has the super important job of cradling the un-submerged stems. This batch has already been rooted and planted, and a new batch has been installed. I seem to have many pots that can use such a foofy addition.

After I did it the first time, Mousey asked me what it was. She said it reminded her of her Grandma. This is very true. My Mom was always rooting something on her windowsill. Saving an accidently broken off piece of something, trying to extend the life of another. One of her plants, her beautiful, famous Martha Stewart geranium, had been rooted extensively and given to many of her friends.

As Mousey and I talked about this, I remembered that my Mom always used this particular mug when she was at our house. She liked the handle.

063 

I then realized that her picture was right underneath her favorite mug and the rooting shoots I learned how to do from watching from her.

065

Just another reminder that she lives on in me.

 067

I am her root.

2 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    August 2, 2011 at 7:06 AM

    And a fine strong root you are too, and sending out fine strong roots of your own as well!

  2. Shannon said,

    August 6, 2011 at 6:15 AM

    Oh my goodness K. Beautiful revelation & beautifully written post.


Leave a Reply

