Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Thanks, as always, to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for hosting this weekly get together!

1. Using what’s in your frig right now what sort of meal would you be able to make for guests who are knocking at the front door this very minute?

Hmmmm. How about a ham and cheese omelet and toast? With strawberries. And whipped cream!

2. What is something about yourself that you hope will change but that probably never will?

There are many things I wish I could change about myself. And some things, over time, have gotten better, or at least shifted favorably. Unfortunately, I have come to realize some things are probably not going to change. I am going to be 49 next month. I have a fairly good understanding of who I am, and baring DIVINE intervention, these things will probably never describe me.

A. I am never going to be a sought after cook. I have already informed Honey that when he retires, I pass the wooden spoon. He cooks more than 50% of the time anyway, and he helps the other 30%. I wish I could cook. I wish I cared. But I don’t. I scrape the underbelly of adequate.

B. I wish I was a well organized person. I am organized in my way, but no one will ever accuse me of being too type A.

C. I don’t think anyone would ever accuse me of being sweet. I missed the sweet gene. I can’t even pretend to be sweet, it would come out all wrong.

3. What’s something about yourself that you hope will never change? 
I think the quality that has served me best in my life has been my flexibility. If I had been a goal oriented, on task, can’t handle disruptions type, I would have had a miserable life. I am not going to say that I love change, but I am capable of flying by the seat of my pants. It has come in quite handy. Oh, and I’m not moody.

4. Do you usually send serious or funny greeting cards? Why?

To be honest, I am not much of a card sender or buyer. I like a good funny card, but I have found some serious ones that were great too, so totally depends on the situation. I always like the personal note inside way better anyway.
5. Bird watching, shell gathering, or star gazing- your choice for whiling away the hours?

Shell gathering. It is our favorite family sport.

6. Do you double or triple check things? If so, what?

 Door locks, blog posts, checks I write, my calendar, anytime I do something new. It’s an ADD thing.
7. What’s your favorite place for people watching?

I think shopping is always…..interesting. I watch the people, their interactions with those they are with, what they choose to buy, and I have always been nosey about what people have in the grocery store check out line. A very interesting glimpse into lives. Second to that, theme parks.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

I didn’t join up with The Hodgepodge last week, but I did read the questions. One of them stuck with me and I pondered it several times throughout the week. I answered it here.

Here is our Girl Abby in 1996, 9 months after the accident. Up at my Aunt and Uncle’s cottage. The kids loved it there.

She’s a poser.

IMG_0002 (13)

Darling Girl.

IMG_0001 (16)

Such a sweet, sweet, Baby Girl.

IMG (32)

Life is still good. Just different.

7 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    August 17, 2011 at 8:24 AM

    I finally had a chance to read that post. Forgiveness in circumstances such as yours is a powerful thing and I am glad you are able to give forgiveness even when it might not feel deserved. I guess that’s the hard thing about forgiveness, feelling like someone hasn’t demonstrated that they deserve it. I’m glad you have your lovely daughter and have been freed from the bitterness and anger that could so easily have taken root. Only God could make that happen.

  2. Thena said,

    August 17, 2011 at 8:38 AM

    Wow, what a story. Unforgiveness keeps us chained to that person but good for you that you could forgive and move on.

  3. Marlene said,

    August 17, 2011 at 10:59 AM

    Love the pictures of the “Poser.” What a cutie and how thankful we are for her abiding presence on earth and the pleasure we have of knowing her and you. Interesting questions this week.
    Since it takes all kinds to run the world, I am not real flexable but certainly wish I were because I can see how it would make life easier.
    I am not sweet either-caring might be more of the quality. I love your sense of humor b ecause it appleals to my sense of humor.
    And of course, I love collecting shells!

  4. Susan said,

    August 17, 2011 at 12:15 PM

    What a beautiful story of forgiveness. And faith. And a beautiful, beautiful girl. Thank you for sharing.

  5. August 17, 2011 at 3:15 PM

    I never send cards. It irritates my parents some but on their birthdays and other holidays, I prefer to call them. It’s cheaper on my end and also much more meaningful (I hope). I have no interest in sending a card with a sentiment that some total stranger wrote…

  6. Amiee said,

    August 17, 2011 at 9:33 PM

    Just read your story about your daughter’s accident. Wow. That’s all I can think of to say. Wow…

  7. Laurie said,

    August 18, 2011 at 3:56 PM

    I just read your story of forgiveness and using the “S” word — powerful thoughts. You are an amazing woman and your mothers words about hate and non-forgiveness were so very true. I’ve never understood why some people have such a dificult time saying they are sorry — to me, that makes them a better person not just someone who did something that required forgiveness.


Leave a Reply

