Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Honey was able to fix the computer! Better late to the party than never, right?

Thanks for hosting the gaggle of us Joyce.

1. Do you think the world became a more dangerous place on September 11, 2001 or did we just become more aware of the danger? How has your own life changed as a result of that day?

I really think we became more aware of it. The world has always had evil people doing hateful things, but this was a direct attack on and in our country. I don’t think there had ever been anything like it in my lifetime. I imagine it was how people felt after Pearl Harbor. I still cannot get my mind around how people could do something like that in the name of their god. Their god commands them to kill us, but our God commands us to love them. Our God wins.

The only physical change I have experienced is when I fly. I guess my inconvenience is a fair tradeoff for safer travel.

2. Did you think your parents were too strict when you were growing up? How about in hindsight?

No, they weren’t very strict. And Honey’s parents weren’t strict at all. When I think of all the gallivanting around the Detroit Metro area that Suzanne Suzanna Danna, Dawn (who SERIOUSLY still needs a blob name) and I did, it was by the grace of GOD that we never had any problems! We went to concerts and shopping all over the place, went to Canada to dance in bars, hung out with people we hardly knew. In our slight defense, it was a much different world back then. 

We have been much stricter with our kids. Especially Honey. Makes me wonder what he was up to back then. He is very closemouthed about the majority of his youth!

3. Share one random but candid fact about yourself.

If you smell bad or wear too much perfume, I cannot be your friend. Seriously, my head would explode. Maybe we could be phone friends.

4. Would your nearest and dearest describe you as simple or far too complicated?

I asked this question at dinner last night. Mousey said I was simple and I agreed. Honey said I was complicated because we had a complication during the placement of the hedge this week! I believe I was a complicated thorn in his side.

5. What is your favorite stadium or carnival food?

I do not go to stadiums or carnivals, so I respectfully decline to answer this one.

6. Tornado, hurricane, earthquake…how many of these natural disasters have you experienced? Which event do you think would be the scariest?

I have not knowingly experienced any of them. Come up to The Mitten, relatively free of natural disasters! We do have the occasional tornado, but I could not even tell you the last time we heard the tornado siren and had to go to the basement. It could be our new state slogan; Come To Michigan, Low Incident Living!

Of all of them, the easiest to avoid seems to be the hurricane. If they tell you to evacuate, PEOPLE, get out of Dodge!!!!!!!

A tornado gives you a little bit of a heads up with the sirens, so I guess I would say the scariest would be an earthquake. No warning, can’t run away efficiently, and unless you happen to be in a huge field, things can fall on you.

7. Labor Day weekend is approaching so a work related question seems appropriate. Growing up, did your parents assign you regular chores? Were you paid for doing those chores? If you’re a parent do you assign chores to your own children? Why or why not?

I don’t remember doing things regularly when I was a child. I know I was responsible for my room, and picking up my toys, where ever I had been playing.  And I did things as asked. I do remember asking my Mom if I could straighten up the linen closet and her drawers, and we had a big cupboard in the kitchen I liked to organize. I guess I liked to do things like that. I‘m sure I don’t know how helpful it was though!

When I was older I did things like dishes, vacuumed and dusted, cleaned the bathrooms. I don’t remember if I was paid a certain amount of allowance, but I know she gave me money when I needed it.

This is an area that I wished I had done better with our kids. I have friends who have done really well at this.

I should have been more organized about assigning things. They will usually help out when asked, but rarely do things on their own. The Boy and Mousey do their own laundry, but I suspect that was more because they were so lazy about getting it to me when I was doing it. They are not good about keeping their rooms straight, or their bathrooms cleaned. The girls do the dishes if I ask them.

I have no good excuse for why they don’t. I don’t do it for them though. All I can say is they are going to have a rude awakening when they move out, unless they don’t mind living in squalor. Mousey is a pretty good worker, she might survive.

 8. Insert your own random thought here.

A Way Back picture from 2004. We were at Islands of Adventure. Mousey/Spider Girl 10, Ab-Cat 15, and The Boy was 13. I miss our young Furlings!

IMG (34)

Thanks for stopping by!

4 Comments

  1. August 31, 2011 at 3:31 PM

    I am with you on the perfume thing. I have known people who would wear so much perfume the scent lingered in the room hours (yes i do mean hours) after they had gone. Kept me sneezing all day long too.

  2. Marlene said,

    August 31, 2011 at 7:27 PM

    Love your answer to #3! Love the tie-dye shirts from 2004.

  3. Joyce said,

    August 31, 2011 at 8:07 PM

    I can’t handle too much perfume either. And as much as I love candles I don’t think I could work in a candle shop.

  4. Nan C said,

    September 1, 2011 at 8:18 AM

    Nice colorful shirts on the kids!

    You might not like hanging with Alex, as he has his own scent bar. But I think he only sprays when he’s around certain girls. 🙂
    I, myself, hate the smell of Brute, after some stud smelled up a large lecture hall consistently for an hour or more during a class at MSU.


Leave a Reply

