Fruits of the Labor Day Weekend

Mercy, we are tired and sore!

On Saturday, I staged a full bore revolt against working outside. It was exactly 100 degrees. I returned some stuff to Kohl’s and called that a complete workday. Honey kept making noises like, let’s just go out and do this, or attempt a morsel of that. I said I.AM.NOT.WORKING.OUT.THERE.TODAY. I can’t even remember what we did, but it was not outside. I am sure of that.

On Sunday, we had a very fun day with our dear friends, The Hostlers. We Olive Gardened, then sat around laughing, as we always do when we get together. I was SO excited to see Rachel! I had been hearing rumors about her. Little snippets of this and that. They were all true! She has embraced a  lifestyle change, got all friendly with Wii Fit and bike riding and has whipped her temple into FABULOUS shape! I spent the entire rest of the day firing questions at her, rapid machine gun style, and just looking at her new self. You GO, Rae Babe!!!!!

Halle Berry took full advantage of the work weekend. She labored long and hard to make her sacrifice to the water bowl. It is her idol.

002 

She is a strange one. Speaking of a lifestyle change, I should enroll her in a kitty areobics class. She has too much free time.

003

Honey and I were on our own yesterday, laboring like crazy. But on a wonderful note, it was in the 60s!!!!!!! I LOVED it!

On the advice of both Capri’s Deb and Patt, we spaced out our hedges more. Then we moved some big old  grindstone rocks, planted some more grasses, pulled out a tree and replanted it at the end of the driveway, trimmed some arborvitae, hauled many garbage pails of branches and whatnot out to the field, and finally we went to smooth out the hill in the backyard where the Bradford pear used to be. It was going swimmingly until we accidently axed the sprinkler line. Two steps forward, one step back. The story of our lives. Our motto.

This morning, Mousey started her very last year of high school. Sniff, sniff.

When did our Baby go from this sweet little Muggins of a kindergartner, with a Winnie the Pooh backpack,

IMG (36)

to this darling young lady? A SENIOR!

005

When I mentioned my idea of recreating her kindergarten picture on Pride Rock, she scoffed. I asked her to humor me. Because she is sweet, she did so.

008

New backpack. No Winnie the Pooh.  😦

009

We were standing around outside in the dark this morning so she wouldn’t miss her bus, that conveniently picks her up at the end of our driveway. This was necessary because we couldn’t remember exactly what time our little reminder postcard said the bus would be there. I mentioned to Mousey that I thought she had a new driver, because I saw the bus making a dry run last week. I also noticed the bus stopped at the wrong house, so I wanted to make sure she was at the end of the drive, so the driver would see her at the correct residence.

When I saw the bus turn the corner into our subdivision, I said here she is, come on. She strolled on down the driveway and waited. And waited. While the bus kept stopping and starting. We both commented that it must be a first time bus driver. Until we realized it was the GARBAGE TRUCK! We had a nice laugh over that, outside in the dark, all by ourselves.

Then the bus came, and she got on for the last first day of high school. Be still my Mama’s heart.

Did you do anything fun over summers last hurrah?

6 Comments

  1. Nan C said,

    September 6, 2011 at 9:17 AM

    Yes, Rae Babe does look mah-velous, doesn’t she?

    We froze our toes off at Round Lake yesterday, refusing to take a boat ride.

    Happy senior year, Mousey. Make the most of it (and tell that son of mine on fb to do the same).

  2. September 6, 2011 at 12:43 PM

    We labored indeed. I moved 6 hives of bees to our remote property, made a rain catcher to fill our cistern and tiled our shower. No more work for a year!

  3. Marlene said,

    September 6, 2011 at 7:29 PM

    I LOVE that you recreated the picture. What a creative idea!! She looked adorable then and even cuter now. I know you and her will savor everything this last year!
    I dusted my house and did some creative work-made a wreath, did some scrapbooking, and made a fun little project with my Florida seashells which have been waiting to be used since March.
    Have a good day tomorrow at Leader’s Meeting.

  4. September 7, 2011 at 8:47 AM

    Thanks for the wonderful shout out! We had an awesome time laughing and talking with your clan as well!

    Biked 28-ish miles — the wind from the North had us plodding along! 🙂 We took a new route for us and will totally bike that again!

    Cleaned my closet out and gave EVERYTHING to Goodwill! I was a little freaked looking at ALL the empty hangers! What am I going to wear?!? =\

  5. Wendy said,

    September 8, 2011 at 7:04 AM

    I just love those pictures of Mousey! Amazing how time flies,eh?
    Did Halle REALLY put that bear in the water bowl? Toooo funny!!

    • caprik said,

      September 8, 2011 at 8:57 AM

      Yes, Halle certainly did put the bear in the bowl. She sacrifices to her bowl almost daily. Usually socks, mittens and ponytail things, but the occasional oddity shows up.


Leave a Reply

