Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Thanks to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for getting us all together again for our Hodgepodge of answers!

1. What is one piece of advice you would give a ‘just turning’ 21- year old adult?

Don’t EVEN think your best years are behind you! It gets better and better!

2. Besides cooler weather (or warmer weather, depending on your hemisphere) what is one thing you are looking forward to this fall?

How about soup?! Just happy to stop all the sweating and wear some clothing. I always enjoy the fall colors. Sigh, I love fall.

3. What sound lulls you to sleep?

The two fans needed to cool my hot self.

4. September is National Preparedness Month…does your family have an emergency ‘kit’ and/or disaster plan in place?

Not really. We have talked about it in the past, but not in years. Because Honey has always worked at night, I used to have a very detailed plan in my mind of who to wake first, who gets which others, what door we would go out, where we would meet up. Our home is a ranch, so really, everyone could break a window and get out. The thing that REALLY creeped me out was if someone was trying to get IN! Who would I grab first? That was when the kids were little though.

As I mentioned last week, we are a relatively disaster free zone up here. Fire and burglary were the ones that came to mind.

5. How has your blog changed since you started blogging? Or has it?

I don’t think it has changed. I just talk about what is going on around here, or memories from our past. It is a slice of our life blog. I will have to ask my faithful Readers what they think about this question. What do you think Guys?

6. What’s something you’ve recently learned to do on the computer?

I  recently RE-learned how to put a watermark on my photos. But then I forget to do it, and in no time, I will need to RE-learn it again!

7. Is a picture worth a thousand words? Elaborate.

I would say it can take me a thousand words to elaborate on a picture!!!! HA!

But sometimes, the picture says it all.

8. Insert your own random here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday portion of the post. Yesterday, I showed a picture of Mousey’s first day of kindergarten. Here is all three of them. 1999.

IMG (37)

This year was special on many levels. It was the only year that all three of our children were ever together in the same school. It was Mousey’s kindergarten year, The Boy’s second grade year with one of his favorite teachers, Mrs. Hondorp, and The Ab-Cat’s last year of elementary school. I think it was my favorite school year, EVER!

Mousey couldn’t wait to get over there after being hauled to school for everything her brother and sister did. Look at The Boy in his hot man-dles, with socks, no less! You can just see his one big, long, tooth. We don’t know why it took his other tooth SO long to grow in. We called him Cletus the Redneck for a long time! And Darling Abby, on the cusp of tween-dom. There they are, our own little Timberwolves.

Thanks for stopping by!

8 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    September 7, 2011 at 6:06 AM

    Sweet first day of schol picture. I have been known to use 1000 words to describe a photo : )

    I guess I should watermark my photos. I will have to learn how to do that. I’m sure my daughter knows. Thank heaven for computer savvy kids!

  2. deb said,

    September 7, 2011 at 7:29 AM

    You are faithful to your slice of life blog since the very beginning! Love it, rely on it for my daily smile!

  3. expat said,

    September 7, 2011 at 8:16 AM

    SOUP! A wonderful idea!

  4. September 7, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    Cool as always…except you need a fan…

  5. September 7, 2011 at 12:44 PM

    Great picture. I like to fall asleep to a fan or air conditioner too. It’s kinda soothing.
    ~FringeGirl

  6. Tammy Doane said,

    September 7, 2011 at 6:58 PM

    Great picture—soup–sounds good to me.

  7. auburnchick said,

    September 7, 2011 at 9:24 PM

    I must be strange, but I love to eat soup any time of the year!! My favorite is the Black Bean Soup I make. The recipe is in The Daniel Fast book.

  8. September 8, 2011 at 1:36 PM

    I was just thinking about putting beef stew in the crock pot. Yum. I would love to learn how to put a watermark on my photos. Would you share how you do it, if you can remember?


Leave a Reply

