Sayings of my Mother

Today is my Mother’s birthday. She would have been 75.

She has been on my mind lately. She is always on my mind, but perhaps a little more knowing her special date was coming up. 9-10-36 forever etched in my memory, almost as familiar as my own, or Honey’s, or our children.

I hear her voice in my mind, things she said, funny expressions she used, encouragement she gave. Just talking. Sharing. Living life together. I hope the voice never goes away.

I have many pictures to add to this post, but our ridiculous, annoying, broken computer is hindering me greatly. Perhaps when a child wakes up I will have tech service.

Today I give you some of the sayings that remind me of her. Not a complete list, by any means, but 10 things I find flying out of my own mouth!

IMG

I think I got my love of the kitty witties from her.

1. Consider the source.

IMG_0001

Her good friend Nancy.

IMG_0002

2. Someone in this kitchen needs to lose weight, and it’s not going to be me! (stolen from her Mother!)

With my Grandma Hoover.

IMG_0003

3.If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.

Me and Beeve.

IMG_0004

Dad, Mom, Beeve and Grandma Georgia.

IMG_0005

4. It’s enough to drive you to drink.

The generation shot!

IMG_0006

5. Give me loves.

Her first born Baby Grand Girl, Ab-Cat.

IMG_0007

First Grand Boy.

IMG_0008

6. It’s enough to make you lose your religion.

Loved Baby Mousey.

IMG_0009

Everyone naps with Mousey!

IMG_0010

7. They have a face only a mother could love.

Grand Boy Goomba.

IMG_0012

8. That’s tacky.

IMG_0013

9. Some people would complain if you hung them with a new rope. (my personal favorite!)

IMG_0011

10. I see nothing! (in the best Hogans Heroes fashion!)

IMG_0014

Wish she was here. And that would not be a wasted wish.

2 Comments

  1. Marlene said,

    September 10, 2011 at 2:07 PM

    Forever in our hearts and minds.

  2. Wendy said,

    September 15, 2011 at 6:54 AM

    I LOVE to see the pictures of Ruth, and love her sayings! Now the new rope one I’ve never heard before…that’s a good one! thanks for the memories, your Mom was GREAT!


Leave a Reply

