Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Thanks as always to our host, Joyce From This Side of the Pond for giving us questions to answer each week!

1. What do you do at the first sign of a cold? Will you get a flu shot this year?

I don’t do anything. I used to take cold medicine until I started having children, and the OB wouldn’t allow it. I realized that it didn’t really make me feel much better, and if anything, made the cold symptoms last longer. Now, I might take my multi vitamin that contains vitamin C, and I always keep Hall’s cough drops to help head the ugly cough off at the pass. Mousey swears by Nyquil Cough.

I have never had a flu shot. Honey has had them before when they were offered at work. I used to get letters from our health insurance reminding me to get one for The Boy, as he is immune compromised because he doesn’t have a spleen. I never took him, and I have to say, he is the least sickly among us.  We are not a very germy bunch, I guess we come from good stock!

2. What advice can you give about how to conquer fear?

The only good advice I have is to give it to the Lord. That may seem trite to some looking for something more hands on to do, but I have found it comforting. I say this as a person who has experienced the fear of the known and fear of the unknown.

Isaiah 41:13

New International Version (NIV)

13 For I am the LORD your God
   who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
   I will help you.

In this hard world, it is the very best thing I can hope for.

3. Share two good things about your life right now.

1. BSF starts tomorrow, WOO HOO! Looking forward to studying Acts for a second time, and praying God will show me LOTS of new things that I need to learn. Wait, I need to clarify that. I KNOW there are lots of things I need to learn, praying He helps me recognize that He is talking to ME!

2. There is an end in sight to the Sewer Debacle of 2010, that has extended into 2011. WOO HOO to the HOOTY HOO!

4. A hot fall fashion trend in 2011 is a return to sixties style…tunics with pants, shift dresses, pencil skirts, cinched waists, bold prints, high necklines and short lengths to name a few. How does this fashion trend fit with your wardrobe and personal sense of style?

Oh, Man, I don’t know. I have no personal style anymore. At least regarding what is being rolled out as fashion. I am going to say I will probably not be participating just by reading this list. I am not a fan of belts, cinched waists, bold prints, high necklines, or all of the chunky jewelry. It looks lovely on others but makes me feel like a big, poufy, gaudy clown. I am a tall girl, I don’t need that kind of attention.

My personal goals are comfort, a little give to the fabric, simple styles, and something that camouflages what needs camouflaging.

5. Were you involved in scouting as a kid? How about as an adult?

I was a girl scout for a year or two, but to be perfectly honest, I had no interest in scouting, I was only there to go horseback riding with them.

The boy was a Cub Scout for several years and seemed to sort of enjoy it, but he never moved up to the next level. Mousey was a Brownie for exactly one year. She said those monthly meetings were “just too much”. Have I mentioned that our kids were never joiners? Those apples did not fall far from my tree.

6. Apple, pear, plum, pumpkin…your favorite fall flavor?

How about if I narrow it down to 2 out of 4? Apple and pumpkin are very fall-ish and very yummy! As a matter of fact, an apple pie or pumpkin muffins might have to be in our future. We do have CareGroup starting up next week, hmmm….

7. What characteristics do you think are essential in a good teacher?

Personally? There has to be a little humor. I like a good analogy. Some teachers are as dry as a bugs hull, there has to be something interesting in the presentation, not just a list of facts or plodding along in a monotone voice.

Even if the subject is important, a bad teacher can make you not care. In contrast, my high school teacher, Miss Mathews, made biology somewhat palatable. And that is saying something for me, because biology is just several rungs above math in my book. NO teacher could make me care about the math.

The best teacher I have ever had was our former BSF teaching leader, Sheila. She had it all going on. A deep love of her subject matter, a heart eager to share knowledge, a strong desire for others to hear the truth, well prepared, organized thoughts to present the material in a clear and concise way, a good sense of humor, perfect analogies, excitement, helpful things to remember and last but not least, she explained how to apply it to your life. I was very grateful for her  7 years of teaching.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

For Way Back When-sday, we are going back to 1999, when The Boy was a Cub Scout. They had an annual Pine Wood Derby that was much fun. They gave you the wheels and a block of wood and you then created your race car.

Well, Honey took that block of wood to work, did all sorts of stuff to it, and had everything just so. Not quite the idea the Scoutmasters had in mind, I suppose!

It worked, The Boy placed!

IMG_0002 (2)

Surrounded by his Cub buddies, Nick and Jerry. Jerry was the first place winner.

IMG (2)

At home with his winning racer. I don’t even remember why he has 2 trophies. A prime reason why I should have done a better job with the scrapbooking and journaling!

IMG_0001 (2)

I called The Boy to find out about the 2 trophy business. He said he came in 2nd place in his age division, and 3rd place overall in the pack.

I miss that little 8 year old Boy in the Jurassic Park t-shirt!

Thanks for stopping by!

3 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    September 14, 2011 at 7:57 AM

    I think I started reading your blog around the time you started writing about ‘The Great Sewer Debacle”…glad it is going to finally be resolved!

    Have a great day!

  2. September 15, 2011 at 3:52 PM

    I don’t really drink alcohol but I find that a shot (or three) of whiskey helps with #1 and #2!

  3. Marlene said,

    September 16, 2011 at 6:09 PM

    The boy is very proud and very cute. Dad did good. In the fall, I absolutely CRAVE pumpkin-everything pumpkin. And I love apples especially caramel apples WITH nuts.


Leave a Reply

