Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi All, welcome back to the Wednesday Hodgepodge! Many thanks to Joyce From This Side of the Pond for being our hostess.

1. What’s your favorite meal to serve on a chilly autumn evening?

Honey and I are very fond of soup. The Ab-Cat will usually join us, but ix-nay on the oup-say for The Boy and Mousey. Our favorites are Italian Escarole, Mediterranean Minestrone with chicken and feta, Chicken Barley, Straccatella, and our newest endeavor, Baked Potato, Bennigan’s style. Made at Mousey’ request, and she liked it, she loved it!

2. Are you a creature of habit? Explain.

In some areas, I am totally a creature of habit. It is the very best way to manage my ADD. As a matter of fact, sometimes if I do things out of order, it screws me up! I try to write everything I need to do on the calendar so I don’t forget. The hardest part of that is remembering to LOOK at the calendar! I write myself notes and leave them on the island too. If I have a lot on my mind, I worry I will forget something.

I shower in the same order, clean the house in the same order, shop the grocery store in the same order,

My morning routine is probably my biggest and most favorite habit. I get out of bed, go to the den, turn on the computer, put the tea kettle on, feed the cats, make my beloved DaVinci Sugar Free Chai, check email, and settle in to read some blogs!

All that to say that I am also very adept at flying by the seat of my pants without a habit safety net!

3. What food product (no longer readily available) do you remember and miss from days gone by?

What I really miss is being able to purchase the above mentioned DaVinci Sugar Free Chai at TJ Maxx, Marshall’s and Homegoods! I used to be able to find enough to fuel my addiction. I can sometimes find it in Florida, and Capri Patt seems to have a knack for finding it there as well. Here is an open letter to the company.

Dear DaVinci Company, Why do you make it SO difficult to actually BUY your product? Why can’t you sell it in a store? It’s a pain in the rear to special order it and have it shipped to my house at a hefty cost. Sometimes you don’t even want to ship it because it is too cold up here in The Mitten and you don’t want to be responsible for exploding glass bottles of frozen chai. DaVinci, why you do me like that? Thank you for your time, Capri Kel.

4. What’s something you’ve lost that you’ve never been able to find? Any theories as to what happened?

The first thing that popped into my mind was my class ring. Mainly, because I rarely lose things. I’m sure that is why it stands out so prominently in my museum of recollection. I was still living at home and took it off, away from the sink, to do the dishes. I didn’t want it to fall down the drain. The End. It never did turn up and the only thing I can think of was it somehow fell into the garbage can. It bugged me for a long time, but I am over it now, thanks.

5. Zoo~circus~ carnival…your favorite?

The ZOO. We haven’t been in a long time, and if I’m being honest, I remember thinking that I was all done with the zoo-ing. Family trips, church and caregroup trips, field trips. BUT, the thought of going to the zoo with Honey and our future grandchildren sounds very appealing!

6. What song makes you feel instantly happy?

And all God’s Children singing GLORY, GLORY, HALLELUJAH, He REIGNS!

7. To what extent are you an argumentative person?

I don’t think I am, but Honey would probably say I was. I just have to fight harder with him to get my point across!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

This Way Back When-sday takes us back to 1992.

This was the first of many family trips to The Toledo Zoo. We went with the church we were attending. I like this zoo because the animals are easy to spot. Unlike The Detroit Zoo, where the habitats used to be so natural it was sometimes hard to find the animal.

Darling Ab-Cat, three years old and digging the ZOO!

IMG (4)

With Grandpa! Sorry about the pole in the face Grandpa, it was The Abby Show.

IMG_0001 (4)

Are they riding a goat? A buffalo? A bison?

IMG_0003 (2)

Oh there’s The Boy, mooching off our friend Deb Gay. He liked that waffle cone! He was exactly one year old.

IMG (5)

I sincerely apologize for the mom shorts. They are truly heinous. But I love that Baby Girl!

IMG_0005 (2)

Look, it’s Honey Bear AND Buddy Bear! A paci in his mouth, a very natural look for him.

IMG_0004 (2)

Way Back When we were a family of 4!

IMG_0006 (2)

Thanks for stopping by!

9 Comments

  1. auburnchick said,

    October 5, 2011 at 6:50 AM

    Oh…the class ring…ugh! My daughter lost her guy’s class ring when she was interning at a local elementary school. Nope. It never turned up. She felt about yay high, if you know what I mean.

  2. Desi said,

    October 5, 2011 at 10:09 AM

    I am the same way about calenders and lists. I am great at putting stuff on them, not so great about remembering to look at them to see what I put there.

    Ring, that’s it. I was having a hard time thinking about what to answer. I lost a ring that my grandmother gave me, a garnet. It literally fell off my hand one day while I was wearing it and I never saw it again.

  3. expat said,

    October 5, 2011 at 3:22 PM

    Toledo Zoo!!!! I am from Toledo and boy do I love my zoo. Living in Munich now and seriously, zoos in Europe cannot compare. Just my opinion.

  4. Bobbi said,

    October 5, 2011 at 4:21 PM

    Love the pictures…and the hilarious bit about your husband trying to get his point across. Funny!

  5. Ang said,

    October 5, 2011 at 6:27 PM

    I love that song as well! Loved looking at your pictures. 🙂

  6. October 6, 2011 at 10:10 PM

    Wow lady,
    Yall eat fancy soup up there in the mitten. That must be why you and honey have not aged at all in these pics I keep seeing. Love, love, love that song.

  7. honey said,

    October 7, 2011 at 2:50 PM

    nice , also thanks !!!!!!! nothing like a nice mullet with a pink wife beater and a fanny pack to boot !!!!

    • Tammy said,

      October 8, 2011 at 12:42 PM

      Hahaha…I was thinking the same thing, but was too nice to mention it.

  8. Heifer Lynn said,

    October 9, 2011 at 2:42 PM

    After the lunch conversation about the clothes I had to come take a look. Truly laughing out loud. You two were quite the fashionistas. Thanks for the laugh.


Leave a Reply

